CARLTON SALARY CAP

Oldmangrumpy

Sep 16, 2016
it’s got to bite at some point.
They are paying Martin and Williams high $800 plus long term $$$ everywhere to others.
One of the 3 talls done, 2 to go.
Cripps , Kennedy and Walsh long term.
What’s Hewitt on?
Now chasing Acres on long term.

Is good old Jack out the back again?

It’s got me astounded, no one will ever really know tbh as it’s mostly media speculation I guess.

They are paying Martin and Williams high $800 plus long term $$$ everywhere to others.
What’s Hewitt on?

It’s got me astounded, no one will ever really know tbh as it’s mostly media speculation I guess.
I know a Guy that can probably help with this.

What’s Hewitt on?

List the players and what you think they are earning, does it come remotely close to the cap?

Whilst we overpaid something chronic for Polec, it was front-loaded so there is significantly smaller amount at the end of his contract. I would imagine a number of the Carlton recruits from a few years back were front-loaded as well given they had a number of you would assume highly paid mature players leaving the club back then.

List the players and what you think they are earning, does it come remotely close to the cap?

Whilst we overpaid something chronic for Polec, it was front-loaded so there is significantly smaller amount at the end of his contract. I would imagine a number of the Carlton recruits from a few years back were front-loaded as well given they had a number of you would assume highly paid mature players leaving the club back then.
I saw a piece last night on the news, they have a huge amount of players over the $700 range that is a trigger for concern.
It’s not a sustainable plan for 5-6 years as the blues are saying they will dominate

If Geelong win the flag this year, Selwood, Higgins, Dahlhaus and possibly Hawkins (reportedly having ongoing back issues) may retire.
That frees up a significant amount of money.
The two highest earning would be Hawk and Selwood and they’d have taken substantial pay cuts in their time to fit the new boys in.

It’s more so the acquisition of Cameron after recent year’s big(ish) name recruits and still being on the market for a Hopper etc.

It’s not as though that list isn’t already filled with previous and current A graders like Dangerfield, Duncan, Stewart, Guthrie and Blicavs.

Maybe they had competent people run their cap unlike us. Is that really such a wild idea?

The experienced players they overpaid for to get them there are probably on front ended contracts giving them room in future.
It’s not about us.
We had Ned Guy and I think the new admin has the club humming beautifully.
Another adjustment coming up then Graham Wright has a clean sheet

I saw a piece last night on the news, they have a huge amount of players over the $700 range that is a trigger for concern.
It’s not a sustainable plan for 5-6 years as the blues are saying they will dominate

I don't know, sometimes the media has a very inaccurate view of what players are actually getting paid. Someone might be worth $700k but might not be getting remotely close to that.

I think Carlton have learnt from cooking the books in the past. I still think there is a greyzone where players can get paid outside of the salary cap, ie Judd and his Visy ambassadorial work, which was obviously just a rort. I am not sure how much these shenanigans are going on nowadays but I seriously doubt Carlton is keeping two sets of books.

In reality they probably are are if you even it out over the duration of a contract. Martin and McGovern were both massively front loaded with both getting 70% of the total deal in the first 2/3 years etc. Now they are at the end on contracts what they are getting paid this season would be close to 300k each.

We banked 5% of the cap within the rules for years and only paid the minimum of 95% for a while which lets you pay more when needed.

Days of John Elliot are gone and now it is just all smart decisions regarding front and back loading to even the cap out. No surprise a Pies fan started this as their own cap issues are deplorable so no better way to shift the focus to someone else I suppose.

I don't know, sometimes the media has a very inaccurate view of what players are actually getting paid. Someone might be worth $700k but might not be getting remotely close to that.

I think Carlton have learnt from cooking the books in the past. I still think there is a greyzone where players can get paid outside of the salary cap, ie Judd and his Visy ambassadorial work, which was obviously just a rort. I am not sure how much these shenanigans are going on nowadays but I seriously doubt Carlton is keeping two sets of books.
It’s probably not about book numbers like you say.
It’s going to bite though at some stage, loading up for a premiership tilt , both on field and off.

The history of cheating is a stigma, much like a lover being scorned.
The AFL will look closely

AFL ticked off the Judd deal just like they did with Ablett at Geelong and a shady real estate deal. Travis Cloke in the day at the Pies was getting paid a stack to appear on 3 episodes a season of the Footy show under a deal McGuire got passed when he was host.

Every club does it and it is no secret and if the league tick them off all one can do is sook publicly like we are witnessing now!

In reality they probably are are if you even it out over the duration of a contract. Martin and McGovern were both massively front loaded with both getting 70% of the total deal in the first 2/3 years etc. Now they are at the end on contracts what they are getting paid this season would be close to 300k each.

We banked 5% of the cap within the rules for years and only paid the minimum of 95% for a while which lets you pay more when needed.

Days of John Elliot are gone and now it is just all smart decisions regarding front and back loading to even the cap out. No surprise a Pies fan started this as their own cap issues are deplorable so no better way to shift the focus to someone else I suppose.

The danger is, as Collingwood found out a few years back, once you set expectation, it is hard to go backwards and it can leave yourself with contracts you can no longer sustain unless players are prepared to take pay cuts.

Liked your post, was well thought out and objective, factual , then let down by a snipe at my support.

Snipe that is factual in reality.

The Treloar loss and the current Grundy deal will haunt you blokes for ages and taking cap space so one good player doesn’t actually for you. Grundy will make it 2 players soon and god knows what you pay to another team to have him play against you.

If you start to throw rocks and criticize others than be prepared for someone to pick one up and throw it back.

What’s Hewitt on?

Once again. Like the media. You guys on here have no idea. SOS worked wonders with the front loading of most contracts. I doubt any of McGovern Cerra saad martin and Williams of on any more than 500k on average now after so many years on our list.

Snipe that is factual in reality.

The Treloar loss and the current Grundy deal will haunt you blokes for ages and taking cap space so one good player doesn’t actually for you. Grundy will make it 2 players soon and god knows what you pay to another team to have him play against you.

If you start to throw rocks and criticize others than be prepared for someone to pick one up and throw it back.
The Treloar payout is no where near what the media reported it to be.

I doubt many are getting above 700k bar Cripps and Curnow at the moment. Front loaded contracts and banking the 5% over a few years has helped with the willians Martin and McGovern contracts. These guys would be on bar minimum now. I reckon Curnows has been spread to the back end also.

Once again. Like the media. You guys on here have no idea. SOS worked wonders with the front loading of most contracts. I doubt any of McGovern Cerra saad martin and Williams of on any more than 500k on average now after so many years on our list.
McGovern and Martin will be well under 500k, it would be more around the 300 k mark now, the others mentioned would be 500k and above.

CARLTON SALARY CAP