News Brendan Gale to Tasmania

He hasn’t wanted to be here for the last 2 years. Spent 12 months applying for afl CEO role and then Tassie and now hangs around for 6 months after getting another job. HE DOESNT WANT TO BE HERE
Didn’t think he applied for the CEO job
Thought he was head hunted for it but ultimately declined

Didn’t think he applied for the CEO job
Thought he was head hunted for it but ultimately declined
Stop putting facts in the story when we are having a lynching
Angry Jim Henson GIF by Muppet Wiki

Worst season in the history of the Richmond Football Club ... should be bloody sacked

Then who? You're the one saying it and making comments so it looks like there are a plethora of fans that are back-stabbing him as he walks out the door.

From my immense time here, i see only positive reflections on Benny Gales time at the club. I see no real negative backlash or downplaying. Just concern that so many good people are leaving and being replaced by untried or underwhelming people
I agree with the sentiment that we are losing so many people and replacing them with untried people. That is why I am happy that Benny Gale has stayed around through the change of president and coach and now CEO. He is the key person that set us up the first time and I have confidence that he has got it right again. Gale has been an absolute professional in everything he has done and I am sure that will include succession planning for his own departure. Anyone who believed he would carelessly wreck his own legacy must have rocks in their heads. Thanks for the journey Benny and good luck with the Devils.

Turned the club around and we turn on him over a bad year because he is leaving?

lol
A bad year? Last year was a bad year, this was a horror show of the highest order. Two wins and the wooden spoon plus a handful of our best/better players in their prime years requesting trades. I don't think it can get much worse.

We can't heap the blame on one man but he is the CEO. And he got plenty of credit for 2017-2020 and the huge job in building towards those years. However, most decisions the club has made (or didn't make) since 2021 have been calamitous.

Gale helped bring the club to heights unreached since the 70's, but onfield at least we're back to the early 90's. The empire hasn't crumbled but that's where we're heading.

One would've thought there'd be a post-ultimate success plan in place. Or at the very least people at the club capable of making timely and good decisions once the Premiership hunt was over.

I'll say it again, we've finished bottom with two wins four seasons after winning a flag and now a handful of our best want to leave (including the guy a lot of people considered our new "franchise" player).

Gale and whoever was around him have failed, badly. And now they're all gone and the club has the feel of an empty shell.

A bad year? Last year was a bad year, this was a horror show of the highest order. Two wins and the wooden spoon plus a handful of our best/better players in their prime years requesting trades. I don't think it can get much worse.

We can't heap the blame on one man but he is the CEO. And he got plenty of credit for 2017-2020 and the huge job in building towards those years. However, most decisions the club has made (or didn't make) since 2021 have been calamitous.

Gale helped bring the club to heights unreached since the 70's, but onfield at least we're back to the early 90's. The empire hasn't crumbled but that's where we're heading.

One would've thought there'd be a post-ultimate success plan in place. Or at the very least people at the club capable of making timely and good decisions once the Premiership hunt was over.

I'll say it again, we've finished bottom with two wins four seasons after winning a flag and now a handful of our best want to leave (including the guy a lot of people considered our new "franchise" player).

Gale and whoever was around him have failed, badly. And now they're all gone and the club has the feel of an empty shell.
Maybe...an empty shell for some...but a new opportunity for others ....

He & the panel butchered the coaching selection process 100%

That is hilarious. To declare Yze’s selection a failure after one year is a bit extreme especially as we were a bottom team before he arrived, had multiple older players on their last legs and had 5 acl’s and heaps of other injuries resulting in no stability within the team. Gale has a good record of appointing good people. Remember when everyone one wanted Dimma sacked. Just before he gave us three premierships.

Everything is about timing ... we put Brendon Gale into the Hall of Fame the day we achieved the Worst Season in the History of the Richmond Football Club ... should have been sacked instead
Ridiculous comment - So should we give back the 3 premierships by 2020, being debt free and 100k+ members that he visioned...

That is hilarious. To declare Yze’s selection a failure after one year is a bit extreme especially as we were a bottom team before he arrived, had multiple older players on their last legs and had 5 acl’s and heaps of other injuries resulting in no stability within the team. Gale has a good record of appointing good people. Remember when everyone one wanted Dimma sacked. Just before he gave us three premierships.
Those smart ones like us get it, unlike many others 😊 Hard to have stability with most of our side INJURED. Common sense. I read the dimma sacked thread every day and like for like.

There is no denying Benny Gale has done a wonderful job at Richmond and I, for one, will be forever grateful for what he helped achieve.

Most people, even oppo supporters and media scum alike, agreed he was the best choice to take over from Gil at the AFL. However they only offered him second in charge, the role now filled by Laura Kane, (God help us) which he declined I believe.

I do feel he has been a bit ‘asleep at the wheel’ as someone else said, and it does seem that apart from financially we are not much better off than when he took over. I’m afraid I have no confidence in the president one bit. I wasn’t happy to see him laughing in the stand after one of our losses. I can assure him I didn’t find anything to laugh at.

Someone mentioned the coach. I’m hoping Yze will take a much tougher approach next season and stamp his authority over the team. I’m certainly prepared to give him more time. I don’t want to go back to the bad old days of sacking the coach every second year. That’s no good for anyone.

Pretty cool to see just same as local footy , surprised it ain’t electronic now like golf score cards
Tbh I’m surprised the AFL hasn’t put some gambling advertising on it

People quickly forget what the club achieved with his and Peggy's vision.

I definitely wouldn't say people forget what they achieved, it's more about assessing the overall body of work. And a part of that has to be what they've left behind.

Three premierships is an amazing, unbelievable achievement and off-field the club reached new heights - undeniable success. But time doesn't stop when a club reaches its zenith.

How does our playing list look? What will the off-field look like in 3-5 years?

Benny Gale's first season as CEO (2010), the list:

30 and over (3)
Richardson, Cousins, Simmonds
27-29 (2)
Newman, Tuck
24-26 (5)
McMahon, Polak, King, Foley, Moore

Among those 23 and under, including newly drafted players:

Deledio, Cotchin, Jackson, White, Morton, Edwards, Riewoldt, Rance, Nahas, Connors, Post, Thursfield, McGuane, Vickery, Nason, Astbury, Martin, Grimes, Griffiths, Dea...

Benny Gale's final season as CEO (2024), the list:

30 and over (9)
Martin, Lynch, Prestia, Grimes, Vlastuin, Broad, McIntosh, Pickett, Naismith
27-29 (4)
Nankervis, Hopper, Short, D.Rioli
24-26 (9)
Taranto, Bolton, Baker, Graham, Balta, Young, Miller, Colina, Lefau

Ross, Mansell, Ralphsmith, M.Rioli, Cumberland, Gibcus, Dow, Clarke, Sonsie, Banks, Bauer, Ryan, Brown, Smith, Campbell, McAuliffe, Fawcett, Tresize, Koschitzke...

In 2010, we had 10 players on the list over 24. This year we had nine players over 30. And of the 13 aged between 24 and 29 one has never played a game and four others have requested trades. More than half of the 30+ brigade have either retired or will be (likely) delisted.

RFC as scorched earth is only a slight exaggeration. This is as much a part of Benny's legacy as are the three flags. And it's not on the back of a year where we've pushed an ageing but-still-competitive list towards one last tilt at glory, it's four seasons after our last flag and finals win.

I definitely wouldn't say people forget what they achieved, it's more about assessing the overall body of work. And a part of that has to be what they've left behind.

Three premierships is an amazing, unbelievable achievement and off-field the club reached new heights - undeniable success. But time doesn't stop when a club reaches its zenith.

How does our playing list look? What will the off-field look like in 3-5 years?

Benny Gale's first season as CEO (2010), the list:

30 and over (3)
Richardson, Cousins, Simmonds
27-29 (2)
Newman, Tuck
24-26 (5)
McMahon, Polak, King, Foley, Moore

Deledio, Jackson, White, Morton, Edwards, Riewoldt, Rance, Nahas, Connors, Post, Thursfield, McGuane, Vickery, Nason, Astbury, Martin, Grimes, Griffiths, Dea...

Benny Gale's final season as CEO (2024), the list:

30 and over (9)
Martin, Lynch, Prestia, Grimes, Vlastuin, Broad, McIntosh, Pickett, Naismith
27-29 (4)
Nankervis, Hopper, Short, D.Rioli
24-26 (9)
Taranto, Bolton, Baker, Graham, Balta, Young, Miller, Colina, Lefau

Ross, Mansell, Ralphsmith, M.Rioli, Cumberland, Gibcus, Dow, Clarke, Sonsie, Banks, Bauer, Ryan, Brown, Smith, Campbell, McAuliffe, Fawcett, Tresize, Koschitzke...

In 2010, we had 10 players on the list over 24. This year we had nine players over 30. And of the 13 aged between 24 and 29 one has never played a game and four others have requested trades. More than half of the 30+ brigade have either retired or will be (likely) delisted.

RFC as scorched earth is only a slight exaggeration. This is as much a part of Benny's legacy as are the three flags. And it's not on the back of a year where we've pushed an ageing but-still-competitive list towards one last tilt at glory, it's four seasons after our last flag and finals win.
I agree with a lot of what you are saying. To me once Peggy stepped down was a huge loss. Then Benny announcing he is taking the Tassie job. I'm not knocking his integrity but hey his mind or drive is always going to be no where near 2010. List wise in 2010 we had genuine A graders in JR8, Cotchin and Martin. Then an athletic beast like Rance progressing. We had a strong spine without taking into account Edwards, Houli, Grimes..etc . From my outsider point of view the whole thing started with Pegy, and then declined when Peggy stood down. Never under estimate team culture, and it comes in all forms...the power stance being Adelaides answer.

News Brendan Gale to Tasmania