Certified Legendary Thread Cam Rayner

You feelin' yourself tonight Danny boy after a big win against checks notes North.
what's north and melbourne got to do with Cam Rayner? Literally nothing.

I'm just showcasing Rayners wild inconsistency and that he plays one good game a month. What's he done since he kicked 4 versus the magpies? Not much. Very little. I said at the end of last year that he'll average his 15 possessions a game and that's what he'll do next year and the year after that and so on and so forth. No doubt this will get bumped any time Rayner breaks out of his funk and plays a good game but it's once a month.

what's north and melbourne got to do with Cam Rayner? Literally nothing.

I'm just showcasing Rayners wild inconsistency and that he plays one good game a month. What's he done since he kicked 4 versus the magpies? Not much. Very little. I said at the end of last year that he'll average his 15 possessions a game and that's what he'll do next year and the year after that and so on and so forth. No doubt this will get bumped any time Rayner breaks out of his funk and plays a good game but it's once a month.
You are right though, he did go missing for big periods of the game. He had some great moments especially later in the game but it felt like he was back to his previous form again.

Just too inconsistent
How about we both, Brisbane and Melbourne supporters, just enjoy the fact that both clubs are now consistently successfully in the AFL now (one more than the other though :'() and netting constant positive seasons.

Remember the good old days when both clubs were fighting over the wooden spoon around a decade ago with W-L records as bad as the start-up expansion clubs at the time :$

Main thing is Rayner is playing his role well and that’s all the club expects of him at the moment with the current system we have implemented and (so far) seems to be working just fine. I think we all would love to see more of him but we don’t want that to affect our overall system as a result either.

Besides on an unrelated note, that player called Will Ashcroft seems to be a pretty good pickup from the draft I reckon. Hope he has a younger brother that would be interested in playing for us in 2 years time as well ;)

How about we both, Brisbane and Melbourne supporters, just enjoy the fact that both clubs are now consistently successfully in the AFL now (one more than the other though :'() and netting constant positive seasons.

Remember the good old days when both clubs were fighting over the wooden spoon around a decade ago with W-L records as bad as the start-up expansion clubs at the time :$

Main thing is Rayner is playing his role well and that’s all the club expects of him at the moment with the current system we have implemented and (so far) seems to be working just fine. I think we all would love to see more of him but we don’t want that to affect our overall system as a result either.

Besides on an unrelated note, that player called Will Ashcroft seems to be a pretty good pickup from the draft I reckon. Hope he has a younger brother that would be interested in playing for us in 2 years time as well ;)
Can we really say a pick 1 father/son was a good pick up? He was a gift 😀 I think he's been ok without being amazing. He finds the footy but foot skills are meh and he doesn't break the lines. but that was a fantastic goal. Goal of the year for sure.

I have hope he’ll improve his game in the future, I mean he is only 18 let’s not forget but that was a really special goal by him yesterday and I can’t wait to see what he can do for us in 10-15 years time alongside his brother :love:

Talking about Melbourne though, great win by your mob last night (albeit against a pretty average side) as well :thumbsu:

Interesting to see that this was at the end of page 5 until I bumped it just now. Does that signal that there is more consistency in his performance now and a bit more belief from his detractors?

He can be a frustrating watch. He has so many 'nearly there' moments which if he can consistently take the opportunities he can be anything. He crashes in hard at pritty much anything. Can break tackles. Good kick. But just can't get consistency.

If Brisbane were struggling with injuries and needed to call on the sure-headed players to steady things, his name wouldnt be on the list.

He is Stringer-lite.

More likely means Lions fans have accepted what they are getting with him - a small number of great games and a pile of ordinary each year.

Geez some posters seem obsessed with young CamGet help.
He is what he is.He was a reasonable pick at No 1,he does a job but he is not dominating the competition.
Let it go .

Geez some posters seem obsessed with young CamGet help.
He is what he is.He was a reasonable pick at No 1,he does a job but he is not dominating the competition.
Let it go .
I do get the fascination. To an extent danst-whatever his name is right. Cam hasn't come on aswell as we'd hoped. But he isn't exactly out of place at the level.

Five Round 9 performances that flew under the radar according to Champion Data

Cam Rayner (Brisbane)

“I thought Cam Rayner was if not the reason, one of the main reasons why Brisbane actually won the game against Essendon and his second half was spectacular.

“Across the whole game, only Joe Daniher was rated higher on the ground by our rating system, but he (Rayner) didn't get a vote.

“Rayner, his second half, 11 disposals, 9 contested possessions only Lachie Neale had more.

“But importantly (Rayner had) seven score (involvements) that he was involved in, and this actually surprised me as well, he was the number one pressure player on the ground in that, in that second half as well.

“We’ve talked a lot about this and his role behind the ball, we won't see him play behind the ball again.

“He's actually turned his year around.”

Dunkley on the way to the Lions. I guess another year of 13 possessions, 1 goal per game in the half forward line for Rayner next year.
Meteoric Rise Not too bad for my pre-season prediction. He's currently averaging 14.8 possessions and 1 goal per game. What are your thoughts on his season thus far? You watch him closer than me now. He was great in the Collingwood game but I haven't seen him do much since. Maybe a good half here or there.

I have not been watching too many Lions games this year sorry Dan. But 15 disposals, 6.4 contested, 1.7 goals + goal assists, 0.7 contested marks, 5.1 score involvements is a pretty useful contribution given his numbers say he has been playing behind the ball a bit. And moreso than most players some of his value is not recorded statistically because of the nature of how he plays, crashing packs to create openings for team-mates.

Mate, your pick 18 Chuck Spargo could only dream of getting 1 goal per game, or 1.8 goals + goal assists, or 15 possessions like Rayner got in 2022. But Rayner is not worth a pick in the 20’s according to you. 🤣🤣
How about 2.3 goal + goal assists. Or 2.5 if you take out the game that he was knocked out and subbed out in the first quarter. :)

I have not been watching too many Lions games this year sorry Dan. But 15 disposals, 6.4 contested, 1.7 goals + goal assists, 0.7 contested marks, 5.1 score involvements is a pretty useful contribution given his numbers say he has been playing behind the ball a bit. And moreso than most players some of his value is not recorded statistically because of the nature of how he plays, crashing packs to create openings for team-mates.
True, but it's not the break out that you said was coming. The Collingwood games happen maybe 2-3 times a year. Sure, anyone playing for a top 4 team is going to be a contributor but I think it's been another underwhelming season thus far despite all the Brisbane fans coming out in droves post the Collingwood game.

Certified Legendary Thread Cam Rayner