Brown's hit on O'Keefe

brown wasnt looking at the ball at the time and had already committed himself to dive in, he was also probably assuming he was going to take possession of the ball, make him hurt and get the ball is what he was trying to do. o keefe than fumbles it which makes brown did dirty apparently because he didnt have the ball. Get over it mate I wouldnt have a problem if a swans player did that to 1 of ours, it is part of the game.

Dive in? Since when do you "dive in" knees first? It is not "part of the game" to crunch an opponent who is on the ground WITH YOUR KNEES. Sure, go in hard, hurt your opponent if you want, but when you do it with your knees, it's reportable. Just because he's out for a while (and yes that's karma) doesn't mean the MRP should overlook his dog act.

20jfclwjpg.gif

what is this from?

i've been seeing this for years and have never figured it out

Why don't they change the named from Sydney Swans to Sydney Sooks? Fair dinkum, talk about a pack of whingers, it almost rivals the Cats fans after the 2008 GF. You lost Swans get over it and stop making slanderous remarks about a player whose only sin is he plays the game harder than most, but within the rules as they stand. If the AFL don't like it, they can always change the rules, they've done it to the Hawks before.

Only sin is he plays harder but within the rules? If anyone who doesn't have their head up their a**e can be bothered, I'm sure they will be able to upload plenty of footage of Brown going beyond the rules.

It's ironic that you refer to Swans supporters being whingers and sooks about an incident that clearly oversteps the rules (using knees on an opponent), yet your own supporters have been crying foul that poor Buddy has been victimised when again, he clearly broke the rules of the sport which bans head high contact.

Fact: Brown made contact to a player using his knees which is not allowed in the rules.
Fact: Franklin made contact to the head when he had the option to tackle.
What is your issue with our argument? The point we are dealing with facts and logic rather than emotive language and rules from 20 years ago??

Why don't they change the named from Sydney Swans to Sydney Sooks? Fair dinkum, talk about a pack of whingers, it almost rivals the Cats fans after the 2008 GF. You lost Swans get over it and stop making slanderous remarks about a player whose only sin is he plays the game harder than most, but within the rules as they stand. If the AFL don't like it, they can always change the rules, they've done it to the Hawks before.

Kneeing a bloke is fine? , your a peanut

haha when i saw this hit, i knew there was only one thing on browny's mind...but having said that it reminds me of how afl used to be played and how footy is still played in the country, especially the league i play in...good players get targeted and hit hard. part of the game

Imagine for a moment the roles had been reversed. Brown on the ground, ROK slides in and lays his knees into Brown...

Next moment, Brown is up, waving his arms like a traffic cop on meth, slapping any red and white jumper in the vicinity, going off in front of the ump, jumper punching his way round the field, then runs over to the Swans dug out and points an accusing finger, etc etc. Next day on talkback radio he goes off, calling ROK a dirty sniper.

Perhaps it was better that ROK copped it in the end.

A lot of huffing and puffing from many people in this thread but Buddy Goes Bang, I gotta hand it to you, you have single handedly dismantled the knob brigade of BF. The same people for whom the rule makers constantly change the game. The people who have a lot to say and think they know what the game is about but have ***** all reality about what hard physical footy is about. Put on a bib you lot.

Amazing how Brown is so tough when he is delivering the hits to the opposition players but when Lloyd returns the favour the Hawks start whinging about it not being fair!!!!
Or the Hawks fans saying Brown should get away as there is no rule against it but that Franklin shouldn't get banned even though he broke the rules...

Next moment, Brown is up, waving his arms like a traffic cop on meth, slapping any red and white jumper in the vicinity, going off in front of the ump, jumper punching his way round the field, then runs over to the Swans dug out and points an accusing finger, etc etc. Next day on talkback radio he goes off, calling ROK a dirty sniper.

Perhaps it was better that ROK copped it in the end.

Haha you've painted a very funny picture there. :thumbsu:

Everyone has got so accustomed to this circle work bullshit that we see nowadays that as soon as we see hard contested footy (you know the thing that many moan has disappeared) we are astonished. Brown goes in very hard in that incident but he slides into the contact and doesn't directly jump into O'keefe with the knees.

The MRP would do Brown no favours that is certain. But so many are quick to judge because hard physical body collisions just don't happen anymore. I guess all you do-gooders have got what you wanted. Uncontested footy for 90% of the game and rugby scrums thereafter.

Everyone has got so accustomed to this circle work bullshit that we see nowadays that as soon as we see hard contested footy (you know the thing that many moan has disappeared) we are astonished. Brown goes in very hard in that incident but he slides into the contact and doesn't directly jump into O'keefe with the knees.

The MRP would do Brown no favours that is certain. But so many are quick to judge because hard physical body collisions just don't happen anymore. I guess all you do-gooders have got what you wanted. Uncontested footy for 90% of the game and rugby scrums thereafter.
And I'm quite certain you would've posted something very similar after Brad Sewell was taken out by Lloyd. Both were instances of hard footy, depending which person you ask.

I must say, watching that gif has me suprised. Why exactly was Brown penalised?

O'Keefe didn't have the ball, but it was within 5m. Brown had a team-mate contesting the ball, so can shepard legally. He didn't get him high (well, wasn't penalised for it, need the other angle, on that one looks like his arm bounces off O'Keefe's head). It wasn't in his back.

Given other non-reportable incidents, Brown could have left the ground and cleaned O'Keefe up with a hip to the jaw, and it wouldn't have even been a free.

That said, sliding in with the knees is a snipe, and I've called out certain Kangaroos (and others) players in the past for this tactic, so happy a free was paid - just not sure how it was actually decided upon. Certainly a worse act than anything Franklin's done on the field.

Of course this was then followed with perhaps the most ridiculous 50m of all time.

Shit bloke, even shitter footballer.

Tough man spends more of his time crying than actually doing anything courageous or gallant.

The blatant hypocrisy of him calling anyone else a sniper is delicious.

O'Keefe didn't have the ball, but it was within 5m. Brown had a team-mate contesting the ball, so can shepard legally. He didn't get him high (well, wasn't penalised for it, need the other angle, on that one looks like his arm bounces off O'Keefe's head). It wasn't in his back.

Given other non-reportable incidents, Brown could have left the ground and cleaned O'Keefe up with a hip to the jaw, and it wouldn't have even been a free.

That said, sliding in with the knees is a snipe, and I've called out certain Kangaroos (and others) players in the past for this tactic, so happy a free was paid - just not sure how it was actually decided upon. Certainly a worse act than anything Franklin's done on the field.

Of course this was then followed with perhaps the most ridiculous 50m of all time
Have no problem with this. The 50 was clearly stupid, but was against Guerra, not Brown. The knees were a snipe, pure and simple. Nothing "tough" and "old school" about it, as others have tried (and failed) to prosecute. Just a cheap shot, something Brown is well known for.

Realise the 50 was against Guerra, just not sure what he was supposed to do.

Put the ball on the ground = 50m.
Hold onto it = 50m.
Stand and wait until O'Keefe gets off the ground = 50m.

You can even see him turning to the umpire, with that "what do I do?" look on his face.

What colour of shit would you expect on O'Keefe other than brown?

Edit* mis read title :p

If you're just going to make things up, there's a big future for you in the media. What a load of garbage.

Why not just make a rule that if you're wearing a brown & gold jumper you aren't allowed to make contact with anyone, they may as well.

There's too many sooks in football :mad:

Seriously, some Hawks fans likes to cry about a lot of frees, but if you have Rioli in your side you get holding the ball even when your opponent disposes of it.

Even better, Rohan Smith DID say that, if you watched the coverage you would've known that. Once going to the game I rewatch the game at home to see if I missed anything.

Maybe you should become the next Robert Walls. You know... whining about everything and talking up your team.

Not trying to defend Brown's actions but find it amusing that Karma is being thrown up. The scoreboard is the only Karma I care about. But if you are hanging your hat on Brown's injury that is fine. I will take the 4 points thanks. Cheers

Yes, cheers to you too.
Take the 4 pts, you need them.

Only a one-eyed fan could seriously mistake the gutless act of sliding knees first into the body of a prone player as "hard footy". Harden up sunshine and watch a real man like a Kirk or Selwood or Lenny Hayes if you want to see what hard means in 2010.

Of course this was then followed with perhaps the most ridiculous 50m of all time.

Why was Brown penalised for?

Are Hawthorn supporters really this biased and stupid? :confused:

I've heard the slanderous comments about Brown, which is ridiculously stupid.

Of course, Hawthorn will bitch about the Umps. The way they acted on Sunday, proves that they are whiners.

Both Franklin and Brown deserved to be out, but Hawks supporters always feel that they're the victims. :eek:

Brown's hit on O'Keefe