Toast Brendon Gale

If what you say is true and AFL has changed their tune on us why are we the only finals team fixtured against another finals contender for this non home ground round. We play a grand finalist (Swans) and everyone else that played finals plays a non finalist three of who were bottom four clubs.

Plus we go interstate 7 times compared to everyone else 5 .

they do it on purpose cos we're an old list

they know we will be cooked from it by finals

Knowing a few CEO’s around Benny’s age, they all say that around 10 years is long enough at the one organisation at that level. Firstly you have made the changes you want and got the desired results. If you haven’t got the results you probably never will. And secondly laziness creeps in and it can permeate through the executive.
Reckon regardless of AFL role Benny will move on in next 12-18 months.

Unfortunately I agree with you on this. There’s no way Benny takes a lesser to as 2IC at the AFL. The wait (likely years ) for the top job would be waiting to step into ‘dead man’s shoes’,

I could see him moving on eventually into another sports body or even corporate…

AFL are at the crossroads.

Game has became morally corrupt to a point where its obvious to the average punter & they are too arrogant to make the required changes to win the public back. They will double down on the same old s**t, it will continue to decline in interest, but as it wont affect their bottom line yet, they will do stuff all to fix the issue.

AFL is becoming a generational institution - meaning the majority of the new fans coming on board are inheriting the game from a parent or sibling. It is not winning "new fans" & losing traction nationally with its existing fanbase as they become less engaged.

Most of the kids i know 12 or younger barely care about AFL despite their parents being very passionate fans. NBA is far ahead of them in winning over kids as their stars are presented like Super Heroes, whereas the AFL struggles due to a lack of personalities & the game style has become stale

Did the club ever get an answer about ARC-gate and why we got the call we did?

Its why the AFL are so keen to get Carlton and Essendon back into the finals. Get 2 decent sized Vic clubs up and about to paper over the corruption so they can continue with their feel good story diversion.

so apparently the afl have told him he can become ceo if he joins them in a lower rank and works his way up

i hope he doesn't do it. they will want him to become on one of the boys and do exactly what they want otherwise he'll never move up

would rather he stay at the tigs a while then take over the tassie team

so apparently the afl have told him he can become ceo if he joins them in a lower rank and works his way up

i hope he doesn't do it. they will want him to become on one of the boys and do exactly what they want otherwise he'll never move up

What a load of shit the AFL is. Need to start a revolution and get the clubs to basically boycott the AFL until there is a clean out. The run the joint like a cult.

Dunno his name but one of Gils lapdogs keeps popping up everywhere in front of the media like never before at AFLw GF, draft, on the news. Never caught his name might be that Dillon or Auld they seem to both look like nerdy knob polishers. There was Buckley's it would be a token female, won't happen in 200 years and clearly Gales too Successful, competent and self made. CEO's have to go to the right school and belong to certain secret societies where they do as they're told or initiation blackmail comes out. I'm tipping Bennie's public school sh1t hole in Tassie doesn't cut the mustard. Dunno who writes the bullshit ratings of the rigged draw either saying ours is 7th hardest. Ours is way harder than that. Cats, Pies, Dees is easier than ours. Should be filmed with lottery balls so no disputing and if ya play an interstate team once there, following year should automatically be your home game. You've only got to look at the draw for 10 mins to see who's bent over and who's kissed on the di@k.

Not just CEOs, been the victim of this myself. Wasn't a CEO gig but an old scotch grammer boy once told me the reason I didn't get the job I applied for was coz I didn't know enough of the right people. That is literally what the dumb campaigner said.

If that’s true, imagine telling Brendan Gale, one of the most accomplished sports administrators the country has ever seen, with his record at the AFLPA and at club level that he needs training wheels to be considered for the CEO position of the AFL. Hope he told Goyder to FRO

Not just CEOs, been the victim of this myself. Wasn't a CEO gig but an old scotch grammer boy once told me the reason I didn't get the job I applied for was coz I didn't know enough of the right people. That is literally what the dumb campaigner said.

Worked tier 1 construction my whole life been in various leadership roles/ management last 20 years. One of the biggest which shall remain nameless has been haemorrhaging money for 10 years and main reason is unless you went to St Kevin's or couple other reasons you will only progress so high. Within 5 mins can sus out how they got the role & will ask them where they went to school knowing full well they're gonna say St Kevin's then they'll ask me if Im a Skobba too. Last century had an apprentice who was a laughing stock as was a St Kevin's dropout, completely useless, mysteriously never got fired. This blokes on easily 500k yet can't tie his own shoelaces.

nothing wrong being an old kevinian, don’t you worry about that

Game has became morally corrupt to a point where its obvious to the average punter & they are too arrogant to make the required changes to win the public back. They will double down on the same old s**t, it will continue to decline in interest, but as it wont affect their bottom line yet, they will do stuff all to fix the issue.

AFL is becoming a generational institution - meaning the majority of the new fans coming on board are inheriting the game from a parent or sibling. It is not winning "new fans" & losing traction nationally with its existing fanbase as they become less engaged.

Most of the kids i know 12 or younger barely care about AFL despite their parents being very passionate fans. NBA is far ahead of them in winning over kids as their stars are presented like Super Heroes, whereas the AFL struggles due to a lack of personalities & the game style has become stale

This is what eventually happens when Bean Counters are given licence to treat the bottom line as the be all and end all.

All they are interested in is the short term fix, generate additional revenue, then the arse falls out of the sports pants. By then the corrupt bean counters have taken their loot an run, and DGAF about the mess they leave behind.

Once you kill the passion for the club and the game, you eventually kill the game. Forget us rusted on fanatics, the key to the survival of the game is getting the younger generations to passionately follow a club and the game. Instead, the younger generations have so much choice that AFL is only just one of them.

A classic example is the racing industry. When the TAB was privatised some 30 years ago, the bean counters pressured the racing industry to give them more and more product. Sunday racing, night racing, more and more dog meetings, etc, to the point where it has become a wall to wall product that is difficult to follow. For the younger generations racing is just another form of gambling no different to pokies, casino, sports, etc. Consequently, metropolitan race meetings are now a ghost town. Once those of my generation begin to push up daisies so too will the racing industry.

The AFL still has some time on its hands, but if it doesn't start engaging with its fan base, particularly the young, it will be in serious trouble in the not too distant future.

AFL membership numbers rose in 2022 TOTAL - 1,190,671 up from 2021 tally: 1,113,44.

Even RFC member numbers go up every year. Win or lose the free kick stat, being on the wrong side of several shocking decisions in games. Lose the ARC decision? We lead the game at that point, 2 minutes to go. No Prestia, unfit Martin and finals debutants We found any number of ways to lose.

ARC decisions didn't cost us most of the close losses.

Caro seems to think AFL hate the RFC & salacious news reports mention $.5 million loss of revenue to us for some reason. It didnt stop us recruiting our targets this year and hopefully another flag which is all I care about.

Ticketing is a pain, the music's too loud but I didn't microwave my interstate membership. What unbelivable debut seasons from Tarrant, Gibcus, Miller, Cumbo, Sonz. What a season from the AFLW team!!

Looking for growth from non traditional areas?. look at the AFLW game. Its booming.

Corruption in Demetriou & Fitzpatrick and the awarding of contracts to caterers. Gill has turned the AFL into mega big business. If Gill inheriting from Demetiou who was inhouse. His replacement is probably already there.

RFC is being beautifully run. I'll give my hard earned to them.

AFL membership numbers rose in 2022 TOTAL - 1,190,671 up from 2021 tally: 1,113,44.

Even RFC member numbers go up every year. Win or lose the free kick stat, being on the wrong side of several shocking decisions in games. Lose the ARC decision? We lead the game at that point, 2 minutes to go. No Prestia, unfit Martin and finals debutants We found any number of ways to lose.

ARC decisions didn't cost us most of the close losses.

Caro seems to think AFL hate the RFC & salacious news reports mention $.5 million loss of revenue to us for some reason. It didnt stop us recruiting our targets this year and hopefully another flag which is all I care about.

Ticketing is a pain, the music's too loud but I didn't microwave my interstate membership. What unbelivable debut seasons from Tarrant, Gibcus, Miller, Cumbo, Sonz. What a season from the AFLW team!!

Looking for growth from non traditional areas?. look at the AFLW game. Its booming.

Corruption in Demetriou & Fitzpatrick and the awarding of contracts to caterers. Gill has turned the AFL into mega big business. If Gill inheriting from Demetiou who was inhouse. His replacement is probably already there.

RFC is being beautifully run. I'll give my hard earned to them.
All good points but the AFL will take a chunk of your hard earned and give it to other clubs.

The chief is pretty much out of the running for the AFL CEO gig, but there's a big push for him to take on a "CEO of football" role (basically Brad Scott's old job with more responsibility), so we could lose him anyway.

If that means he gets to straighten out footy then that would be good. Losing him would hurt. But if the game can start to be sensible that would help so much

The chief is pretty much out of the running for the AFL CEO gig, but there's a big push for him to take on a "CEO of football" role (basically Brad Scott's old job with more responsibility), so we could lose him anyway.
So they kill us off and hand cuff Benny at the same time?

A win win for the boy’s club.

Knowing a few CEO’s around Benny’s age, they all say that around 10 years is long enough at the one organisation at that level. Firstly you have made the changes you want and got the desired results. If you haven’t got the results you probably never will. And secondly laziness creeps in and it can permeate through the executive.
Reckon regardless of AFL role Benny will move on in next 12-18 months.

Probably reluctant to make the hard call coming on Dimma's future also. Get Dan Jackson back as a new CEO will energy and drive and start the rebuild with a new coach.

That would be a great outcome for us. Shocking gifted the Scats their premiership with all the changes he made. Benny could kill them off and have more influence over our future in that role than he would ever have in clubland.

I hope you are true.

Toast Brendon Gale