Cairns AFL

tamba is dreamin if he thinks the Cobras are gonna come close to the Hawks, this would have to be the one definate of the round....hope Im not gonna regret that statment but if so, well tamba you definately have some inside info that I dont have, especially with the few that have not been playing at Hawks returning for this clash. Other games I reckon if Cutters are still short with injuries it could be a close one and maybe the Tigers might have this one by a few points. Last but not least, I hate to say it, but think that Saints will have it over the Crocs, not because I dont think the Croc's can win but because they dont! have gone missing in the head, winning is not just about the physical. Winning culture versus loosing culture, is an advantage even Betham cant stop.

Do you guys reckon Heath could pass Rainsford's record of 128 goals this year?

I think he's on 75 at the moment, give or take.

Ok here are my 4th of July tips

Souths too good for Port

North to stand up and show the competition they are worthy of a place in the four,they'll beat Hawks

Saints in a dozzy over the Bulldogs, not much in it, just hope the umpiring doesn't ruin it

tips for the weekend..........mmmmmmm....could be blow outs all over the park!!!!
Cutters back with that winning feeling by a cricket score over the poor Croc's.
Doggies will again have their day, as inside info says training at Saints has dropped off so just cant go with the Sainter's yet.
And with rumours rife that Sycrmy is over from Darwin to lift the Hawk's has my sure bet with them against the Tigers.

Tips for the week, from Poider.

Hawks over Norths
Centrals over Saints, centrals without the sniper in "Ryan"....
Cutters over Port, I'm not to sure about this one as crocs have been kicking reasonable scores even though they are 1 &10.

Cuters last three games 21, 9, 13 goal scores.
Crocs last three games 16, 14, 19 goal scores.

Ok here are my 4th of July tips

Souths too good for Port

North to stand up and show the competition they are worthy of a place in the four,they'll beat Hawks

Saints in a dozzy over the Bulldogs, not much in it, just hope the umpiring doesn't ruin it

Tamba my friend, Saints have no chance of beating Centrals when they dont have Walsh,Preston, Dixon,Seigers and Lee all out as well as the 3 or 4 they already had out. Hawks will beat Norths by 10 goals with the Darwin boys all flying over and will be 3 games clear in 4th spot , top 4 settled??? [ did say this would happen a few pages back ] Souths will beat Crocs but not by as much as people think, Crocs have picked up a couple of handy players from Tassie that go alright,keep an eye on castles.

I tipped Saints at the time not knowing they dropped so many, they don't want to injury their "superstars" at least Souths went into the Centrals game with a strong team abeit some minor injuries. If Saints are fair dinkum they would not go in understrenght.

Keep hearing every week Hawks are going to do this and that about time they produced. They only got over Port in the last quarter and did some struggling against Cobras.

On a side note enjoyed my corporate box seat at Fretwell last week drinks and food kept flowing.

tamba you certainly like baggin out all the other teams except your precious cutters...not a good idea until the final siren has gone on grand final day, then you can throw some flack at every other club who just werent up to it. As they say it's never over til the fat lady sings and history hasnt had the fat lady singin too many times at South's. Has been too many times so close and yet so far!! My money for the flag is still with the Cutter boys but dont go countin ya chickens matey

This is the first time I have bagged another team /s --- I'm very soft on what I could say :eek: . I still stand by my comments, isn't this site available to have some constructive critisim on teams :confused: Quoting an old president and life member keep some comments in reserve for later if needed.

And I will say something on the Cutters if I feel it is warranted, I also have never counted my chick-a-dees.

fair call......... constructive critisism is a good thing, might give those who are reading this forum and playing a wakeup call that they are not doing as good as they thought they were....fact is the last team to count their chickens was Port Douglas when they had the premiership T Shirts made up a week before the granny and ended up having egg on their face when they didnt take home the trophy. Cant say any one has counted their chickens like that since. One thing I can say is that you deffinately keep me reading.....look forward to more constructive critisism!!!!

Jimmy Hopgood took an absolute screamer on the back of Port Douglas Crocs. Well done Jimett.....:thumbsu:

jim%20hopgood%20small.JPG

Gee shades of 2001 grand final when Souths kicked 2.10 in the first quarter at one stage on Saturday were 0.11.11 till they rallyed to kick 4 straight to finish the quarter 4.11.35 need some kicking practice some of them.

Not impressed with one of the reserve players from South needs to be brought down a peg or two some of his antics were shocking in the game he got a 3 week penalty from the umpires well done to Port Douglas for getting over them

from what I hear all three games were competitive...this is a dam good thing for Cairn's footy. Gets people down to the games since there is a chance that anyone can win. Even though it is looking like the top four might be set in stone, Port have picked up a handy recruit in Castles and Centrals look to have added to their already impressive team with Agars. Hawk's have finally bread a winner with the coach Weetra playing along side his son, who from what I am told is a chip off the old block. How many blokes get to play A grade footy along side their son! bet Gabby was proud as punch.

tips for this week...pretty easy I think.
Saints to good for Tigers
Cutters will flog Cobras
As will the doggies flog the Hawks.

Still a few out for Cutters and Saints but still think they have more depth than their opposition this week. Will be interesting how the Hawks cope with the different mix they have named this week.

tips for this week...pretty easy I think.
Saints to good for Tigers
Cutters will flog Cobras
As will the doggies flog the Hawks.

Still a few out for Cutters and Saints but still think they have more depth than their opposition this week. Will be interesting how the Hawks cope with the different mix they have named this week.

My tips this week I agree with you Power Junkie

Saints over Tigers
Souths cricket score over Cities
Centrals too good for the Hawks and take favorite post for the finals

The final four is just about set in stone -- but not the finishing position , can't see Norths making it but you never know with this competition ;)

seniorsr13small.JPG
Tamba Norths are gone mate, Centrals may pinch Cutters top spot, but I see no other changes.:thumbsu:

Looking very interesting at the later part of round 2. Went and had a look at the Doggies Hawks clash and from this one my money is now safely on the Cutters to take home the flag. With the depth of the cutters in the ruck (Grant Mills BOG for the B's this week, and could step up any time) and their experience with finals footy and ability to keep grounded there is not a chance the Doggies are gonna get the flag. Different bunch of blokes now at the Dogs all with egos all looking to do it for themselves. Taking out the young 16 year old kids when the score board showed no need. Had hawks converted the many simple in front shots at goal that they missed and Rundle, Warren and Powell been there the score line would have deffinately shown a closer game and for me Hawks are not in contention. They do have some very talented young blokes coming through but they need another year in the A's to be any threat.

Junkie I think that there is some reverse psychology going on here and you have put this post out for a bit of a fish. Centrals are the form team of the comp at the moment and credit where credit is due is needed. Because Souths have a back up ruckman who played well against the Cobras means bugger all in the scheme of who will finish where!

Good to see Hawks getting up over Saints, is this the start of their run to the finals or another lapse by those Griffith Park Ladz.

Hawks did play some good footy but with the Saints having at least 10 first choice players missing maybe more plus losing Hose before half time after a nasty head clash with Walsh (Walsh returned). The Saints are just hoping to be cherry ripe come the buisness end.

Didnt go to any games this week but I hear Hawks had a nice win as did Port. Not an expected one for the Hawks and I hear they too had half a team out so would have to say the second tier players for Hawks must be better than the second tier for Saints. Looking like it will be who gets over their injuries first as to who will get to play it off against Centrals or Cutters for the big one, and weather they have enough to be able to get past either of the top two at the moment.

Ah yes...Deja Vous of 2004!!!! only this time their not fiighting for the trophy, bit sad to see the Tigers struggling to keep it going for another year and would be terrrible for the league if they ended up folding. Can't say I really blame the players for the frustration on the field at the moment.

Sounding like a good season in Cairns. Two teams out in-front with some teams that can still challenge on their given day. No-one is ever safe with the magic that can come from Manunda boys and the Saints seem to have been hit pretty hard with injuries.

Keep the updates coming...

Looking forward to the rest of the season. Go Ky!