Strategy CEO Thread - Jennifer Watt - Started Jan 2023

It's a forum, you'll get all sorts of opinions. Not worth getting too upset about it. It's not like this club has the cleanest record of dealing with members - you can't put them offside for a couple of decades then rely on trust me bro.

I honestly don't see anything too outrageous on here, broadly supportive. Some less so and some more, some valid questions (ie. there are zero guarantees that we can see that we won't end up playing the WA teams 4 times over there after next year).
The different opinions on here are part of what's kept me coming back for 20+ years.

It's just when a person's genuine achievement is reduced to an insulting dismissal with no acknowledgement of how much work it involved, or how good the outcome is, that I get disappointed.

It was said of the Chairperson when we secured Clarko and now it's being said of the CEO. It sucks.

your preferences are well noted.

but thats all they are
Its not. A players “top up” wages are included in the soft cap and as much you ****ers think she’s a worthy inclusion.. She simply isn’t. I would take anyone in afl systems on a full wage over an AFLW newb. Noobs!?!? we dont need noobs. We aint gonna get better with Noobs. Work experience kids.

Im sick of North being a charity organisation

Its not. A players “top up” wages are included in the soft cap and as much you ****ers think she’s a worthy inclusion.. She simply isn’t. I would take a camporeale on a full wage over an AFLW newb. Noobs!?!? we dont need noobs. We aint gonna get better with Noobs. Work experience kids.

Im sick of North being a charity organisation
uh huh, such a compelling case. 8 time all australian is a noob.

if you're gunna be an unhinged ****wit at least say the actual stupid shit you want to say and be done with it.

Nah reckon you were one of the flogs abusing Sonja on twitter this year though if I'm honest. Too many red flags.
My twitter account has been banned for half a decade. Wasnt me pal. I can read and view, just cant reply. Im on reddit but I dont abuse people online. Thats not my shtick.. I dont use social media to bully people. Not my thing.. unless someone comes after me, it aint something I aspire to do.

Opinions get me in trouble. Not abuse.

You might wanna come back with some evidence to suggest I am an online abuser.. sounds like you are having a go at me?

Nope. We are making the same mistakes over and over again. Why is selling home games to WA not making more than the Tassie Deal? Why is it “just covering the short fall”?

The sycophants will jump in to defend it, however, our club is broke as shit and should be working harder to ensure out longevity in the competition. Breaking even or making slim margins is a joke when the AFL team isn’t fully funded.
Always work smarter rather than harder.

Belittling someone's achievements with absolutely no knowledge of the work and strategy that went into them. When the results are obviously great for us.

It's just really shit and this forum is so much poorer for it.
It’s a handful of misogynists, that’s all. No matter how good the deal is, how well the back office is being run, they’ll criticise her cos she’s not one of footys old boys. Better to just ignore them.

My twitter account has been banned for half a decade. Wasnt me pal. I can read and view, just cant reply. Im on reddit but I dont abuse people online. Thats not my shtick.. I dont use social media to bully people. Not my thing.. unless someone comes after me, it aint something I aspire to do.

Opinions get me in trouble. Not abuse.

You might wanna come back with some evidence to suggest I am an online abuser.. sounds like you are having a go at me?
Your comments kinda give off a general misogynistic vibe with your ranting about the leaders and AFLW regularly.
But at least glad to hear you weren't one of them. I'll move along. You do you.

Your comments kinda give off a general misogynistic vibe with your ranting about the leaders and AFLW regularly.
But at least glad to hear you weren't one of them. I'll move along. You do you.
Like **** they do. People think that. I empower women on an EQUAL level.

If I give a woman player more shit than I give Luke and Jy then you have the right to come at me..

Im critical if Jen watt because we are literally no better off right now, infact we are worse off.

I have commented on Sonja because she is too soft and think if you cuddle everything it will be okay. Its absolute garbage.

The misogyny call is ridiculous. I believe we fund the woman’s program disproportionately at the detriment of our AFL team and that is not equal. But you do you pal.

I also read the funding pages and there is no breakdown of expenditure. So dont @ me with ya bullshit folks. North have 5 of the top 20 players in the comp. Thats not a freak accident and great recruitment

Like **** they do. People think that. I empower women on an EQUAL level.

If I give a woman player more shit than I give Luke and Jy then you have the right to come at me..

Im critical if Jen watt because we are literally no better off right now, infact we are worse off.

I have commented on Sonja because she is too soft and think if you cuddle everything it will be okay. Its absolute garbage.

The misogyny call is ridiculous. I believe we fund the woman’s program disproportionately at the detriment of our AFL team and that is not equal. But you do you pal.

I also read the funding pages and there is no breakdown of expenditure. So dont @ me with ya bullshit folks. North have 5 of the top 20 players in the comp. Thats not a freak accident and great recruitment
It's fine to criticise any club staff or players performances or decisions, but could do without the personal vitriol.

Correct.

Let's keep it civil, and more importantly, keep our criticism based in fact. The club as an organisation is not immune from criticism but it should be constructive and at the very least realistic.

You can disagree all you like, the proof is in the pudding and our AFL team is served up an eaten pudding year after year. We cant be a full professional organisation until our soft cap is fully funded and people will hate me for this and I dont give a ****. I do not want an AFLW player as a coach to cover their footballing wage and still be short in the soft cap. I want more than that.

Club is run by a bunch of clowns
$100,000 of Emma's coaching salary sits outside the soft cap and is co-funded with the AFL.
You suggesting we are paying her more that that?

$100,000 of Emma's coaching salary sits outside the soft cap and is co-funded with the AFL.
You suggesting we are paying her more that that?
Pigs ****ing arse. Most of our funding comes from the afl. “Equalisation distribution” you can say Collingwood pay for Clarkson if you want. Its how the funds are distributed. Our funds are not distributed to the aflw how other clubs do so. And yes, her top wages are hidden and paid for by collingwood in our soft cap.

Under the AFLW cap rules. You can have 2 x players paid outside the cap.

We have 3.

You can disagree all you like, the proof is in the pudding and our AFL team is served up an eaten pudding year after year. We cant be a full professional organisation until our soft cap is fully funded and people will hate me for this and I dont give a ****. I do not want an AFLW player as a coach to cover their footballing wage and still be short in the soft cap. I want more than that.

Club is run by a bunch of clowns
You keep repeating that lie about Emma Kearney and you keep getting slapped with receipts. It's such a monumentally stupid hill to die on. What part of AFL funded and entirely outside the cap is so hard for you to understand?

Pffft. Come on. The minute head office / WA started drip feeding to media the other clubs knew as much as anyone. If it's fairly reliably leaked on bigfooty then the cat is out of the bag.

Head office and WA are the ones with the power and money. They can do what they want.

We were extricating ourselves from a contract with an important stakeholder.

Frankly, anyone who thinks we could put out a holding statement is an amateur.

I note gokangas liked your post.

Come on Edward Bernays, tell us what our holding statement should have been.

Post the words.

You keep repeating that lie about Emma Kearney and you kept get slapped with receipts. It's such a monumentally stupid hill to die on. What part of AFL funded and entirely outside the cap is so hard for you to understand?
What receipts? Your receipts proved nothing. We dont pay anywhere near the ceiling of the soft cap. We however pay Kearney, probably more than what Eddie Ford is paid in total
Payments because she sits in on a footy meeting for work experience.

We have 3 top lone aflW players in the top 10 in the comp. Our girls, including jen and sonja have sacrificed our pissant budget to pump up the womens program.

If you want to bring receipts.. bring all teams spending on aflW programs and lets go.

Remember, we are the brokest joke club going round, so our expences to AFLW should be the lowest in the entire comp. It isnt. Not by a long shot..

Remember when I said if our AFLW girls dont win the flag it will be a complete balls up? I am acutely aware and informed on how much funding “disproportionality” to the rest of the AFLW comp we put in. Its too heavy on one side. Its not equal.

Get rid of Kearney and bring in a decent tactical coach. For the same value. Girls will still be competitive and probably win the flag anyway

What receipts? Your receipts proved nothing.
They prove everything. There is a program. A funded program. We are drawing on it to allow Emma Kearney to develop coaching skills. Other clubs are doing exactly the same ****ing thing using exactly the same program. And for each recipient, the wage is not included in the football department soft cap.

If you have a problem with women in football, take it to the incel forum. They won't laugh at you there.

Head office and WA are the ones with the power and money. They can do what they want.

We were extricating ourselves from a contract with an important stakeholder.

Frankly, anyone who thinks we could put out a holding statement is an amateur.

I note gokangas liked your post.

Come on Edward Bernays, tell us what our holding statement should have been.

Post the words.
Sadly the club was gazzumped by the media. Virtually no surprises left. Last people to talk about it at all - the NMFC. I get why they stayed silent - I just don't agree with the strategy. Does it matter? Probably not now but just not how I would have handled it. Does it make me right? In some people's eye, yes - in others, no. After 40 years in the media and PR I reckon I have some cred in communications. The good thing is the deal is a very good result for us - I have never questioned that. End of this discussion for me. We agree to disagree Mr Warlord. What we can agree on is this is a ripper deal, especially after 2025 when Tassie is gone.

All I know is that we have what looks like quite a decent arrangement to help replace the Tasmania money in the short term, and hopefully in that short term we can become a competitive team and start generating some increased revenue as we become attractive again. Watt and the rest of the team get a nice tick for this deal, but there's still a lot more wins they need to create for us.

It's also just nice to see AFL finding itself played at other lesser grounds across the country. I think gather round has a bit too much corporate wank attached to it, but the actual fixturing itself is grouse.

Strategy CEO Thread - Jennifer Watt - Started Jan 2023