Strategy Changes & Pre-match Discussion - QF vs. Melbourne, MCG, Thurs 07/09, 7:20pm

Melksham looks like he'll miss. McDonald 5 goals in the VFL, Grundy 33 touches and 3 goals.

Without a bye I think they'd bring Grundy in as Gawn's form has dropped off the last few weeks. With the bye maybe it's McDonald, but he's missed a lot of footy. If those are their two options then Grundy would be a chance.
Grundy has already packed his bags ...

They were inaccurate but I seem to recall a lot of their shots being from 40+ out. Could be wrong, though!
yes .. and this was important, as we at least forced them to take less easy shots. Coaches have prolly watched that game 20 times and have learned, hope the players have listened .. !

A lot of people saying Howe goes forward to take May but not sure how this will eventuate. Dees love the May- Mihocek match up…. We may need Checkers to play a bit of a decoy role and take May away from certain areas of ground

If we select Ginni , Dees will want Lever on him to play off and intercept

McStay didn't play last time we met Melbourne. Should go a long way to keeping them both accountable. Especially if Cox plays.

I reckon the Dees bring Grundy in, a frightening proposition…he had 11 clearances and three goals today. Ben Brown is touch and go and I reckon they’ll want to keep Moore accountable so will play the very dangerous Gawn forward/ruck. Which means Grundy rucks.

Would be dangerous to then play with one Ruck. There will be a lot of ruck contests against Melbourne. It will be a gruelling bout.

I’d like Maynard to tear Fritsch a new one.
or , just accidentally stamp on his foot ... :p

Out: daicos, Johnson, reef, Harrison, frampton, influenza

In: Degoey, ginni, Howe, mcstay, sidey

That’s some decent improvements in our side on last time.

Dees basically get Oliver back.
Daicos a big out - but otherwise big ins!
We have also got the good recent record against Melbourne. I usually try not to get my hopes up, but I am quite optimistic about this one.

That’s some decent improvements in our side on last time. Much better finals players.

I like what you did there, deliberately leaving out Jamie Elliot so the dees still think they’re a chance

McStay's defensive game on Lever for the brissie bears last year was literally the reason Melbourne got bundled out of finals. He absolutely embarrassed him.

You'd just love to see it again...
Oh that's interesting - I'll need to watch that game again

Another interesting point with our previous matchup with the Demons, we played WCE at Optus. It was a Saturday twilight game.

We could have been a bit fatigued. Some players may not have even returned that Saturday.

Couple of sore boys in that game that fronted up again knowing we had the bye the week after.

We'll win this QF.

Another interesting point with our previous matchup with the Demons, we played WCE at Optus. It was a Saturday twilight game.

We could have been a bit fatigued. Some players may not have even returned that Saturday.
yes good point - we were certainly up against it in that KB clash.

Premiership Window - final 8 only.jpg

No premier has been outside the top 6 defensive sides. That means Port, Syd and GWS would be bucking the trend to do it.
St Kilda are #1 defensive, but 15th offensive, so they're too far from the window.

We're left with Carlton from outside top 4, and then Collingwood, Brisbane and Melbourne. Would be fair to say, the premier will more than likely come from these three.

Melbourne and Collingwood are against one another as winning this first week is huge for either side.
Win, and you'll play one of St Kilda, GWS or Port
Lose, and you'll play Carlton or Sydney in a Semi and then Brisbane at the Gabba (or Port at AO if they upset Brisbane week one).

The loser of our game, definitely has a much harder run to the GF than the loser of Brisbane / Port.
The winner of our game, will have the easier run to the GF, with the lesser sides being options in the Prelim.

This game is huge!

A lot of people saying Howe goes forward to take May but not sure how this will eventuate. Dees love the May- Mihocek match up…. We may need Checkers to play a bit of a decoy role and take May away from certain areas of ground

If we select Ginni , Dees will want Lever on him to play off and intercept

So Billy Elliott kicks ten, you say?

That’s some decent improvements in our side on last time. Much better finals players.

And we actually kicked more goals than Melbourne on King’s Birthday!

McDonald hasn't played in a long time. Gawn's form has been dropping and suggests he needs help, so I can see Grundy playing. Or maybe they rely on the week off helping Gawn to regenerate.

It was a 10-day break, not sure we can complain about the previous week being a factor.

I think this is something Mihocek struggles with. He gets outmarked more than you would like, certainly did in the last game. So isn't a good option to play on intercepting defenders. McStay is better at this and should probably be the May matchup. Still then have the problem of Lever on Mihocek.

McDonald hasn't played in a long time. Gawn's form has been dropping and suggests he needs help, so I can see Grundy playing. Or maybe they rely on the week off helping Gawn to regenerate.
They’ll do what they think will make Collingwood most uncomfortable. Grundy if he plays will need to spend plenty of time forward and that’s an easy matchup for us. McDonald will challenge us in a different way even if short of a gallop because he’s got great dukes and holds his position inside 30 well.

Murphy’s responsible for Grundy and I’m confident with that one. McDonald in their mix is Moore’s responsibility because of his positioning which isn’t favourable for us. I’m hoping for Grundy and anticipating McDonald.

I think this is something Mihocek struggles with. He gets outmarked more than you would like, certainly did in the last game. So isn't a good option to play on intercepting defenders.
It doesn’t help when he’s the lone banana and we are predictable.

Last game we had AJ and Reef contribute 3 marks and 10 possessions combined.

This time we’ll have McStay and Elliott.

And we’ll have De Goey, Sidebottom and a healthier J Daicos this time to put it on their ****.