Bottom 4

ROFL! Great thread Shotties:thumbsu::D

One of the best reasons to visit BF is the annual pre season talk down of Swans chances. Especially from Bummer fans!!!

Geezs that LRT!:eek:... hopeless ...he should have stuck to Rah Rah!

PS Ooops...... nearly a P'ship Norm Smith medalist... bwhahahahaha:D

I wonder whether they feel privately sick of re rubbing their teenie weenie crystal balls?

You guys will probably time it perfectly. Goodes, Kirk, Bolton x 2 and the rest of your old crew who are no doubt still carrying your side right now will keep you competitive again next year and then when they retire you will have skipped that comprimised drafts. Then I think you will have to rebuild...

lol we have tdl jetta rohan and kennedy will slot into bolton x2 easily with grundy already making us forget bolton x1 who was quite poor this season, kirk has been patchy until recently with jack clearly the next captain in that role.

well goodes is goodes like mcleod form is temporary, class and fitness is permanent. that guy will play until HE wants to and is irreplaceable.

Geeeez!... Its a bloody shame we have NO decent youngsters coming through aint it!?:rolleyes:

:D

Can someone please PLEASE bring up Essendon again ... I just want to be put in my place, and reminded again that the Bombers are headed in the right direction, and that we need to face reality and prepare for the lean years and long period in the ilderness ahead ... and all that.

Tarkyn_24 said:
1. Geelong (Roughly 18 wins) - I can't see them being dislodged from the top of the ladder, but I do feel they will start to falter. Just how good Selwood really is should be marked by how he copes as aging veterans around him start to tire, and he takes on a larger burden. Range: 1st-5th

2. St Kilda (Roughly 18 wins) - Besides a few slip-ups late in the season, they had a very impressive season. I can't see them replicating their awesome streak of last season, and a few losses during the trade and draft periods will hurt. It seems to me they're looking to recruit for the VFL side more than he AFL, because IMO Peake and Hooper are useless. Range: 1st-4th

3. Collingwood (Roughly 16 wins) - A very difficult draw is the only thing that could stop them pressing for a top two finish. They've addressed perceived deficiencies in recruiting Ball as an inside mid and Jolly as a hitout machine. They desperately need Cloke, Anthony and Rusling to stand up, but Macaffer can play tall and will provide a lot more consistency to the forward line and Fraser will more than likely releive pressure on Cloke.Range: 2nd-6th

4. Sydney (Roughly 14 wins) - Call me crazy, but I actually think Sydney have one of the better best 22's going around. Depth may be an issue, though, because beyond about player 26 it looks pretty bleak to me. Kirk, O'Keefe and Goodes, while aging, will be very servicable, and Bradshaw, providing he stays injury free, will ease the pressure on White.Range: 4th-10th

5. Hawthorn (Roughly 14 wins) - They probably have the best forward set-up in the competition, but I think they were relatively inefficient in addressing their inadequacies in the draft and trade weeks. I believe Sewell, Hodge and Mitchell all firing and servicing Franklin, Roughead and Rioli is a very imposing combination. I'm still not sold on their defense or the rolling zone as teams (all but Collingwood it seems) are starting to defeat the technique. Willow will be missed.Range:2nd-12th

6 Western Bulldogs (Roughly 14 wins) - I see less upside to the Bulldogs this season than what I did last season. Smiley, Acker and Eagle will all be a year older, and I think the younger players in Harbrow, Hill and Picken will come under greater scrutiny as they really develop. Sometimes this can bring out the major flaws in a player (ie Jason Cloke post-2002). I still don't rate Cooney, though Griffen I expect to have a standout year.Range: 3rd-8th

7. Brisbane (Roughly 12 wins) - There's a lot of upside to their midfield. Black might be getting older but he seems to have a Rovert Harvey-like quality in that he just doesn't tire, and is the epitome of consistency. Rischitelli has something to prove, as does Clarke and Maguire, and Fevola will have to be on his best behaviour up north. I think the signing of Fevola will really stretch defences, and will probably see Brown in a position to really exploit teams, especially if they persist with Brennan and Mitch Clark up forward too - I just don't see any defence that could quell all four.Range: 6th-10th

8. Adelaide (Roughly 10 wins) - I don't see all that much upside to Adelaide to be honest. Sellar, Walker and Tippett will all develop, but I just don't really understand the hype around the squad at all. They seem to monster minnows, but aren't all that great against better sides. A conservative eighth for mine.Range:5th-12th

9. Essendon (Roughly 10 wins) - I don't know what to think of Essendon to be brutally honest. I do know that a club that persists with Neagle at full forward will never be a premiership contender. They'll probably look to further develop Hurley, Hooker, Gumbleton et al. and will be on the brink of the eight without ever actually looking like they'll make it.Range: 8th-12th

10. Carlton (Roughly 10 wins) - Another team that is hard to pin down, but I think a major forward deficiency will see them struggle to contend with stronger units in the competition. The backline still looks pretty ordinary too. The midfield ensemble has been bolstered, and Kreuzer and Hampson in the ruck will definitely improve the team. I just don't see where the goals come from, unless Fisher thrives without traffic being directed through Fev. Range: 9th-11th

11. West Coast (Roughly 10 wins) - I think West Coast will really develop as a strength at home, much the same way as they did in 2002. They're still three years away from seriously challenging, perhaps even more, but I think that the best 22 of West Coast has a lot of potential. Naitanui will improve, Cox and Kerr return and Masten and Ebert will be looking to have an impact. Darren Glass will have to have a consistent, injury-free campaign, however, if the Eagles are to make the finals - he is easily the most important player in the make-up of the team. Range: 9th-13th

12. Melbourne (Roughly 6 wins) - Between the top eleven sides in the competition, and the bottom five I feel there is a massive gap that wn't be bridged. However, of the bottom five, I think Melbourne possibly has the most upside. They'll be looking to develop their younger guys through the VFL and will struggle early in the year, but as these younger blokes become more prevalent in AFL ranks, they'll start to be a more competitive team. Brad Miller and Jared Rivers must stand up if the Demons are to achieve beyond my prediction. Range: 12th-16th

13. Fremantle (Roughly 5 wins) - I hang shit on Fremantle all the time, which sort of paints how dire the outlook is for the bottom three teams in the competition. In seriousness, it will again be Paclixh, Sandilands and Tarrant that save the day for the Dockers... I still don't rate Hill after a full year of football, but Palmer, Mayne and Ibbotson should all continue their development and become very servicable players in 2010. Range: 12th - 14th

14. Richmond (Roughly 3 wins) - There's not really much that can be said of Richmond. Of all the teams in the competition, I think the outlook is only more bleak for Port Adelaide. Cotchin will be a real talent, and getting Mitch Farmer at the expense of Jay Schulz was a masterstroke, but while players like Jake King continue to get senior gigs for the Tigers, I just don't feel they can move forward as a club. I was surprised at Polak's delisting... Hardwick has some work to do. Nahas will provide the upside in a bleak, lean year, Range: 13th-15th

15. North Melbourne (Roughly 3 wins) - I think it'll be another lean year for the Kangaroos, though I think it will ultimately bear some very good fruition in a couple of years. They'll play a lot of inexperienced players and really have a focus on development under Scott. Harvey will have to have a tremendous year to see the club win more than five games. It shouldn't be down to one player, but I feel it will be him, Petrie and Harding that will be the "match-winners". Range: 14th-16th

16. Port Adelaide (Roughly 3 wins) - To be perfectly blunt, I think Port have a dismal list, and that their approach to trade week, losing Burgoyne and landing Nash and Schulz, was very much ineffective. I don't see any upside whatsoever to the squad, so it's hard to even pretend to give them a positive critique. Goodbye Choco.Range: 14th-16th

Grand Finalists and Victor-
Collingwood and Geelong.

Collingwood win by 37 points.

Brownlow Winner-
It's hard to pick a clear cut winner, but Simon Black, Scott Pendlebury, Joel Selwood, Marc Murphy and Lenny Hayes will comprise the top five.

Rising Star Winner
I'll go with a smokey in Brent Macaffer. The kid oozes talent and class and has a combination of the better attributes that Tarkyn Lockyer and Paul Medhurst have.

Coleman Medallist
With eased pressure, I think if Brisbane's midfield can service Brown and Fevola with enough of the ball, one of the pair will be monties to win. If not, it'll be out of Pavlich and Franklin.

Bolter of 2010
Kristin Thornton (player)
Sydney (team)

Slider of 2010
Brett Burton (player)
Adelaide (team)

Headlines
Prestigiacomo, Lockyer, premiership retirees.

Jake King suffers ACL injury, out for the season.

3 wishes
Tarkyn Lockyer and Simon Prestigiacomo bow out on a high.
Adelaide, Port Adelaide, Kangaroos and Fremantle all finish in the lower reaches of the ladder.
Collingwood finally beat Hawthorn.
Posted 2-2-2010

Don't think I was too far off the mark. Personally thought the Crows would finish lower than I had them in my rankings, but decided against having them much lower on reflection. **** I wish I didn't reflect. :p

The Dockers call was off because I hate them with a passion, really, about 8 wins was what I expected but I couldn't bring myself to predict them performing.

West Coast surprised a little, but part of my propensity to give them a very generous win tally reflected how badly I wanted Fremantle disgraced.

P.S. Loved giving it to the Dockers w***ers last weekend. :)

I think you were always going to be pretty close when you predict things like Hawthorn will come 2nd-12th. You did rate Sydney highly though, I remember most of your posts about us.

Hahaha. I had no clue with Hawthorn. Range represented where I honestly believed the club could finish, whereas the rankings before the name was where I thought they would finish.

What a bunch of underachievers Sydney are though. ;)

Hahaha. I had no clue with Hawthorn. Range represented where I honestly believed the club could finish, whereas the rankings before the name was where I thought they would finish.

What a bunch of underachievers Sydney are though. ;)

I must admit mate, you could be wrong about Port Adelaide and Jay Schulz. Some may laugh at me for this suggestion, but he could be a winner pick up for them. He'll be their leading goalkicker, even though he's missed half a dozen games. They'll be inconsistent next year, but, they may not be as easy to beat under their new coach next year.

Got the goodbye Choco call dead on, though. ;)

Was surprised at well Schulz has played myself. Probably won't have such a tiered ladder when I do my predictions next season either - the arbitrary tiering probably screwed my predictions a little too.

Got the goodbye Choco call dead on, though. ;)

Was surprised at well Schulz has played myself. Probably won't have such a tiered ladder when I do my predictions next season either - the arbitrary tiering probably screwed my predictions a little too.

Arbitrary tiering?
180px-Pauline_hanson_pose.jpg

Please explain?

LOL!:D Visitors, at risk of giving our mods even a bigger pain in the arse.... we are waitin' for the real culprits to fess up!... but your guilty feelings even in denial are graciously acknowledged:thumbsu:

We knew you were wrong...part of the...pure delight... of being a modern era Swans fan!

LOL!:D Visitors, at risk of giving our mods even a bigger pain in the arse.... we are waitin' for the real culprits to fess up!... but your guilty feelings even in denial are graciously acknowledged:thumbsu:

We knew you were wrong...part of the...pure delight... of being a modern era Swans fan!

If you're referring to me, I have a soft spot for the Swans, so I like seeing them go alright.

Sorry to disappoint.

Always happens when a new caretaker coach comes in fringe players are now out of their comfort zone and playing for their careers knowing the new coach holds no favorites and they could be easily delisted at seasons end.

Primus will get the job and next year will be his biggest test as some of those players might fall back onto their comfort zone and bad habits.

Always happens when a new caretaker coach comes in fringe players are now out of their comfort zone and playing for their careers knowing the new coach holds no favorites and they could be easily delisted at seasons end.

Primus will get the job and next year will be his biggest test as some of those players might fall back onto their comfort zone and bad habits.

Or on the other hand, they can actually get a decent run of things, like Jay Schulz is now under Primus. :) I'm hoping that'll work with a few players under Longmire for us next year, and a few players step up, with more chances. :thumbsu:

I had a bloke come around to install an antenna at my house on Friday night. We started talking football and it turns out he's an Essendon supporter. He crapped on about how useless Knights is and then made some irrelevant point that conveniently came back to a story about how he once played on and beat Chris Grant in Daylesford, which he assured me was "not big noting" himself, merely making a point.

We start talking about the swans and he goes "Yeah, I reckon youse blokes will be in a bit of trouble over the next few years when your older blokes retire". I nearly punched him in the face and told him to get the **** out of my house. Instead I gave him a brief summary of our list and pointed out that the only player of note retiring over the next few years is Kirk. Of course, he just stared at me blankly and went back to talking about the bombers.

It was like somebody had merged the collective football knowledge of bigfooty and channelled it into a bogan with a beanie:thumbsu:

Bottom 4