Brereton and Walls on SEN

The footy 'media' is becoming a sport in itself due to the amount of former players spewing hate for certain teams. No other football code has this amount of past players in the media.

Dancan had prior, but the reason the free wasnt paid is because Rioli punched the ball from his hands and he didnt actually lay the tackle until the ball spilled free. So right decision I think.

The umps let the play go most of the time which made the game better and I think thats how umpiring should be. Only problem is Hawks used it to their advantage getting away with as much as possible when the umps wernt looking (such as all those off the ball incidents, throws, etc) If Guerra doesnt go for weeks ill be pissed.

That Rioli decision was absolutely 50/50.
I can see where the Hawks fans are coming from, we would be livid if that was us but that's the game.
Umpiring was farcical I thought.

I reckon it was a free,how ever it wasn't the only wrong decision by the umps that had an effect on scores last night.And once the whistle has been put away as it was in the dieing stages it should stay there except for probable the most blatant of incidents.
I don't like the umpires having the final say,think Moons v Saints final 2010.

I reckon it was a free,how ever it wasn't the only wrong decision by the umps that had an effect on scores last night.And once the whistle has been put away as it was in the dieing stages it should stay there except for probable the most blatant of incidents.

Couldn't agree more.
I was ropable at times with the umpiring last night.

Slightly off topic, but was I the only one who thought Tom Harley was so sub-conscious about being seen as being biased to Geelong last night, that he actually went too far the other way and seemed to be supporting Hawthorn?

Have more time for Walls

Agree, he's far from the most rubbish person who is paid for his opinion on the AFL. Don't really listen to radio commentary much, so I'll go by his work when he was with Channel 10, but I would have broken down his work like this:

On a panel-style TV show: Excellent (admittedly didn't listen to him this morning, but loved him unleashing on Carlton a few weeks ago, think it was against the Bullodgs, in the pre-game discussion, when they had Watson listed as their CHF. Doesn't pull any punches, doesn't mind getting stuck into Carlton, calls it as he sees it)

Journalist: Decent

Commentator: Awful

Slightly off topic, but was I the only one who thought Tom Harley was so sub-conscious about being seen as being biased to Geelong last night, that he actually went too far the other way and seemed to be supporting Hawthorn?

I think he's been doing that for a while. Tough position to be in and it's probably the best way for him to approach the situation.

Let's face it, journalists are either going to be wrong or right.
They make predictions, that's it.

If their predictions turn out to be fact, they are considered a quality journalist.
If it turns out the other way, they are considered a flog who knows nothing about the game.

Yep poor old Tom-didn't hear last night but thought he was like that last week. Not to worry. He loves the team just being a pro.
Dermie is laughably predictable re Cats, so who cares. I find his pseudo analysis of games more bothersome because he says a lot of words and is taking himself very seriously, but all hot air.

If their predictions turn out to be fact, they are considered a quality journalist.
If it turns out the other way, they are considered a flog who knows nothing about the game.

doesn't help David King's cause when he consistently tries to find ways of looking over Geelong and sees a team like Richmond as going ahead of them...I mean Geelong won the flag last year and he seriously believes Richmond would take our spot inside the 8?

Oh well...it's no wonder he didn't last at Richmond and helped leave the club in a rabble :)

doesn't help David King's cause when he consistently tries to find ways of looking over Geelong and sees a team like Richmond as going ahead of them...I mean Geelong won the flag last year and he seriously believes Richmond would take our spot inside the 8?

Oh well...it's no wonder he didn't last at Richmond and helped leave the club in a rabble :)

Some people cannot be excused.
David King - case in point.

Yeah correct, but he has been doing it for a little while now. What really pissed me off was Leigh Mathews' biased comments. Ridiculous. Also thought the commentary team continually pointed out free's for Hawthorn that "should" have been awarded. Nothing really said about us.

Derm always has been negative towards Geelong, he is still shitty that Yeatsy sat him on his arse in the 89 Grand Final. He just loves the sound of his own voice, ever listened to himcommentate, he just doesnt shut up.

Am I the only one that thought Dermott was in no way biased in today's assessment on Crunch Time?? I agree Walls said some silly things but I can recall many nice things he has said about Geelong also. He was way off the mark with the article he wrote the other day and made a bold statement claiming Hawthorn won't lose another game, but other than that my only problem was with the usual flogs the call up blaming the umps.

Listening to them now. Can't believe the crap they are spewing. I thought the umpiring was atrocious and the hawks got most of the benefit of that. That's a big part of why they got back into the game imo.

And if the cats play at their best, we all know that we're as good as anyone.

Hmmmmm do they look at the stats????

26 frees for, 14 against.

That's 14 the cats got all game. Just a tad over 3 in the entire 25-30 quarter. Whomever thinks that Hawthorn got a bad run, is so far
off the mark it isn't funny. Dermott is a flog.

I was going to start a thread on it. Its making me sick. Been going on all season.

Would love to see Tom commentate next to Derm during a Hawks/Geelong game just for the giggles. He's just cave in to Brereton every time. Last week when Thomspon ran through SJ with his elbow raised: "Nothing in it!..Then half a minute later when the replay showed there obviously was, Harley kept up the "nothing in it!" meme. Get Lingy in.

Ignore them.. It's called fear! In fact you guys finishing 5/6th will be great for you and you've timed your form now to perfection... First round of the finals you'll play at home against a team that would've just scraped into the eight.. Whilst the top 4 beat the living crap out of one another... You'll make a prelim for sure. Best of luck

My issue with this is that (from memory) this is exactly what people were saying about St Kilda last year.

Brereton and Walls on SEN