Roast Buddy - MRP gives him a week; Hawthorn accepts.

I don’t get the modern day supporter. I really don’t, esp some of my fellow Hawk supporters who bag Buddy.

I don’t ever remember Hawk supporters saying Lethal should get weeks, even when he breaks a handbags jaw.

I don’t ever remember Hawk supporters hoping Derm would get weeks for standing up for the team, or being bloody aggressive.

I don’t ever remember Hawk supporters saying Dipper was ‘dumb’ for playing on the edge in every single game he ever played. In fact we loved him for it!!!

I don’t ever remember Hawk supporters saying they wish Hudson would leave because it would make us a better team.

Why do some of you beetle brains have it in for Buddy?

I don’t hear scum, handbags, portaroos, or even bitchmond supporters try to get one of their own suspended, and as a matter of fact those supporters close ranks and tell everybody else to go suck on a doneys do dar.

But we’re Hawk supporters aren’t we, so that means we can be impartial to the point of going way over the top the other way, to make up for the fact that we really truly AREN’T impartial.

Just listen to Derm and Chief commentate when we get 1 free that was 60/40 and you’ll hear how far Hawks over compensate there bias trying to be ‘impartial’. It stinks!!

I’m not impartial and I’m proud of it.

The charge should be thrown out, end of story.

Maybe it should & in the 80's it would have been; however, in 2013 it will cost him weeks & it was stupid & as a result he'll cost the club.

With that in mind, see the last 6 pages of posting.

It's pointless referencing things from yesteryear with regard to today's game as they're simply not the same.

Buddy wasn't lifting the team by playing hard, he was selfish & frustrated because he wanted results (goals) without working for it (running & contesting); added to that we were losing badly; &, rather than get busy & run his chump opponent into the ground he acted like a selfish d******d & sought to quell his own frustration by (softly) bumping a guy after he'd got rid of it.

It's as selfish an act as I've seen in our jumper this year. For Selfish Acts 2-10 you may as well ask the same bloke... That's why people are pi**ed off.

Hodge & Lewis play close to the line. Burgoyne is hard. Franklin is selfish.

Maybe it should & in the 80's it would have been; however, in 2013 it will cost him weeks & it was stupid & as a result he'll cost the club.

With that in mind, see the last 6 pages of posting.

It's pointless referencing things from yesteryear with regard to today's game as they're simply not the same.

Buddy wasn't lifting the team by playing hard, he was selfish & frustrated because he wanted results (goals) without working for it (running & contesting); added to that we were losing badly; &, rather than get busy & run his chump opponent into the ground he acted like a selfish d******d & sought to quell his own frustration by (softly) bumping a guy after he'd got rid of it.

It's as selfish an act as I've seen in our jumper this year. For Selfish Acts 2-10 you may as well ask the same bloke... That's why people are pi**ed off.

Hodge & Lewis play close to the line. Burgoyne is hard. Franklin is selfish.
You've reduced his contribution last night to one split second incident. Was he selfish when he was delivering the ball to Rough with precision? Or getting around Jed? Some posters have developed an almost pathological anger towards Buddy for not signing yet- accusing him of being everything from selfish to a traitor and lacking loyalty. Where's the supporter loyalty?!!!!! People turn so quickly. GRRRRR. Rant over.

Yes, you are ranting. Emotionally, almost without thought. Some posters have created a pathological defence of Buddy because of his jumper. I don't recall mentioning anything about his not-signing. Interesting you bring it up, shows it's on your mind & not mine. I hope you're ok regardless his decision.

I clap as loud as anyone regarding Buddy & I marvel at his skills. I'm not sure how you think passing to Roughy is somehow a show of loyalty - as CHF it's kinda his job... Especially when 80m out...
Getting around Jed? Why the f**k wouldn't he get around Jed? 17 other guys did too don't forget. If getting around Jed makes him team orientated then I guess you think he dumped the team by not getting around Lake when he kicked a goal??? Ridiculous, huh?

Drop the emotion mate. What Buddy did was stupid & selfish. If you're arguing against that statement then you're bringing emotion into the discussion from another place; likely, going by your post, from his not-yet signing with HFC.

Buddy is very much an HFC icon & he obviously loves the club. He also did a very stupid & selfish thing. He also does it often when frustrated. Doesn't mean he doesn't love HFC & doesn't mean we don't love him.

Yes, you are ranting. Emotionally, almost without thought. Some posters have created a pathological defence of Buddy because of his jumper. I don't recall mentioning anything about his not-signing. Interesting you bring it up, shows it's on your mind & not mine. I hope you're ok regardless his decision.

I clap as loud as anyone regarding Buddy & I marvel at his skills. I'm not sure how you think passing to Roughy is somehow a show of loyalty - as CHF it's kinda his job... Especially when 80m out...
Getting around Jed? Why the f**k wouldn't he get around Jed? 17 other guys did too don't forget. If getting around Jed makes him team orientated then I guess you think he dumped the team by not getting around Lake when he kicked a goal??? Ridiculous, huh?

Drop the emotion mate. What Buddy did was stupid & selfish. If you're arguing against that statement then you're bringing emotion into the discussion from another place; likely, going by your post, from his not-yet signing with HFC.

Buddy is very much an HFC icon & he obviously loves the club. He also did a very stupid & selfish thing. He also does it often when frustrated. Doesn't mean he doesn't love HFC & doesn't mean we don't love him.
I was responding to a combination of posts, not solely yours. I'm not advocating blind loyalty, just some loyalty, and having read other posts cheering on the possibility of him receiving a 3 match suspension I just despair at that mentality. Ok, I'll go have a cold shower and lie down now ;)

My emotional rant last night was definitely not like me.

However, lets look at the situation here.

1. We are going into a finals series with him not willing to sign the most lucrative offer in Hawthorn's history. Hawthorn. The greatest and most successful club in the AFL.

2. He is not in our best three players and has not been since 2008. Mitchell, Roughead and Hodge all better.

3. He gets reported on the eve of finals for utter stupidity.

Where do you draw the line and crack it with him.

I guess it was last night for me.

Only a dominate finals series and premiership will redeem his status to anywhere near a million dollar player for mine.

I have always loved and believed in the big Bud, but now is the time to pull his head out of his arse.

I was responding to a combination of posts, not solely yours. I'm not advocating blind loyalty, just some loyalty, and having read other posts cheering on the possibility of him receiving a 3 match suspension I just despair at that mentality. Ok, I'll go have a cold shower and lie down now ;)
No, I absolutely agree with you in that respect - people wanting him to get weeks etc is really quite bizarre...

Yes, I'm one of those crazy people who wants the same rules applied to Franklin as apply to other players.

No you're not. You want Franklin to be suspended because him playing scares you. Your fear is the ultimate compliment. Nice result against Brisbane btw. Convincing stuff. Looking fwd to driving the dagger into your hearts on GF day (if you even get there) with or without Buddy. The next four weeks are going to be watching a train smash in slow motion for you. Enjoy!

Relax pal. The Cats and Hawks weren't looking like they would play each other in the next couple of weeks anyway. FWIW I prefer Buddy to be on the ground when the Hawks play the Cats, he has never swung a game between the teams. IMHO Roughead is much more dangerous.

All I said was that suggesting that Buddy's arm had been viciously attacked by the player he was bumping was a hilariously bad call. Which it was, surely even to a Hawks fan, and regardless of what you think about what penalty should apply.

Surely can't be more than low impact then. Will come down to whether it's graded as reckless or negligent now.

I reckon the AFL is reckless and negligent. Contact sport being wrecked , why not say, this game is a contact sport there is a chance you may get severely injured . Sign up and play, but sign this paper to say you will never sue down the track because you forget things or it takes you half an hour to get out of bed now as your older and mangled from a CONTACT SPORT We'll pay you big money, and you will probably get to play most games unless you land a great punch on some ones jaw. Then you will get a holiday, but if you make contact at high speed where you may do it in a split second we'll say well he didn't do it to hurt just to show that its footy. Off you go and play. .

Do this Mr "newplayerinafl. Or don't play football at all.
Easy solution, instead of losing top players all over the league every week when the bleeding public want to see them play! AND PAY FOR THAT PRIVILEGE .

There was no choice to tackle. You don't tackle someone a second after they dispose of the ball. Just don't bump under any circumstances (unless you're Paul Puopolo's height) it's not worth the risk.

Sometimes the bumper can't stop. Thats whole problem with these stupid complicated rules. Oh for a few billion dollars , The new league would begin, We'd call it Glory days football league, somewhat like Elliot Cartledge's book about real football.
We'd keep the brilliance of new speedy fast footballers and their skills, but we'd allow some bumping and tackling and CONTACT .Yes its a contact sport ?? Andrew!!!! ITS A CONTACT SPORT ISN'T IT??? . We'd get the umpires to run on the ground not ponce and bend and paddle and sky lark with over done signals.
We'd let the goal umpire decide a goal. If he's wrong which he/she generally isn't, tough luck.

We'd allow the first thing your taught as a defender , "if he's too tall punch his arms." Unlike today when a defender may as well stop and clap the forward without any challenge at all because "little slim" the streaking ump, might call a tiggy touchwood. All he really needs to do these days is just take the ball to the goal line , and kick the bloody thing himself! Go umps!!!!!

Still the game is great , but shit you get sick of losing players for bullshit contact that is part of the game. If you don't like the contact don't play footy. Imagine the numbers of GREATS that would never have played out a season if this shit was around 15 to 20 years ago. Do a list folks , you'd never have seen them , unless they became world men's netball champions , ha, do you reckon. Think on that folks.

based on the MRP findings over the last month - Fletcher, Hartlett, Jpod and Ryder this will be graded as negligent not reckless, bookmark it- he didnt jump in the air when contact was made and didnt hit melcheski with an errant elbow or arm it was all a tucked in shoulder, the only question is will be be low impact or medium impact. Most likley low as no damage was done so he gets a reprimand

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/how-franklin-can-escape-with-a-reprimand-20130901-2syrp.html

A positive medical report on Nick Malceski has almost certainly saved Lance Franklin from being suspended for much of the finals series.

If that is coupled with a consistent approach from the match review panel to punishing late high bumps the Hawthorn spearhead could even face Sydney on Friday.

Swans defender Malceski had facial scans at the weekend as a result of the bump to his head by Franklin last Friday night, which triggered the Hawks spearhead being reported for rough conduct. Malceski left the ground straight after for treatment but he promptly returned, and while he was substituted in the second half it was due to a sore foot rather than any lingering effects from Franklin’s bump.

Sydney coach John Longmire confirmed those resulting scans did not reveal any fracture to Malceski’s jaw or cheekbone.

‘‘He’s fine to play,’’ the Swans coach said. ‘‘There’s no break or anything.’

The absence of any significant damage to Malceski is likely to limit Franklin’s impact grading to low. With there being no doubt the contact was high the biggest issue for the panel is likely to be whether it deems Franklin’s conduct reckless or negligent. The former would trigger a two-match ban that could be cut to one with a guilty plea, but the latter would be one down to a reprimand.

Players who have jumped to deliver high bumps have consistently attracted reckless gradings.
There have been at least three instances in 2013 where players have been punished for a late bump on an opponent and attracted the minimum grading of negligent: Brisbane Lions’s Billy Longer in round five to Melbourne’s Sam Blease, Geelong’s James Podsiadly in round 17 to Adelaide’s Richard Douglas and Essendon’s Paddy Ryder to West Coast’s Jamie Cripps in round 20. All were similar to the bump Franklin made to Malceski just after the Swans player kicked the ball out of defence.

The panel appraisals are announced on Monday afternoons.

Roast Buddy - MRP gives him a week; Hawthorn accepts.