Cairns AFL

Good luck SJ for the finals mate , hope you can get the cutters up against ya old mate Coxy .:thumbsu:

Agree , all the boys down here wish SJ ,Shawry , Coxy and Chipper Douglas the best for this weekend, and hope we see you all back at the lions in the Future .:)

Man, did those Cutterboys play well on Sunday. SJ has got them peaking beautifully. Everyone has written us off but we are coming hard. Shawry is the best fwd in the league by a mile. He kicks goals in the big games. Sharpy will win B&F for the league. The Cannard boys are sensational and superfit. The list goes on and on. This Saturday will be great and then the Saturday after. Oh yeah. We are coming Hawkies, revenge will be ours.

Agree , all the boys down here wish SJ ,Shawry , Coxy and Chipper Douglas the best for this weekend, and hope we see you all back at the lions in the Future .:)[/quote]

yeah, i was there too. Awesome effort. The other semi btw Hawks and Saints was no where near the quality of this game. I predict Souths to play Manunda just like last year. Its like 2006 again.

Man, did those Cutterboys play well on Sunday. SJ has got them peaking beautifully. Everyone has written us off but we are coming hard. Shawry is the best fwd in the league by a mile. He kicks goals in the big games. Sharpy will win B&F for the league. The Cannard boys are sensational and superfit. The list goes on and on. This Saturday will be great and then the Saturday after. Oh yeah. We are coming Hawkies, revenge will be ours.

Agree , all the boys down here wish SJ ,Shawry , Coxy and Chipper Douglas the best for this weekend, and hope we see you all back at the lions in the Future .:)
[/QUOTE]

Smutterboy, your'e back - are you still spreading rumours about your own teammates?

Prelim Final: Saints flog Cutters...

Cairns Saints 23.11-149
d.
South Cairns Cutters 12.13-85

Matt Walsh kicked 8 for the Saints who relaxed in the last after being more than 11 goals up @ 3/4 time.

GF: Manunda Hawks Vs Cairns Saints

Obviously Knackers you have the brains of a small goat. The Hawks won the game because they played well enough to win on the day. You also have no understanding of the difference between a "King Hit" and a perfect shirt front. Watch the video and you will see that it was a perfect hip & shoulder it was unfortunate that Josh Dicketts clashed heads with Willy Alick and as a result he was knocked unconscious. If you read the Cairns Post today you will see the tribunal verdict on the charge of "Charging" was 'NOT GUILTY' so need anymore be said about the matter or is this just another case of Sour grapes for the Saints????

bad club, bad year. Had to play them in our second last game of the season in reserves and was a waste of a night. they fielded half their team with seniors cos they couldnt get a team together. came out only lookn for a fight and no idea about the spirit of footy. pretty discraceful for the club.

really? wats the money like up there? are there some big dollars thrown around. no offence but to come up from vic, cos its so far away would take some convincing, know wat i mean

some teams throw the money around. south cairns, city's, manunda etc. But if ur goin up to enjoy urself in cairns and make good friends and play at a club that supports u the saints are really good. played for them this year and just a great feeling around the club. more mates than anything and it rubs off with the success we have on the field both the reserves and seniors made the grand final this year. unfortunately we lost, but still fantastic for a club that doesnt pay any of its players

Obviously Knackers you have the brains of a small goat. The Hawks won the game because they played well enough to win on the day. You also have no understanding of the difference between a "King Hit" and a perfect shirt front. Watch the video and you will see that it was a perfect hip & shoulder it was unfortunate that Josh Dicketts clashed heads with Willy Alick and as a result he was knocked unconscious. If you read the Cairns Post today you will see the tribunal verdict on the charge of "Charging" was 'NOT GUILTY' so need anymore be said about the matter or is this just another case of Sour grapes for the Saints????

I find it very hard to believe it was just a fair shirt front, Dicketts was collected from behind and clashed heads front on with Allick, but he somehow managed to recieve 5 stiches in the Back of his head. I also had friends who were sitting in front of the incident who play for other teams in the comp, they said it was far from a fair hip and shoulder. The tactic of taking out the opposition best player worked for the Hawks in the end, but was it in the spirit of the game?

some teams throw the money around. south cairns, city's, manunda etc. But if ur goin up to enjoy urself in cairns and make good friends and play at a club that supports u the saints are really good. played for them this year and just a great feeling around the club. more mates than anything and it rubs off with the success we have on the field both the reserves and seniors made the grand final this year. unfortunately we lost, but still fantastic for a club that doesnt pay any of its players

Cairns Saints don't pay players! What a joke, yeah right Walsh & Dicketts would have played for nothing along with your other recruits. Saints have claimed this for years and everyone in the league knows it's a load of rubbish . Manunda have an incentive scheme voted by the players after each game best on gets $400, 2nd gets $300,3rd gets $200 and so on down to 7th best. In my opinion that is not what you call paying players it's an incentive scheme, play well you get rewarded! Don't know about other clubs but I know that if you think Saints don't pay players you've been living on another planet for some time. Saints are a great club with a successful past but I wouldn't call losing Grand Finalists in both grades a successful season particularly when you were beaten favourites. Let me pose this question to you, if Saints don't pay players what makes them come up to play surely not for the "great club culture" alone?

I find it very hard to believe it was just a fair shirt front, Dicketts was collected from behind and clashed heads front on with Allick, but he somehow managed to recieve 5 stiches in the Back of his head. I also had friends who were sitting in front of the incident who play for other teams in the comp, they said it was far from a fair hip and shoulder. The tactic of taking out the opposition best player worked for the Hawks in the end, but was it in the spirit of the game?

That's where you are wrong, having seen the video footage numerous times Dicketts was bumped front on and the back of his head clashed with Alick who was behind him. If it was not a fair hip and shoulder then why did the tribunal find him "Not Guilty"? Case closed get over it!

Cairns Saints don't pay players! What a joke, yeah right Walsh & Dicketts would have played for nothing along with your other recruits. Saints have claimed this for years and everyone in the league knows it's a load of rubbish . Manunda have an incentive scheme voted by the players after each game best on gets $400, 2nd gets $300,3rd gets $200 and so on down to 7th best. In my opinion that is not what you call paying players it's an incentive scheme, play well you get rewarded! Don't know about other clubs but I know that if you think Saints don't pay players you've been living on another planet for some time. Saints are a great club with a successful past but I wouldn't call losing Grand Finalists in both grades a successful season particularly when you were beaten favourites. Let me pose this question to you, if Saints don't pay players what makes them come up to play surely not for the "great club culture" alone?

I wasnt having a go at manunda cos got nothing against the club. Saints have player insentives too much similar to yours by the look of things. Saints did have a succesful season finished on top in both grades. I doubt u could say we were favourites in both grades. Maybe in the reserves although coming up against a team that had nearly there whole senior list playing reserves does help to take the favourite tag off us. In the seniors we werent favourites. Manunda beat them a couple of weeks earlier and we were with out Hosey and Finny two great players for the year. The two teams that played the best and coached the best on the day won. Unfortunately that was trinity and manunda

On Saints paying players

as a former comittee member at saints I can tell you that Saints do not and will not pay players, and as personal friend of both "Dicketts & Walsh" I can tell you that neither of them were payed a zac to play footy.