Cars & Transportation Car insurance - what a scam

In that case surely the parked car is not at fault and no need for insurance, unless they're hit buy a shit driver without insurance.
You pay for comprehensive insurance not so you can feel safer, its the lawyer fee for someone else taking a person with $0 to court to extract $25,000 from them after they crash into you with no insurance.

my wife had hail damage, obviously not her fault, got it fixed no worries, few months later, the renewal came and it had gone up by 70%, rang them up complained and they dropped it by 5% :rolleyes:, told them dont bother and went with another insurance company.

i on the other hand cracked the front bumper on my car costing 5k to replace, got my insurance renewal and mine had not changed, i was expecting to go up and was pleasantly surprised

cant figure them out at times

Gotta say, I recently made an insurance claim after having my car destroyed by a kangaroo and GIO have been amazing to deal with. Less than a week between the accident and full payout. They also insured my new car at a cheaper rate than the old one.

I remember somebody setting off the fire alarm at work after deciding to heat up a choc chip cookie in the microwave.
when we got our first microwave my sister and I were still in primary school

we microwaved Vegemite sandwiches for longer and longer times until we did the same thing, also gave our day old microwave a near permanent burnt Vegemite smell

Dad was super impressed with our scientific method

Gotta say, I recently made an insurance claim after having my car destroyed by a kangaroo and GIO have been amazing to deal with. Less than a week between the accident and full payout. They also insured my new car at a cheaper rate than the old one.

Have dealt with Allianz for a home claim, no issue.

Have dealt with SGIO for a no fault (rear ended in traffic) car claim, no issue.

Had a travel insurance claim (can't remember the insurer) and they haggled over the exchange rate and bank fees over something that cost 5-600 Euro.

My parents had a hell of a time with their travel insurance plus my nanny’s funeral insurance last year - long story short, they booked an overseas trip for June 2017 about a year in advance and in March 2017 my nanny (mum was her power of attorney) was diagnosed with late stage terminal cancer. They cancelled their trip to be with her and she passed away a few days after they would have been back (so thankfully they didn’t go, there were a lot of decisions to be made about her care, not to mention wanting to spend that last remaining time with her).

The travel insurance company needed multiple letters and conversations with the doctor to prove that the cancer wasn’t known when they booked the trip. Then when she passed away, the funeral insurance wouldn’t disclose how much she was insured for because the death certificate/notice was only signed by a nurse initially (the doctor had left hours earlier). Both took several months to resolve during what was already a very emotional and stressful time.

I understand it’s a business to them, but the way they treat people is pretty heartless sometimes.

my parents had left to go to America, hours after my grandpa dropped them off at the airport and me at home, my grandpa died, my parents tried to get their money background on travel insurance, but because my grandpa was on heart medication at the time of death, the insurance company ruled it pre existing condition, my parents tried to fight the ruling and was offered 1 one way ticket to Los Angeles to appease them, I can't remember if they took it or not

Funeral Insurance is a waste of money, especially for poor people.

A pre paid funeral is better if you worry about burdening your children. Shit, if a relative dies with various debts (loans, credit cards, etc) then the first debt that legally must be paid by the estate is funeral costs, before anything else.

In other words, if all your sick grandma has to her name is a few thousand dollars, she's better off getting a credit card and buying some things she likes (or spending it on the grandkids) for a few thousand.

When she passes, you pay reasonable funeral costs, and have this reimbursed from the estate. Then when the banks come for the cc debt and there is nothing left, tough t***ies for them.

With the advent of more safety features in cars, such as front and side collision detect, which would reduce the most common accidents on the road.
Add the security measures which make cars very difficult to steal, you'd think insurance claims would go down and therefore our premiums...but of course that's not the case.
I've had issues with getting insurance at a reasonable since i got my license and now being over 30 it has become slightly easier. But having lost my license a few years back for speeding, some companies won't look at me. But I've had zero claims in my driving career either so you'd think that would even that out, but it doesn't.
A mate of mine works as claims manager at one of the big insurance companies and i questioned him about premiums, in particular around my first point.
He said that the reason premiums are so high is because of the parts and car manufacturers along with the repairers charging ridiculous amounts. That is probably the case but I'd like to know the statistics around the percentages of people who actually put claims in on their insurance (including car, house etc).
I know from a personal point of view, in my 12 years of driving, along with owning a home, I've never made a claim.

Been driving for 25 years and not once have I paid for insurance. Ive never been the driver in an accident either so even if I write off a Benz tomorrow I reckon I'm still well ahead.

Insurance is for shit drivers.
It's basically a gamble, if it pays off you look like a genius.
I'd potentially contemplate this, but when you have finance on a car it is a requirement.

Car insurance beyond 3rd party fire and theft isn't really worth it unless you have a car that is worth something and you are older than 25. I remember looking to insure my first car when I was a P plater and the high risk profile vs low value of the car made it absurdly expensive. I'm talking paying $1000 a year to insure a car barely worth $1500 or something comparable. Better off just trying to save up that much and put it aside for a rainy day. If you have a car worth $20-30k or more and write off by rear ending some thickshit in traffic who stops suddenly you'd be pretty dark having to replace that on your own dime.

Health insurance is similar. If you are young and healthy and earning under $90k then I don't see the value in private health cover unless you are a woman and planning to have kids in the next couple of years. Once you start paying the Medicare Levy Surcharge then you are better off having it then just giving the govt more money for free.

Car insurance beyond 3rd party fire and theft isn't really worth it unless you have a car that is worth something and you are older than 25. I remember looking to insure my first car when I was a P plater and the high risk profile vs low value of the car made it absurdly expensive. I'm talking paying $1000 a year to insure a car barely worth $1500 or something comparable. Better off just trying to save up that much and put it aside for a rainy day. If you have a car worth $20-30k or more and write off by rear ending some thickshit in traffic who stops suddenly you'd be pretty dark having to replace that on your own dime.

Health insurance is similar. If you are young and healthy and earning under $90k then I don't see the value in private health cover unless you are a woman and planning to have kids in the next couple of years. Once you start paying the Medicare Levy Surcharge then you are better off having it then just giving the govt more money for free.
there is a difference between hospital cover and extras cover as well, and too many choices for levels of hospital and extras and too hard to tell what you actually get

add to that the regular price increases and its pretty out of hand what people can pay these days

I've got cover through work and I look at what I get for what work pays vs a retail plan and it's crazy how much better value I get than the average punter, add to that work pays and really its all gravy, if we use it great it saves us money if we don't great it means nothing went wrong

But having lost my license a few years back for speeding, some companies won't look at me. But I've had zero claims in my driving career either so you'd think that would even that out, but it doesn't.

Yeah had same issue a while back. You're all good again after 5 years apparently.

13 years of driving without a single traffic infringement until one time out in the country clocked doing 102km/h on a motorbike in a temporary 60km/h zone (normally 100km/h). Neither my friend riding ahead of me nor I saw any signs indicating reduced limit, but the cops wouldn't have a bar of it. One of them even told us he saved our lives because speeding kills. lol.

Dash cam owner's claim rejected by the NRMA after they ruled he did not maintain a safe breaking distance.

What the hell.

Dash cam owner's claim rejected by the NRMA after they ruled he did not maintain a safe breaking distance.

What the hell.

i dont think the claim was denied, may have been denied for not at fault claim, they would have been deemed at fault because they hit them from behind

The biggest rort is that if your car is a write off and you get a new car, you need a brand new insurance policy. So if you crash one month after paying your yearly insurance bill, you need to pay for another year on the new car. So you're much "better off" doing it 11 months into your policy. This happened to my friend at work, absolute rort.
Your friend at work doesn’t know what they are talking about.

Cars & Transportation Car insurance - what a scam