Can we talk about the captaincy?

i dont think there's a wrong or right answer for this. You either implement a transition plan or you give the new captain clear air to pave his own path.

My suggestion would make Stewart/danger co-captains but an understanding that when Selwood is missing Stewart takes full solo captaincy duties.

Reckon if Stewart is the nomination (and it's hard right now to think of anyone else) start grooming him immediately.

I have nightmares thinking Cam Guthrie might get it.
Nah. Not a great talker for the media. That's sort of the No1 thing.
Anyway just my opinion I'd stick with Selwood for a couple more years till he retires.
Would be sort of nice if he and Scott go out together at the same time.
Then make Henry the captain who should be a gun by then.

Reckon if Stewart is the nomination (and it's hard right now to think of anyone else) start grooming him immediately.
Selwood should be rested heavily through the season. They should heaps of opportunity for Stewart to be captaining next year as is under my suggestion.

Nah. Not a great talker for the media. That's sort of the No1 thing.
Anyway just my opinion I'd stick with Selwood for a couple more years till he retires.
Would be sort of nice if he and Scott go out together at the same time.
Then make Henry the captain who should be a gun by then.

Let's just say you're more optimistic than I am.

Interesting to see the different choices and perspectives. To me Stewart is the natural successor far more than anyone else. Anyway we'll find out soon enough.

Let's just say you're more optimistic than I am.

Interesting to see the different choices and perspectives. To me Stewart is the natural successor far more than anyone else. Anyway we'll find out soon enough.
Can't see Selwood being stood down when there's records to be broken and merch to be sold. Plenty of money there.
I reckon that makes it a near certainty.
Stewart would be fine with me. Seems great.
But I think by the time Selwood goes Stewart might be a tad old. We'll see.

Can't see Selwood being stood down when there's records to be broken and merch to be sold. Plenty of money there.
I reckon that makes it a near certainty.
Stewart would be fine with me. Seems great.
Stewart by a nose in front of Cameron vice with Henry the king in waiting.

Sometimes feels like the captaincy discussion gets boiled down to a poll on who we think our best player is. Stewart and Henry sure are stars. But other than the fact they are not likely to be delisted or traded in the foreseeable future (which can't really be said with confidence about half the team), I can't see what makes them good captains. I like C.Guthrie because he isn't the most talented player but he has done things the hard way and often had to play out of position during his career to help the team. He's experienced, team-oriented, approachable, has a level head, speaks well (I have a soft spot for the softly spoken!) and others in the team who also may not be the most talented may be able to relate to him. Some of these things are reasons I thought Ling was such a good captain. I'd go as far as saying our best.

I want someone who will fly the flag and show the way when all looks lost.

We don't have anyone younger than Stewart who screams captain material. Maybe Henry but would have to wait and see how it progresses. I'm guessing it'll be someone like Stewart or Guthrie for just a few years until someone younger really establishes themselves.

Maybe Simpson? To me he seems to have more captaincy qualities than Henry.

I have nightmares thinking Cam Guthrie might get it.

Me too.
Or Blicavs for that matter.

Neither illustrate leadership to me as they aren't exactly known to be on field warriors. I mean you look at most captains around the competition and they have one thing in common. They are brave, tough and uncompromising. Of course that is slowly changing but it should still be a well regarded trait as a footballer.
Stewart is brave. Selwood, well, has to be up there as the bravest league footballer of all time.
Buddha Hocking, Cameron Ling, Tom Harley, etc, etc.

I think the likes of Guthrie, Blicavs would be eerily similar to that of Ben Graham when he was captain. Built like Trazan but not one to be first in if there was a melee breaking out.

Me too.
Or Blicavs for that matter.

Neither illustrate leadership to me as they aren't exactly known to be on field warriors. I mean you look at most captains around the competition and they have one thing in common. They are brave, tough and uncompromising. Of course that is slowly changing but it should still be a well regarded trait as a footballer.
Stewart is brave. Selwood, well, has to be up there as the bravest league footballer of all time.
Buddha Hocking, Cameron Ling, Tom Harley, etc, etc.

I think the likes of Guthrie, Blicavs would be eerily similar to that of Ben Graham when he was captain. Built like Trazan but not one to be first in if there was a melee breaking out.
For me it's all about relating to teammates and instilling a team ethos. A brave and tough player doesn't necessarily make his teammates braver or tougher. Ling and Harley were never the first in to a melee for example. But their presence on the field meant that melees were a lot less likely to break out because they were a calming influence on their peers and demanded absolute focus on the team task. But then I also thought Graham was a great captain too and underrated because he led the club during probably one of its most difficult periods and did so admirably.

Guthrie goes missing in the finals.
Why would any young player follow him into battle if that's the example being set?

Club needs someone who stands up against adversity. Stewart's shown this time and time again.

Guthrie goes missing in the finals.
Why would any young player follow him into battle if that's the example being set?

Club needs someone who stands up against adversity. Stewart's shown this time and time again.
Happy to disagree re CG. One of his best games was a final, the 2019 SF from memory. And the 2020 PF. Stewart too, was it the 2017 SF where he really stood up after having a shocker in the QF that year? Not too many other standout games come to mind for either player. But speaking of adversity, there's a lot to overcome this year for Stewart to come back from his Lisfranc injury. I'd be happy for him to just make it back to playing somewhere close to his best at some point. And I worry he'd be one of those players where the captaincy becomes a bit of a burden and affects his on field performance.

He is the worst finals performer I have ever seen in my whole life.
No exaggeration. Worse than Rohan. Worse than Davis.
Maybe you or someone else can think of one, but I've never seen one as consistently poor.
Had some decent H&A seasons but finals matter the most.
You don’t really mean that do you? Rohan is the worst finals footballer I have ever seen. I’ll admit I don’t usually pay too much attention to detail except overall team performance when watching footy but there’s no way in hell Blicavs is Rohan bad.

Stewart, Duncan, Blicavs, Danger, Guthrie in order for mine but I feel like the club would pick Danger or Blicavs