Bombers 1. accused of asking Mick Gatto to help fix doping mess and 2. covering up Medicare fraud

Mick Gatto confirms he spoke to Essendon during height of doping scandal
Michael Warner, Herald Sun
3 minutes ago
Subscriber only
UNDERWORLD enforcer Mick Gatto has sensationally confirmed he was approached by a senior Essendon figure at the height of the drugs saga to “find out what was going on with it all”.

The Herald Sun has obtained a video of Gatto being interviewed by The Footy Show star Sam Newman at a Lygon St restaurant this afternoon.

“With this one, I did get embroiled in it and I was approached,” Gatto said at Villa Romana.

Pressed by Channel 9’s Sam Newman if he was approached by an official of the Essendon Football Club to help fix the doping mess, Gatto said: “I was. I was. But it wouldn’t be very professional of me to divulge who.

“They just wanted me to find out what was going on with it all and what I could find out and have a feel around.”

4fee8d4e4ba6dbf1ad33896c086576f3

Mick Gatto interviewed by Sam Newman today.
Gatto then shifted the conversation to how he had also assisted supplements supplier Shane Charter.

“But listen, before you go down that track, I was approached by Shane Charter,” he said.

“Now Shane came and saw me and he said: ‘Mate, I’ve been hard done by here’.

“And he said: ‘I can prove without any shadow of a doubt that the supplement they brought over here’, the Miso-4 (Thymosin beta-4) or whatever it was, ‘I can prove that it wasn’t that, it was something else’.

“He had compelling evidence that it was legal.

“We done a deal with some members of Essendon who tried to do a deal and he wanted to be paid for it because of his hardship and what he had been dragged through. They wouldn’t hand over so they went and paid lawyers millions of dollars instead.”

The Carlton identity’s revelations will be embarrassing for Essendon which last night claimed there were “no dealings” between a senior club official and the man acquitted for the murder of hitman Andrew “Benji” Veniamin 12 years ago.

Gatto proved he had shot Veniamin in self-defence.

The Herald Sun was provided with footage of the interview by sports and gossip website 15 Minutes of Fame.

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/a...l/news-story/aae885dbbcbcb438e9224c9d2922db33
Charter had compelling evidence it was not fit for human consumption. Does not matter what type of Miso it was.

Good work compact72 - Are these alternative facts or fake news according to Essendon, I really cannot keep track?

The only thing that would make me watch TFS is if Philip Nitschke provided a dose to the end the show once and for all

Pretty annoying that it's coming to light now. Had a pathetic off-season with so many teams in contention for the off-season trophy.

Shit is happening just when footy is starting to happen. Kind of feel sorry for the players, trying to move on, things look bright and then bam, they get dragged back in (indirectly ofc)

Pretty annoying that it's coming to light now. Had a pathetic off-season with so many teams in contention for the off-season trophy.

Shit is happening just when footy is starting to happen. Kind of feel sorry for the players, trying to move on, things look bright and then bam, they get dragged back in (indirectly ofc)
I doubt they care tbh. I find it almost more amusing than anything. It's such a blatant attempt to try and wring some last bucks out of it all, from Wally and Elliot, from Newscorp, from The Footy Show, from Gatto Inc. In reality, it's old news with nothing new, and only the more obsessed are believing it's anything more than what it is.

Should be the end of it, but it won't be. I reckon the players would be on edge about it all, bracing for more crap to come. They're only humans after all

Everybody loves a bit of drama and it's guaranteed to sell headlines.

So, we taking Gatto at his word he met with an unnamed EFC official and not Charter when he says he has proof the imported substance was legal, but he'd like to be paid for said information because his year had been less than rosy?

I find this instalment rather surreal.

In the meantime, Thursday afternoon football before Thursday night football - how is this not the top AFL news story. this is awesome

So, we taking Gatto at his word he met with an unnamed EFC official and not Charter when he says he has proof the imported substance was legal, but he'd like to be paid for said information because his year had been less than rosy?

I find this instalment rather surreal.

In the meantime, Thursday afternoon football before Thursday night football - how is this not the top AFL news story. this is awesome
Look, I think if this saga has taught us one thing - its that you should believe anyone other than Essendon.

Seriously.

I guess Gatto is more reliable than Hird, Charter, Dank and the EFC.

If it gets the truth out and closes this saga I'd be happy either way.

Its just another bizarre thing to happen in this case, surely you'd be aware of the implications of spreading the accusations. Bloody stupid on wallis and his mates part. That said if it was true why would he go to the press, wouldn't it put a target on his back.
I would think there are certain former people at Essendon and the AFL who wouldn't want the truth to come out.
It is my opinion that somebody from the AFL tipped Essendon off about the testers being on their case and told them to destroy all Ped records on file and on the computers and the back up files.

I would think there are certain former people at Essendon and the AFL who wouldn't want the truth to come out.
It is my opinion that somebody from the AFL tipped Essendon off about the testers being on their case and told them to destroy all Ped records on file and on the computers and the back up files.
http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-ne...eporting-hird-writ-states-20130822-2sdf5.html
Hird said it was Andy a day before there press conference. If Hirdy said it , it must be true :)

Yeah exactly. Essendon I.T would've been able to access the exchange server. It would've been hosted off site but they would've had administrator access. I looked at their mail MX records, and some mob in Bendigo runs it. Would've been easy to delete the emails imo

So our only hope is Wikileaks via ECHELON ?

[*]Gatto states he and Charter were working together, which makes a mockery of the prevalent view here that he "put the mockers" on Charter somehow
[/LIST]

It doesn't make a mockery of it though.

It suits Gatto to stick up for Charters now since he has profited from organising him to stay silent.

Let's face it, Essendon approached Gatto to stand over Charters and pay him off, Elliott and Gatto have both admitted the club approached him.

No surprises that Mick is saying it's all above board and Charters is the only bloke he has ever been associated with that deals in legal drugs.

Bombers 1. accused of asking Mick Gatto to help fix doping mess and 2. covering up Medicare fraud