Carlton’s soul exorcised, I am disappointed

You,Baro,Blues Man etc are a fcuking disgrace!!!
It's your attitude that Thrawn is addressing.
I worked today and have had a brick in my stomach all day.Ive had this empty,alien feeling about what was happening at the G.
Don't you idiots understand...what has happened has "stained" our once mighty club.Our soul is in tatters,one hundred years of glory is up in smoke!
I was watching the last quarter like a zombie just staring at the screen,when I had this feeling and screamed at the TV....come on fcuk this for a joke kick 7 goals straight and let's fcuk these cntu's off WIN,WIN,WIN......all the while you bastards where cheering for theDemons .....how appropriate!!

I didn't cheer the Demons to win but I can see that we will be benefiting from two top 3 picks.

Can't you???

Obviously!

But talented players is STILL a problem and we have taken a step to it being rectified.

Is the problem of talent this significant or is it a confidence issue? Or perhaps a few of them haven't even reached their third year yet (the 'experience excuse')?

I think it is a combination of all 3. Talent is nice but ultimately your players have to be confident, enjoying their footy and most importantly, playing as a team. One of the biggest problems this year was a lack of communication and leadership. Bring all that together and talent will blossom IMO.

Re: Carlton�s soul exorcised, I am disappointed

:D

Just have a peek around this forum and you'll soon realise how many non-Carlton fans wanted us to win today (as opposed to the previous 21 rounds), all under the guise of r-e-s-p-e-c-t (lol).
If I was you I would be more worried about the Carlton fans who want to see Carlton lose before worrying about anyone else.

You seem to have missed the point, which doesn't surprise me, I , like Thrawn ,have never wanted to see my team lose regardless of PPs, so the hypocrite barb was juts plain silly
Nice to see you ignore pretty much my entire post. You, like Thrawn, are incapable of putting things into perspective and can't take an objective stance. I don't want my team to lose, it's been ****ing painful sitting through the other 17 losses this season. When it came down to the one last game against a team also doing everything it can to look towards the next season I can see that we will benefit more from losing this one game. I hate the system, it is sick, but it is there.

Your cheersquad was cheering Melb goals.
Mate they weren't cheering a Melbourne victory, they were cheering at the prospect of getting some more talent onto our playing list.

Putting up with 5 years of absolute shit, but then wanting one last feel good win and missing out on the best kid in the country isn't a true Carlton supporter in my book, they are a selfish pig.

But what do you call a cheer squad who cheers for the opposition?

BTW great OP Thrawn and ditto your subsequent posts. I can't believe some of the other crap I'm reading here.

Is the problem of talent this significant or is it a confidence issue? Or perhaps a few of them haven't even reached their third year yet (the 'experience excuse')?

I think it is a combination of all 3. Talent is nice but ultimately your players have to be confident, enjoying their footy and most importantly, playing as a team. One of the biggest problems this year was a lack of communication and leadership. Bring all that together and talent will blossom IMO.

Of course it is a combination of all 3, they all have to be worked on. I sat through 17 losses before tonight and believe me when I say this that they have pained me to no end. If we had of won some more games then tonight's scenario wouldn't have arisen would it?

I want the same things you do, and they will come. Winning tonights game wouldn't have done much towards it though. We've got two top 3 draft picks and its time to put this season behind us and look towards next season.

Nice to see you ignore pretty much my entire post. You, like Thrawn, are incapable of putting things into perspective and can't take an objective stance. I don't want my team to lose, it's been ****ing painful sitting through the other 17 losses this season. When it came down to the one last game against a team also doing everything it can to look towards the next season I can see that we will benefit more from losing this one game. I hate the system, it is sick, but it is there.

Mate they weren't cheering a Melbourne victory, they were cheering at the prospect of getting some more talent onto our playing list.

I didn't ignore any of your post , I simply responded to the parts I thought appropriate, I could have just responded to the whole lot, no diff.
Like you and some others , your cheersquad has lost it's pride and soul, they were cheering an oppositions goals, colour that any way you want, it is a disgrace.

You, like Thrawn, are incapable of putting things into perspective and can't take an objective stance.

Perhaps you should read my post if you want my 'perspective'.

I never denied that the PP will be helpful, I am slamming this losing mentality and the attitude of some supporters. And you know as well as everyone where my stance is on this issue, and I have never budged. Don't involve me in your spats with Fireman please.

carlton, are a very poor team. lance whitnell is just a great example of a team in decay. Pleasantly carlton cant buy players like the old days and they haven't learned how to recruit. Look forward to you having first draft pick next year again.

Thrawn - great post.

As a supporter of the CFC, I can't justify losing games for higher draft picks. There is no guarnatee that a top pick will be a gun player, and I can't understand why any supporter would want their team to lose games in order to get better picks - losing games on purpose can never be a real positive.

It's the system today, and while I don't personally support it, the Blues used it to their advantage - they now have picks 1 & 3 to use as trading bait currency or to pick up an outstanding kid

Nobody who seriously supports their club wants to see them lose games.. we all want our teams to win when they play, no matter what the circumstances

I didn't ignore any of your post , I simply responded to the parts I thought appropriate, I could have just responded to the whole lot, no diff.
Like you and some others , your cheersquad has lost it's pride and soul, they were cheering an oppositions goals, colour that any way you want, it is a disgrace.

How will I sleep at night knowing that I may have lost your respect?
You totally ignored my reasoning for why Carlton finished the season the way it did and how logical it was. You also ignored the fact that your club would be up shit creek without the benefits of the priority pick system.

The cheersquad tonight were cheering at the prospects of some new talent on the list and a fresh start. Losing tonights game unfortunately had to be the method for that to happen. I never stood up and cheered a Melbourne goal and every Carlton goal or good passage of play I applauded.

Carlton used to be a club that emphasised passion and pride, above all else. Even the odd touch of arrogance was there but it was there for a reason because we used to be respected and feared. Now I see my club in its current state, struggling for the past six years and barely showing a whimper. It hurts my mind. It hurts my soul. What have we become, that even our very own supporters wished for a spoon earlier this week just to get one place higher in the draft, and/or an extra pick? What has made this club so great over the best part of a hundred years is that it had pride, passion and the will to win. Even when the odds were great against us and the wins would do nothing for the seasons in question.

Call me an old school supporter if you will, but I do not believe a PP or any draft pick for that matter is worth destroying this pride for. The general idea of dropping games for one extra teenager who may or may not even turn out a superstar is quite disgusting, and embraces a losing mentality. Such a mentality should not be exposed to the younger playing group because such attitudes destroy confidence, it destroys their own belief that the club can go places with them contributing.

It also destroys cultures.

I admit that the PP will help, to an extent, but there have been many overly optimistic and even ridiculous claims. He will be the best player in the competition, he will be a 200 gamer, he will set us back 5 years if we miss him, he will instantly inspire those around him, he will turn water into wine, etc. But I am being a realist here – well, I think I am… this teenager may have a lot of potential but he has never played at senior level. He will need to be developed properly, in a good environment and nurtured by people who know what they are doing. All in all though, he will be a fresh fish and a nervous one at that, with the pressure of the entire club and supporter base on his shoulders. The bright white hope, at 18 years of age, taking the team and the club off the bottom - what expectation. I feel incredibly sorry for the kid. It is no good introducing kids in a team that thinks losing is OK – what good will that do to his confidence? What chance does he have to develop properly or at a faster rate when his team mates don’t give a damn about the jumper? Any kid will find it very hard to perform if he gets little support and is down on confidence, no matter how talented he is.

Is a single PP worth destroying our soul over? I don’t think it is – in fact, I think we can build a good team and have some success without the PP. Yes it will help, but retaining our pride and missing out won’t ruin our future. After all, it is only one individual. It all comes back to the players and the club having the right attitude – a winning one, like Carlton of old. Only then will we start seeing success if we begin to cut out this rot. I think we have a good young core already, and we can build on that. But some of the attitudes represented on this site disgusts me – one supporter even had a go with me for cheering for a win, and singing the song loudly if we do. So this is what we have become… over one pick? Using the excuse of tanking no doubt, which I think is simply an excuse supporters like to use to justify why their team is so crap. I don’t believe for a nanosecond players want to tank – they want to win. The Essendon game is proof in itself, just look at their genuine reactions at losing. Kouta can have his opinion on losing (seeing his reactions after losing, I don’t think he likes it either), so can Rhys-Jones – but I don’t think such talk would’ve been tolerated 10 years ago. I wonder what other legends like Nicholls, Doull, Southby, etc would think. Would they have supported losing? I’d assume not.

Opposition supporters can talk about us tanking all they want, but I am in the belief that you’re either good enough to win or you’re not. And those of you who think Carlton supporters here have no pride – well, you’re wrong. At least some of us do. If we are in the same position next year, I will be fighting the same fight.

Pride. Passion. Never let that go.

Good post. What a pathetic situation to be in when the carlton cheer squad were waving flags after whitnall misses a goal and chanting kruezers name. The kid will be under massive pressure.

Firstly, If people really think Carlton have been tanking, then yes we all have a lot to worry about. A team without there best 2-3 players recently, a team with gun youngsters who need 20-30 more games under the belt before exploding, and now a team with picks 1 and 3.
If they have been tanking and were actually capable of winning, then holy cow, they will take a power of beating in the next decade.
I actually think they have not been tanking, have an inexperienced side that has been incapable of winning. No more no less.

Secondly, no soul has been sold here. Carlton had to try and lose today. There was no benefit in beating a crappy Melbourne and losing a pick like Kreuzer. All you muppets sooking about it.... YOUR CLUB WOULD HAVE DONE EXACTLY THE SAME. AND YOU WOULD HAVE WANTED THEM TO!

Move on people.

Perhaps you should read my post if you want my 'perspective'.

I never denied that the PP will be helpful, I am slamming this losing mentality and the attitude of some supporters. And you know as well as everyone where my stance is on this issue, and I have never budged. Don't involve me in your spats with Fireman please.

I apologise for dragging you through my post but mate, there is a reason why supporters have been carrying on like they have. We've been shit for 6 years, everyone wants it to end, we need to do everything in our power to do so. A lot of Carlton supporters piss me off, in the same vein a lot of my friends shit me off too, such is life.

When Carlton starts winning games the losing mentality will have eroded and these 'pro-tankers' you speak of will be carrying on like Fireman taking the micky out of struggling clubs. We are building a list of talented young players, and I think we have a good future ahead of ourselves. Don't let fellow supporters get to you.

How will I sleep at night knowing that I may have lost your respect?
I'm tipping you will sleep comfortably anyway, I couldn't if I had of wanted to see my team lose.
You totally ignored my reasoning for why Carlton finished the season the way it did and how logical it was. You also ignored the fact that your club would be up shit creek without the benefits of the priority pick system.
Again missed the point, this is all about wanting to see your side lose and throw all pride and respect out the window.

The cheersquad tonight were cheering at the prospects of some new talent on the list and a fresh start. Losing tonights game unfortunately had to be the method for that to happen.
Again put any slant you want on it, it was a disgrace, your club should have a go at them.
I never stood up and cheered a Melbourne goal and every Carlton goal or good passage of play I applauded.
But you wanted to see them lose..and you called me a hypocrite:rolleyes:

Who thinks St Kilda would be better off if they had Daniel Wells in their team?? They won a game round 21 I think it was at Princes Park and missed the priority pick, Grant Thomas had a big talk about them being too good for a priority pick. Remember the prelim they lost against port by a goal?? So basically they were one goal off a premiership. With an additional A-grade midfielder who knows what would have happened?????

HAHAHAHA st kilda.

You watch Carlton in a few years time, we won't be that one player short. Culture is easily changed, and when we win number 17 it is going to be sweet. Then all you Carlton anti-tankers will be thankful and all this whinging and whining crap can stop.

I think how much I hate Collingwood for tanking in 2005 and it hurts even more given we took a cheap thrills win over them in round 20 that year to ensure they got the priority pick. With picks 1,1,1,2,3,4 on our list the AFL world is going to hate us more than ever especially given the way we got those picks :D The years to come are going to be very enjoyable indeed!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Today is indeed a great day for the CFC!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :D

Mate in your signature it says "Shaun Grigg" ,was he a top 3 pick??

We were getting A top 3 pick anyway,imagine if we'd pumped Melbourne by 12 goals,and ended the 12 game LOSING streak!!!!!

Shaun Grigg was a top 20 pick. Had we won an extra game last year we wouldn't have had him. Last year I supported us winning the entire year, not once did I want us to lose a game. However the situation was very different, two top 3 picks were not up for grabs.

Put it all into a bit of perspective. We go into next season with a greater chance of having a gun youngster.

Carlton’s soul exorcised, I am disappointed