Boyle & Kennedy: Should they have been selected?

I reckon your opinion is worth three-fifths of five-eighths of faark all to tell you the truth.

Whilst you post as Unlisted your opinion will not be noted squib. :thumbsdown:

Since you joined w***er?

That would be May 2008?

By christ we are getting some real ____knucles joining this forum of late.

If you and your grandmother are better than JK, certainly have a crack, if not STFU loser. :thumbsdown:

Well that just about sums up your footy knowledge I reckon.

You are a tool and an embarrassment with the shit you go on with.

A grade goose.
My kind of poster!! Testify!!!

Re: Boyle & Kennedy

No changes for next week lads.

Would personally like one change jedi007 to be dropped from this forum altogether. Absolute w***er, if peolple are going to continue to get on here and bag kids when they are starting out in AFL I will ... (don't know what I will do really).

Honestly there were people on here bagging Roughead last year, when are you w***ers going to realise that you can't walk into AFL and dominate.

Don't bag the kids!!!

If you need to bag one of your own players evaluate number 25's game each week!

FFS what planet are some of you living on...

Boyle is the worst player in the comp....completely and utterly useless.

He is pathetic..end of story..

This is poor form mate, he works well for us in the forward line...

I am very keen to see him get some runs under his belt for the club before the finals....

trust me, you are under-rating this guy...big time....:thumbsu:

Boyle hasn't played well since the first few rounds LAST season- have a look at his stats over his last 15 or games- supporters that consistently defend must be blind-

a forward is meant to a) lead b) mark the ball c) kick goals d) put on forward pressure- Please can someone on this thread tell me which one of the above Boyle does??

We have drafted Thorp and Dowler over recent years as key position forwards, the latter who has shown some decent form in the reserves lately- tonight would have been perfect to give him a run...

If you watched the game on tv, at half time they showed the stats of who the hawks target going into the forward line. It read something like this.

Inside 50 Targets:

Buddy 15
Roughead 5
Osborne 3
Williams 2
Rioli 2
Clarke 1
Boyle 1

I know Boyle didnt get much of it, but how can you say he is doing nothing when in 1 half of football, they kicked it to him once. By the end of the game it was 3.

3 times in a game that we dominated, did we kick it to him. We are way to buddy concious and 1 day it will come unstuck. Boyle it a good option going into the forward line but we just do not use him.

In saying this, if we aren't going to use him, he might as well not be in the side. This is not his fault, its either the match comittee for picking him, and/or the players for not using him.

Yes and Yes.

Just got back from melbourne - I was really impressed with Kennedy's body strength in heavy traffic, wasn't awesome but will be a player. Probably won't be in the side when the injured players come back in but is doing all that can be asked of him.

Boyle will get better judge him in a months time when he is confident in his body and has a bit of touch back.

Geez, you can tell the ones that just have no idea.

By having Boyle in the team, means that Essendon (or any other team for that matter) can afford to have a spare Tall in the backline.

Sometimes its not all about possessions and goals. Its a team game and you have to see the big picture.

Keep watching the game on the TV you muppets! :p

Absolutely correct - it's pretty apparent to me that in modern rebounding footy you cannot afford to have 4 KPP's standing in the backline. Be it Boyle, Dowler or Thorp, but atm Boyle is the only one who is a proven player.

Kennedy/Morton are good depth players.

Kennedy doesnt have the pace/agility for afl YET. give him 2-3 years to work on it like mitchell/brown did and he'll be a VERY good player

Boyle i have no idea where he is at, he has ability, but i dont think he can fit with Roughy/williams/franklin in the side

I know i am not a hawks supporter, but i have taken some interest in watching kennedy because i used to love the way John Kennedy Sr. Coached. And sombody has said that kennedy doesnt/didnt tackle, well just some infomation he had the most tackled on the night with 7 so mabye you should have a look at the stats before making a judgment like that.

I want you to tell me who you think would do a better job and i want you to back up your statement..........

Take a pick of any untried youngsters, or anybody that is available for that matter..or if no-one is available bring out a lame witches hat.

Should i bring out the pathetic stats on Boyle over the last 20 games he has played.

I won't even go there because stats can often mean didleys.

I've seen enough of this hack to know that he is useless.

Playing Boyle because he attracts an opposition tall is laughable and if that is what all you Boyle lovers consider contributing you are dreaming.

Opposition sides pay him no attention whatsoever and run off him all day because he doesn't chase , doesn't tackle and there are NO second efforts.

Complete and utter dud and if he were playing for an opposition club you'd all be laughing at him.

I'd rather see any player on our list get a game ahead of him.

Nothing against the guy, don't know him and from all reports is a nice guy, i'm talking about his football ability at the top level....

Useless.

BigRonnie - It's obvious you have a disliking of Willo, every post you do about him is negative. I'm not sure what game you were watching but Willo's game was very good, he won contested ball, set up a number of goals and ran out the game in the midfield which is amazing given his injury. He must have done well as Clarko made a point of mentioning it in the post match meeting, stating it was a great performance by Willo, particulary as he didn't kick a goal.

Willo's role has completely changed now, we should be thankful that we have someone in our team who can play midfield, wing, flanks, FF. We can use him in whatever position suits us during the course of the match. Boyle will now have to play second fiddle to Buddy and Roughead, and I will watch with interest as he gets the same sh!t hung on him after every game as he has barely had a touch. (In case you haven't noticed, Willo and Boyle both lead, it's just with Buddy and Roughhead firing no one kicks it to them, if you watch in certain parts in the game the 2 of them actually stood there laughing as their opponents ran off them and onto Buddy and Hawthorn still kicked it to Franklin :rolleyes:)

Fwiw I think Willo provides a much more valuable member in Hawthorn than Boyle, but I also think people like BigRonnie need to understand he is no longer going to be a 60 goal player, he couldn't do it even if he wanted to, the whole structure of Hawthorn has changed and I for one think Willo should be applauded for being able to come back from a career ending knee injury and be able to completely change his role in the team.

Give the guy a break, or better still why don't you approach Willo or any of his teammates with your thoughts on no.6, I'm sure they would love to hear your thoughts :D

all you can say is "he hasn't played in 8 weeks, he isn;t match fit"- THEN WHY TH HELL IS HE PLAYING IN THE SENIORS?????

Is this the fault of Boyles supporters?
He is still the 3rd best tall forward at the club right now!

BigRonnie - It's obvious you have a disliking of Willo, every post you do about him is negative. I'm not sure what game you were watching but Willo's game was very good, he won contested ball, set up a number of goals and ran out the game in the midfield which is amazing given his injury. He must have done well as Clarko made a point of mentioning it in the post match meeting, stating it was a great performance by Willo, particulary as he didn't kick a goal.

Willo's role has completely changed now, we should be thankful that we have someone in our team who can play midfield, wing, flanks, FF. We can use him in whatever position suits us during the course of the match. Boyle will now have to play second fiddle to Buddy and Roughead, and I will watch with interest as he gets the same sh!t hung on him after every game as he has barely had a touch. (In case you haven't noticed, Willo and Boyle both lead, it's just with Buddy and Roughhead firing no one kicks it to them, if you watch in certain parts in the game the 2 of them actually stood there laughing as their opponents ran off them and onto Buddy and Hawthorn still kicked it to Franklin :rolleyes:)

Fwiw I think Willo provides a much more valuable member in Hawthorn than Boyle, but I also think people like BigRonnie need to understand he is no longer going to be a 60 goal player, he couldn't do it even if he wanted to, the whole structure of Hawthorn has changed and I for one think Willo should be applauded for being able to come back from a career ending knee injury and be able to completely change his role in the team.

Give the guy a break, or better still why don't you approach Willo or any of his teammates with your thoughts on no.6, I'm sure they would love to hear your thoughts :D

Top post!

I actually was happy to see Boyle on the field, he adds another dimension to our forward structure. Theres going to be a day when Franklin and Rhoughie dont fire and kick goals, thats wen Boyle stands up. I recall games last year when we needed to score goals, Boyle kicked important goals. Look at how deadly our forward line is with: Franklin, Roughie, Boyle, Williams, Roli and Osborne. Boyle :thumbsu: and Williams did good things in the Essendon game.

As for Kennedy, I agree with a lot of posters his slow and he is of the pace. But what can I say, we have had a lot of players out. He has been the best in the 2s so he deserves to play. He isnt in our best 22, but I could see him in the future being in our best 22. I recall seeing him break two tackles in the middle like Hogde style. He just needs to use his body to his advantage as he is very solid, maybe go in a bit harder. But eey its great to see him playing along side Hodgey who is the best at being hard. I might keep Kennedy in this week, as Adeliade have big body players:thumbsu:.

Boyle hasn't played well since returning from his hamstring last year . . . which is a pity because before that time, he was very good. He did take a few marks on a lead, mostly on account of superb delivery from Hodge, and he still delivers well, i say try him in a key defensive role and if he cannot perform there, it may be time to drop him.

Kennedy is a very good handball and a big strong midfielder who is hard to tackle, needs to lose weight off his buttocks and improve his kicking and even then we already have enough inside players so i don't know that he will ever have a huge role in our side.

I have absolutely no bias towards Boyle at all.
However, I do think he should be in the side this week, but we need to start mixing it up.
It's clear that Rutten or Bock or Stevens or whomever will end up double teaming Buddy. Which will leave the next best to Roughy, with the the last going to Boyle.
That being the case AND with Boyler's record at AAMI, I think he should be the primary target for our midfield.
Who at the Crows will be surprised if we try and hit Buddy in the chest every time we get the ball?
Who's going to be surprised by the long bomb to Buddy and Roughy in the goal square?
One of the great things about Hawthorn is that we have so many options up forward, but if we become predictable, we may as well just play a Pagan's paddock and leave Buddy up there on his own.

Boyle hasn't played well since returning from his hamstring last year . . . which is a pity because before that time, he was very good. He did take a few marks on a lead, mostly on account of superb delivery from Hodge, and he still delivers well, i say try him in a key defensive role and if he cannot perform there, it may be time to drop him.

Kennedy is a very good handball and a big strong midfielder who is hard to tackle, needs to lose weight off his buttocks and improve his kicking and even then we already have enough inside players so i don't know that he will ever have a huge role in our side.

you cant seriously mean that, hes only played 3 games how can you say there is no place for him on our list..

what i have seen he has a lot of potential and if he doesnt get more game time, and if they traded him of i would seriously be pissed off..

the grandson of the great JKsnr he will turn out to be a top gun trust me..

you cant seriously mean that, hes only played 3 games how can you say there is no place for him on our list..

what i have seen he has a lot of potential and if he doesnt get more game time, and if they traded him of i would seriously be pissed off..

the grandson of the great JKsnr he will turn out to be a top gun trust me..

I'm with you Mac... Kennedy :thumbsu: top start by the Hawk Rookie

Boyle & Kennedy: Should they have been selected?