Can we talk about the captaincy?

I think it’s going to be Joel for one more season, then it will be a change of Captain & Coach for 2023.....It’s clear with the contracts we’ve got in place it will remain status quo for next season. But post 2022 I foresee big changes, could well be as many as 5-6 retirees...
2022 another capitan, 2023 another coach. Better succession planning

Agree, but tough tittie on the ego. You wanna play then handover the reins. Simple really

Tom Stewart is well prepared for the captaincy, whether its 22 or 23.....for me, its the latter unless Joel decides otherwise.

And yet he kept going on about the MELB player taking a dive, not that he was tackled behind play
Langdon illegally impeded Selwood, then he took a dive. Fair enough to get angry. I like the way the dees play and hope they win the flag but they don’t mind appealing and seducing for the free kicks. Crikey, a ball just has to look at the boundary line and lever’s arms go up- deliberate I tells ya.

It's an interesting question. Very hard to say from the outside who would have the right personality and standing within the club to be captain. Players who seem to me (at a guess) to have what it takes:
Hawkins - so respected and team-oriented. May thrive with more responsibilty.
Tuohy - a players captain, honest but approachable, can lift spirits and be courageous too.
Guthrie - an experienced head. He's at his best when he direct things onfield.
Atkins - the epitome of a selfless clubman.
A couple of left field ones there. Atkins interesting - I reckon he would play on with a broken leg.

[EDIT: take the easy shot and say he plays like he has broken leg anyway. Go on.]

2022 another capitan, 2023 another coach. Better succession planning

I suspect your going to be disappointed, along with a few others in here.

Just waiting for the extension to Scott's contract and the inevitable melt downs.

I think that's almost certain, but I wonder if some of the assistant coaches are moved on. Far more likely I think.

Stewart for captain. Now is as good a time as any. Agrre that if Joel wants to keep it, it’s up to him. Because we owe him.
Why is now a good time? We're not even sure about Stewart's return from injury atm. I agree with anyone who says that he's our MVP. But captain? Idk. I'd worry that he'd be the kind of player where extra responsibility would distract from onfield performance. Remember him losing his cool in that game against the lions.

Stewart for captain. Now is as good a time as any. Agrre that if Joel wants to keep it, it’s up to him. Because we owe him.
No we don't. He is a champion of the Club but we don't owe him anything other than an retirement on terms that honour his wonderful contributions, and that works for the Club as well.

Just waiting for the extension to Scott's contract and the inevitable melt downs.

I think that's almost certain, but I wonder if some of the assistant coaches are moved on. Far more likely I think.
Not disappointed, I won't be surprised at all. My post still stands - it's better succession all round

Speaking of assistant coaches & moving on...

West Coast is interested in bringing experienced Geelong assistant coach Matthew Knights to the club.

Foxfooty.com.au understands Knights is out of contract and open to a move as the Eagles look to rejuvenate their football department following the departures of Adrian Hickmott and Jaymie Graham.

Knights, who has been at the club in some capacity since late 2011, is aware of West Coast’s interest in him.

He was the Cats’ VFL coach from 2012-2014 and has looked after the midfield since 2015.

---

Is it too soon to wish him luck out West?

No we don't. He is a champion of the Club but we don't owe him anything other than an retirement on terms that honour his wonderful contributions, and that works for the Club as well.
Selwood practically carried us single -handedly for a number of years. Dragged us across the line in game after game, after game, after game. Put his body and of course his poor old head on the line every single week for so long. He’s not been just any old captain. There has to still be some honour in football and relationships matter. I understand your view, and of course see the sense in what you say, but I just see it differently. :cool:

Sorry what years were those?

Selwood has been relying on his reputation for a number of years now. Has been a poor captain for a while. Problem is there is no one to hand it to as I would be reluctant to load Stewart with extra responsibility

Yeah nah **** his ego the club is bigger than that

Not normally a fan but what about co-captains ?
Allows us to go with a younger bloke ( eg: without a 3 in front of their age ) and pair him up with our longest ever serving captain.
In all honesty Joel shouldnt play more than 15 games next season regardless and hence eases over the transition.
Just a thought.

Joel's pregame rev ups must be getting old after all this time. I've being thinking if the younger brigade even listen or if his words resonate with them.

I hope Joel goes out whilst his form warrants a spot in the team. Within our midfield he's still our no. 2, but he's being found out the last month. I don't want to see one of our champs struggle for one last year, he's being the equal of Gaz junior at our club, can't think of a bad game he played between 07-15.

Danger is the short term option, he leads by example on the field, and he's media savvy, that's not Stewart's cup of tea.

If Scott's there still, then scarlo, Enright and Lappin will stay long term, I think there's being a body of work in the coaching style that showed from 16 onwards it hasn't worked in finals, if they stay it needs a shakeup to the style of footy, we need to play finals footy, where the pressure doesn't allow for perfection footy, as soon as the ball was contest ground balls from pressure against port and the Dee's we looked second rate

I think it’s going to be Joel for one more season, then it will be a change of Captain & Coach for 2023.....It’s clear with the contracts we’ve got in place it will remain status quo for next season. But post 2022 I foresee big changes, could well be as many as 5-6 retirees...
The voice of reason. We are Geelong. Not Carlton. There should be no reactive decisions based on that prelim loss.
2023 is definitely the year of change. Unless of course both Selwood and CS decide to relinquish now, but it should be THEIR decisions after the incredible service they have given