Club Focus Carlton 2021 - Cerra, Young, Motlop

AFL Club Focus

We only have 4 ‘must keep’ players on our list: Cripps, McKay, Weitering and Walsh. All have re-signed.

There are young players we would want to keep: Kemp, Stocker, TDK, Carroll, the rest of our-list we’d be open-minded.

I’d be very interested to see how SPS Cuningham Dow O’Brien Ramsay Honey Durdin Cottrell Fisher etc would go under a new coach like Mark Williams and with proper development. I reckon you would see a completely different group

I would be extremely surprised if Chocco ever gets another senior coaching job again , Most clubs would now be looking at tactical nous and coaches that are in tune with modern coaching systems. Chocco is just old school and good with younger player development

You mean like Fagan or Noble? 🤔

Carlton need a lot of midfield depth if they hope to compete. Can’t mix it with the Dogs or Dees midfields with just Walsh and Cripps. Should be after multiple cheap pick ups like Wallis, Dunstan, Ross, Dumont, Constable rather than another big name like Cerra.
We have depth- SPS, Setterfield, Curnow, Dow, Cuningham, Stocker and Kennedy. Plus others who can go in the middle like Williams, Fisher, Kemp, Philp, Gibbons, Fogarty and Martin.

We like most other teams need quality.

The list still needs some work to do.

Agree with this. The question is just how much work?

A new List Management Crew might want to cut the Club's losses on high ranked recruits who have failed.

The 6 year contract for a banged up Crippa is an unfortunate challenge for the new crew to deal with in future years.

A new List Management Crew might want to cut the Club's losses on high ranked recruits who have failed.

The 6 year contract for a banged up Crippa is an unfortunate challenge for the new crew to deal with in future years.
He's not going to be banged up for six years.

I am a massive fan of Cripps and I hope he gets back to fitness and form. But for two seasons he has been clearly hampered. He now struggles to chase. Arguably he is even slower than our old champion in JPK who is 6 years older.

He'd be quicker than JPK mate.

One strolls in treacle; the other ambles in molasses. Love them both as players but both are really becoming just clearance specialists and liabilities when the ball is in transition.

Would like a bit more pacey/outside midfield/wingman types.
Another tall young and medium sized defenders to replace Marchbank and Docherty, and generally a couple more players who can have an immediate impact off the bench.

The list still needs some work to do.

Seems like Carlton know they need that type just have been unlucky with injury/development of those types in Cunningham, LOB, Philip and Fisher. To spend the draft capital on those guys and be forced to fill the role with limited players like Newnes and Cottrel is hurting the side.

Could be completely wrong as the GPS numbers would be the source of truth but I’d say Cripps has a much better burst of speed than Kennedy but Cripps is treacle slow in terms of cruising speed around the ground whereas Kennedy isn’t. Ie Cripps more of a power athlete and Kennedy more endurance.

Too early to say at this stage but his hamstring issues are worrying.

Carlton got Setterfield for similar money is he a bust?

The point was more on not judging a recruit on half a season and less on the individual.

Setterfield has been at the club since 2019. He was tracking well but has stagnated/regressed this year. I think it’s fair to begin scrutinising the move, Williams and Caldwell far too early.

Could be completely wrong as the GPS numbers would be the source of truth but I’d say Cripps has a much better burst of speed than Kennedy but Cripps is treacle slow in terms of cruising speed around the ground whereas Kennedy isn’t. Ie Cripps more of a power athlete and Kennedy more endurance.
You're probably right mate.

Too early to say at this stage but his hamstring issues are worrying.

Carlton got Setterfield for similar money is he a bust?
Funny you mention Setterfield because a player like him and Marchbank combined would have been on as much or more then Williams and they cost two good picks and Tuohy. Value for money they are probably worse then someone like Williams.
Giving Caldwell a $2.75mil contract and trading for him is every bit, if not more risky then Williams

Funny you mention Setterfield because a player like him and Marchbank combined would have been on as much or more then Williams and they cost two good picks and Tuohy. Value for money they are probably worse then someone like Williams.
Giving Caldwell a $2.75mil contract and trading for him is every bit, if not more risky then Williams

I agree I don’t understand why Carlton are being criticised for the Williams signing. Assuming they have managed their cap correctly what’s the downside?

I see Billings as a very similar opportunity for clubs with cap space this year. Good player with plenty of footy left. Why not overpay him?

The length mightn't be ideal, but signing a bloke who has been our best player for a number of years and was arguably top 3 in the league for a few of those, for reportedly around $750k per is hardly an 'unfortunate challenge'. If he gets anywhere near his best again, that's a bargain. Nobody knows the details of the deal either, but I'd imagine, given our recent deals to other players and the way we've been structuring contracts, that it is probably front loaded and will taper off towards the end of those 6 years. It's also not a Buddy-like deal, where the AFL would force us to include all of it in the cap if he had to retire early for any reason.
The rumour is that the club wanted 5 years, but the average dollars were going to be higher ($850k-ish), but Cripps wanted 6 years. Both sides compromised and we gave him the extra year, but on less average coin.

Club Focus Carlton 2021 - Cerra, Young, Motlop