Cairns AFL

Souths annonunce their new coach, a large field applied for the job including out of towners

Well done Robbie Douglas on your appointment

Saints are not the only team in town there are some others that could do with your support Smasher316 and Glen Quagmire try Hawks, Norths, Cobras, Port D, Centrals.

Dont be greedy trying to grab all, let the competition grow and stop giving yourselves all the pats on the back writing blog lead ins for each other the comp IS bigger than you

Tamba just answering a question champ. The clubs you mentioned are also great clubs. I just don't know any info on other clubs except for Souths. Who are also a good bunch of blokes.

Well done to Robbie on his appointment and to souths for giving him a go.

Smasher Cairns Saints is a great club and you would have a great time there. Cairns Saints like most clubs up here help with that sort of stuff and usually have contacts that will get you some sort of work to start with. They have just appointed a new coach who is a top bloke. Have a look at there website and go from there has all the contact details. http://www.cairnssaints.com.au/index.html . Where abouts are you from? Who you play with?

Jimmy coatesworth is from whycheproof which is about 2 hours drive from where i live. my family is originally from whycheproof i dont know him personally but have heard alot about him! im from horsham i play for a team called kalkee im only 20 and we went back to back this year. You might of heard of steve shultz got picked in the all australian team he is our coach. Would love to go up there and see what its like everyone says its an awesome experience and play abit of footy with a good bunch of blokes.

I know a few blokes from Kalkee in particular Edward Booker and definetly heard a lot about Shultzy. Na you'll love it up here mate.

Why not add Souths to that list tamba. Or are you guys already good enough and don't need new players. Wouldn't have thought so myself.

If I added my team to that list nearly everyone would have been down on my throat in trying to pinch him. :confused:

I was only trying to say there are other clubs not as strong but not to overlook them.

Gee can't win trying to better the leaque here can I ??? :mad:

Interesting Cairns may have a AFL team in 2020
a lot to be done before then including upgrading change rooms and a warm up area at HQ.
Way to go, but I doubt it will ever happen, we couldnt support one here

(Also news some people might be interested in Jason Lappin will coach up in cairns next year dont know who for but has apparently put pen to paper.)

Can anyone cornfim this ?
Jason coach the Wangaratta Magpies to a couple of premierships in the best country league in Victoria the ovens and murray. Brother Mathew is an Ex Carlton champ !:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

(Also news some people might be interested in Jason Lappin will coach up in cairns next year dont know who for but has apparently put pen to paper.)

Jason coach the Wangaratta Magpies to a couple of premierships in the best country league in Victoria the ovens and murray. Brother Mathew is an Ex Carlton champ !:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Obvious
some club who has a bit of coin to toss around,
could be anyone of the 5 who haven't named their coach yet.

Mate can let you know has not put pen to paper at Manunda Hawks and the Ovens and Murray is second behind the GVFL:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Ovens & Murray have beaten the GVFL three out of the last four years, so of late the Ovens & Murray I believe has been the premier league.
There have however been some cracking battles and these leagues are both very strong.:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Interesting to hear that Nth Qld (Cairns) has been mentioned as a possible location for AFL team in 2020, but can't even get a fixtured NAB cup game in 2010. Yeh right, who you trying to kid.............

NAB CUP ROUND 1
Friday, February 12
West Coast v Essendon @ Subiaco
Saturday, February 13
Adelaide v Port Adelaide @ AAMI Stadium
Hawthorn v Richmond @ Aurora Stadium
Sunday Feburary 14
Western Bulldogs v Brisbane @ Manuka Oval
Friday, February 19
St Kilda v Collingwood @ Etihad Stadium
Saturday, February 20
Sydney v Carlton @ Balcktown Olym[ic Park
Sunday, February 21
Geelong v North Melbourne @ Etihad Stadium
Fremantle v Melbourne @ Subiaco Oval
ROUND 2 – February 25-28
9 Winner Match 1 Vs Winner Match 2
10 Winner Match 3 Vs Winner Match 4
11 Winner Match 5 Vs Winner Match 6 Etihad Stadium
12 Winner Match 7 Vs Winner Match 8 Etihad Stadium
ROUND 3 – March 5-6
13 Winner Match 9 Vs Etihad Stadium
14 Winner Match 11 Vs Etihad Stadium
GRAND FINAL – March 13
15 Winner Match 13 Vs Winner Match 14 At venue to be determined by AFL

word on the street, is that tyson lane is on the short list to coach centrals 2010. it would interesting to see the line up for next season if he did happen to get the job

if given job, has too be the biggest step back in their history and a sorry day for AFL Cairns :eek:, with him returning after the rubbish and damage he helped cause to Norths and the league :thumbsdown:

Hey Fretwell ya must be bored the grounds laying dormant, no one running around you ,- except in the bar and thats quiet.

Tamba my garden nome, it is very quite around Fretwell Park at the moment called up there the other night to see the girls running around and having a kick and getting ready for the up and coming season. Friday nights is still in motion and have seen you throwing a couple of froffys back and enjoying yourself, see the new resturant is now up and going, and great feed from all reports.

Interesting to hear that Nth Qld (Cairns) has been mentioned as a possible location for AFL team in 2020, but can't even get a fixtured NAB cup game in 2010. Yeh right, who you trying to kid.............

NAB CUP ROUND 1
Friday, February 12
West Coast v Essendon @ Subiaco
Saturday, February 13
Adelaide v Port Adelaide @ AAMI Stadium
Hawthorn v Richmond @ Aurora Stadium
Sunday Feburary 14
Western Bulldogs v Brisbane @ Manuka Oval
Friday, February 19
St Kilda v Collingwood @ Etihad Stadium
Saturday, February 20
Sydney v Carlton @ Balcktown Olym[ic Park
Sunday, February 21
Geelong v North Melbourne @ Etihad Stadium
Fremantle v Melbourne @ Subiaco Oval
ROUND 2 – February 25-28
9 Winner Match 1 Vs Winner Match 2
10 Winner Match 3 Vs Winner Match 4
11 Winner Match 5 Vs Winner Match 6 Etihad Stadium
12 Winner Match 7 Vs Winner Match 8 Etihad Stadium
ROUND 3 – March 5-6
13 Winner Match 9 Vs Etihad Stadium
14 Winner Match 11 Vs Etihad Stadium
GRAND FINAL – March 13
15 Winner Match 13 Vs Winner Match 14 At venue to be determined by AFL

Very interesting point you have shed on us old great one :confused:

with the 6 recruits ( 3x8 pointers, 3x4 pointers at least) Cities have named in todays Cairns Post that will take them to 36 points, 4 points more than Cairns AFL allows under the current player point allocation system,(max 32 per side in a game ) no room for the other 16 players needed to field a full team which are 1 point each at least. So how can they be a force with not enough players on the field only playing 6, you need 14 before a forfet.

tamba it's actually 38pts.. they have 3 on 8pts, the 2 tassie boys are only worth 2pts and i'm not to sure what a nt thunder player is worth. it still comes to 28pts with 5 recruits. that leaves 10pts for the remaining 17 players... maybe they just can't add up.. or they know something that the rest of the clubs don't know about.. i doubt that though,, there not that smart.

Thanks Blueeyes I stand corrected ----sorry (i rechecked the listings),

I better get my abacaus fixed, still no room for a full team,

I think they allocated NT the same as WAFL..... 2 pointers