Bruce Springsteen

You can shoot me a copy when you do that....saves me from doing it and I trust your judgement:).

BTW, were you still talking to me after the 2nd Adelaide show when that guy (cameraman) gave my sister "Bruce's" plectrum? Still not sure whether it's the genuine article or not....I'm happy to believe that it is. Either way, it's far more heavy duty that the cheap things that I use and it's been through a tough time.

Yes I talked to you at the end of the show and he had already given it to you as I remember you showing it to me and it was blue and white and the one Stevie gave me at the end of night one was like a piece of marble mainly black but a bit of grey and white seam.

That is close to the very best post that I have ever read on this forum. Found myself having a think and then nodding my head in agreement with every single point that you have made.

Cheers mate. As you could probably guess, it's my favourite album of all time. Born to Run may be a better album, but I love it a whole lot less than I do TWIESS (if that makes sense... which to me it does).

Are you trying to say the narrative link between each song on BTR is better than TWIESS but the individual songs and their high points as individual songs, are better on TWIESS than those on BTR??

The opposite, actually (I think). I guess if I tried to explain it I'd say this:

I know that sonically, Born to Run is a better album. I know that more thought went into the sequencing of the album and the focus involved in creating that album was immense. The highs on Born to Run are higher, and the overall quality of the songs may be better (it's so hard to judge on that one though). The album is a 10/10 for sure. You can't dispute that and I never would.

Having said all that, my emotional connection to TWIESS dwarves any emotional connection to BTR. And that's saying something considering 'Thunder Road' is my favourite song of all time, bar none. TWIESS has this carefree nature (without being careless) that sings to me. Whereas the characters in BTR are trying to escape because they don't want to die, the characters in TWIESS are escaping because they want to live, and that's a big difference to me.

I know the girls in each of TWIESS songs have different names (Sandy, Puerto Rican Jane, Rosalita, Diamond Jackie etc), but they're the same girl. And if you listen to the album from start to finish you realise it's the story of a guy who's looking to start a new life, and there's a girl he loves. He wants her to come with him and by the end, she does, and they waltz down the deserted Manhattan streets as their new life spreads before them.

It's such an optimistic album, and as someone who wanted to crawl out of his skin and break free from a life I once had... the album feels like it was made just for me. Of course, it helps that there are no bad songs on the album (try and talk shit about of the songs and we'll have to have words!), and the very flawed nature of the recording kind of parallels the innocence of the main characters.

Most of all though, it makes me smile more.

You have convinced me that I have to abandon the thought. One day I might make my own mix of the best live recordings I can find of each song.

Here's a head start for you (some of my faves):

1) The E-Street Shuffle - Asbury Park, 17-12-2000
2) 4th of July, Asbury Park (Sandy) - Live 1975-85 Box (this version is aural heaven)
3) Kitty's Back - Passaic Theatre, 19-9-78
4) Wild Billy's Circus Story - Hmmm... not sure. First Christic show from 1990 is pretty cool.
5) Incident on 57th Street - Nassau, 29-12-80 (Same recording on the 'Fire' B-Side)*
6) Rosalita (Come Out Tonight) - Live 1975-85 Box (so many to choose from, might as choose the best sounding)
7) New York City Serenade - Gaston Hall, 3-3-74 (if only for Sancious)

* Forgot to follow this one up! If you want to follow the album's structure then you need an electric version. This one's the best. But then there's the piano versions. Main Point 1975 is often thought of the highlight and I won't argue, so use that one if you feel like it.

Having said all that, my emotional connection to TWIESS dwarves any emotional connection to BTR. And that's saying something considering 'Thunder Road' is my favourite song of all time, bar none. TWIESS has this carefree nature (without being careless) that sings to me. Whereas the characters in BTR are trying to escape because they don't want to die, the characters in TWIESS are escaping because they want to live, and that's a big difference to me.

Most of all though, it makes me smile more.

The bold bit makes a lot of sense. Thunder Road is my favourite Bruce song as well, but there is an angst about getting out of a town full of losers across the whole BTR album but as you say, TWIESS has a lot more fun to it and less worried characters. I guess that was probably reflective of Bruce's professional musical life. There was a lot of pressure to get BTR popularly acclaimed as much as critical acclaim as the first 2 albums.

What I was trying to say about the high points to the songs wasn't about their musicality but personal emotional high points. I get what you wrote brother. :thumbsu:

The bold bit makes a lot of sense. Thunder Road is my favourite Bruce song as well, but there is an angst about getting out of a town full of losers across the whole BTR album but as you say, TWIESS has a lot more fun to it and less worried characters. I guess that was probably reflective of Bruce's professional musical life. There was a lot of pressure to get BTR popularly acclaimed as much as critical acclaim as the first 2 albums.

What I was trying to say about the high points to the songs wasn't about their musicality but personal emotional high points. I get what you wrote brother. :thumbsu:

Ah. Gotcha. Then yep - I agree with that :)

I mean yeah, the coda to 'Thunder Road' is perfection. The "blame it on the lies that killed us" portion of Backstreets is untoppable, and the Big Man's sax solo on Jungleland is something that will live forever.

But man, when the backing vocals kick in with the "singing" portion of 'New York Serenade', how the hell can that be matched? It just calms you like nothing else and you know that those two kids who we've followed for the previous 44 minutes are going to be alright. It's a nothing part that won't be canonised as much as others, but it's a better high than you could ever get from a drug.

And that's just one moment on an album filled with them.

Yes I talked to you at the end of the show and he had already given it to you as I remember you showing it to me and it was blue and white and the one Stevie gave me at the end of night one was like a piece of marble mainly black but a bit of grey and white seam.

Done a bit of an online search and I'm now more than satisfied that I've got Bruce's plectrum from the Adelaide2 gig. Would probably mean more if he had given it to me himself (like Steve did to you), but it was a nice gesture by my sister to pass it on to me regardless.

Now to find where I put it.

The opposite, actually (I think). I guess if I tried to explain it I'd say this:

Having said all that, my emotional connection to TWIESS dwarves any emotional connection to BTR.

This.

Small moments on the album still get me more emotional than any other, some 32 years after I first heard it as a stunned 13yo.

* the 3rd verse of Sandy, especially the final two lines of the verse
* the whole of the 3rd verse of Incident.
* the pause between the final whispered "listen to your junk man" and the first "he's singing" line on NYC Serenade is just wonderful and is possibly my favourite Springsteen moment (vying with the Backstreets bridge). It's amazing.
* the final 30 seconds of NYC Serenade...the perfect ending to the album. Leaves me spent, but incredibly satisfied.....love it to bits.

After many years of trying, I've finally come to appreciate Kitty's Back and my whole understanding of the album and the enjoyment that I get from listening it to it from start to finish is much the better for it.

This.

Small moments on the album still get me more emotional than any other, some 32 years after I first heard it as a stunned 13yo.

* the 3rd verse of Sandy, especially the final two lines of the verse
* the whole of the 3rd verse of Incident.
* the pause between the final whispered "listen to your junk man" and the first "he's singing" line on NYC Serenade is just wonderful and is possibly my favourite Springsteen moment (vying with the Backstreets bridge). It's amazing.
* the final 30 seconds of NYC Serenade...the perfect ending to the album. Leaves

After many years of trying, I've finally come to appreciate Kitty's Back and my whole understanding of the album and the enjoyment that I get from listening it to it from start to finish is much the better for it.

Funnily enough - 'Kitty's Back' was the first song on the album to hit for me. Listened to that sucker for weeks before moving onto the other songs. Was also the song I'd play for mates who thought he was just this fist-pumping bandana-wearing dude.

Here's the version I'd put on my live album:

Looks like he started about 7-40 local time

1. Bottle of Red Wine (Derek & the Dominoes) (Live premiere)
2. Badlands
3. No Surrender
4. Two Hearts
5. Bobby Jean
6. High Hopes
7. Just Like Fire Would
8. Murder Inc. ........ (sign request)
9. Trapped
10. Wrecking Ball
11. The River

Derek & the Dominoes Bottle of Red Wine - obvious a Hope Estate special. Maybe Red Red Wine tomorrow night - but will it be the Neil Diamond version or a reggae version either Bob Marley style or UB40 style.

I'm just going to go on record once and say that I hate these winery shows.

This is Lionel Ritchie-level shit. Completely below Bruce. I can only hope he's getting paid a lot of money for them.

It's bloody Gudinski. He has been trying to making Hanging Rock a venue and I gotta say it was stunning backdrop - but none of this wineries shit. I suspect Bruce's management probably said why not, given how well Hanging Rock went.

It will be interesting to know what Bruce and his management team reckon on Monday arvo when they review things.

Do you have any idea if they do this wineries and music stuff in USA or Argentina or Europe or South Africa??

It's bloody Gudinski. He has been trying to making Hanging Rock a venue and I gotta say it was stunning backdrop - but none of this wineries shit. I suspect Bruce's management probably said why not, given how well Hanging Rock went.

It will be interesting to know what Bruce and his management team reckon on Monday arvo when they review things.

Do you have any idea if they do this wineries and music stuff in USA or Argentina or Europe or South Africa??

Not that I can recall.

The oddest gig I can remember Bruce playing was the Harley Davidson festival (or something like that), where they opened up with 'Born to Be Wild'. But at least a crowd of bikers isn't the same as the wine and cheese crowd.

Not that I can recall.

The oddest gig I can remember Bruce playing was the Harley Davidson festival (or something like that), where they opened up with 'Born to Be Wild'. But at least a crowd of bikers isn't the same as the wine and cheese crowd.

Just to clarify I wasn't asking if Bruce plays wineries in other countries, but if the music industry has linked up with wineries to do shows on their estates like in Oz and NZ. It seems like outdoor gigs anywhere between 2,000 to 20,000 has become standard here and across the ditch.

That Harley Davidson festival rings a bell.

Just to clarify I wasn't asking if Bruce plays wineries in other countries, but if the music industry has linked up with wineries to do shows on their estates like in Oz and NZ. It seems like outdoor gigs anywhere between 2,000 to 20,000 has become standard here and across the ditch.

That Harley Davidson festival rings a bell.

Sorry - my bad.

Not sure, to be honest. Or, at least not the bands I follow.

There must be some serious $$$ changing hands in order for them to happen.

FOMM gets another run but the very rare THE WISH starts off the Encore. Its been 8.5 years since he last played it. I wonder if mum is around in HV or its a birthday or some anniversary. Its a great gentle song saying thanks to mum for buying his first guitar.

16. Shackled and Drawn
17. Waitin on a Sunny Day
18. The Ghost of Tom Joad
19. Land of Hope and Dreams

Encore
20. THE WISH
21. Friday on My Mind
22. Born to Run
23. Dancing in the Dark

Geez LOHAD has had a great run this tour, and deservedly so.

I actually don't mind this setlist at all, especially the American Skin / Because the Night double and Trapped would be also be something special.

Having said that, I must admit that it would be starting to get a tad boring if I was following this tour from start to finish. Even following these setlist updates on gig nights has started to lose its lustre.

That may or may not have been me on stage tonight dancing with Tom...and Bruce...

Details and photographic and video evidence needed.

That may or may not have been me on stage tonight dancing with Tom...and Bruce...
Seriously? Someone I know on FB was up there with Soozie so I was busy taking pictures of him! You might be in a few. I'll check when I'm back in Sydney on Monday.

Knew three of the people up on stage, one being our very own JP, the other being Wongy who is notorious in the Bruce community (was beside him at tonight's show - we went in together) and another mates wife.

Good show, I enjoyed it.

Also know the guy who had the Surprise Surprise sign. Was standing next to him. Out here from Sweden. He runs the European roll calls.

Bruce Springsteen