Preview Changes/Preview – Round 2 vs. Hawthorn

Dropping Sparrow seems like the right call to me, he just doesn't really have a role in the team at the moment. I'd even look at playing Sparrow as the sub and Woewodin in that half-forward role.
Yeah Billings isn't some superstar but just with work rate he got 15 marks and 23 disposals and a snag. Also used it well.
Woewodin or tholstrup as another runner in the forward half makes us look more dangerous.

Yeah Billings isn't some superstar but just with work rate he got 15 marks and 23 disposals and a snag. Also used it well.
Woewodin or tholstrup as another runner in the forward half makes us look more dangerous.
Reckon what we get out of ANB every week is about what you expect from that role. I said it in the game thread but we should have traded Sparrow to Adelaide last year and used whatever we got back to get Liam Henry.

ANB is an actual workhorse as well.
Plus his jumper grab celebration is worth twice as much as a Sparrow celebration

proud this is me GIF by Melbournefc

Plus his jumper grab celebration is worth twice as much as a Sparrow celebration

I ❤️ this celebration. Might be my favourite celebration. Though I enjoy the Fritta snap for goal where he wheels around in an arc pointing at the sky. Or Max with the two arms out saying I rule. Or even crazy goal Lever.

The only one that's more iconic because of the moment is the Oliver sky point ☝️ in the bang bang bang ending because that goal was the exact moment the dogs broke.

Melbourne Football Club Sport GIF by Melbournefc

In general though yep nothing better than an AnB celebration

Melbourne Football Club Demons GIF by Melbournefc

ANB peacock celebration in front of the Tigers supporters my fav

Agree Sparrow & or Lever should be on the chopping block but no way it happens. I'm trying to think of a single time Goodwin has made a statement at selection and dropped a name outside ageing players Hibbo, Jones, Lewis, Bernie etc.

i was only able to listen to the game on the radio yesterday, still havent got around to watching the replay

was lever actually that bad to warrant dropping? or is it combined with his game against sydney?
He's our second key tall but he isn't a good 1-1 on defender often giving away frees, which means he needs to be an interceptor and he isn't doing that anymore

i was only able to listen to the game on the radio yesterday, still havent got around to watching the replay

was lever actually that bad to warrant dropping? or is it combined with his game against sydney?
Sydney was his worst game I can remember but I didn’t think he was terrible yesterday - dogs have some pretty impressive tall timber in their forward half so exactly like Topkent said, Lever was forced to play man defender at times, whereas his best footy has been as a loose man or dropping off to intercept or spoil.

I don’t think there’s a problem there yet, but I certainly hope he can find more of that intercept game he was so good at.

May and TMac were both excellent yesterday I thought, which possibly makes Levers output feel a little less perhaps?

You wanted to trade Oliver and Sparrow to the crows? And then we lose Petty the following year to the crows. What exactly are we getting back from the crows to make this all happen?

Absolutely nothing mate. Giving them away for free to be really nice guys

I take the Paul Roos view that every player is tradable for the right price. Last year when the club publicly said he was on the trade table I engaged in the conversation of what that deal would need to look like, but I'm not sure I ever said we must trade Oliver in a post that wasn't a pisstake.

Other than that I'm not really sure what the point in this post is? Obviously I'm not arguing we should have traded Sparrow, Petty and Oliver to the Crows to get Liam Henry.

If we give Oliver, Petty and Sparrow to the Crows we'd would get back a massive haul in the sense of satisfaction knowing we helped them succeed. 🤗
Best we pay a portion of their salaries too.

This is a joke Danster, please don't tag me in 6 months time saying I advocated for paying the salaries of three of our traded players.

I think we should have traded Oliver for Mcadam, they both wanted out so that's fair.
Petty for Matt Crouch, we really struggle to win clearances
Sparrow for a signed Tony Modra poster

Market value.

I take the Paul Roos view that every player is tradable for the right price. Last year when the club publicly said he was on the trade table I engaged in the conversation of what that deal would need to look like
Exactly
If you have an asset and someone offers you above the value of that asset you'd be dumb not to atleast talk about it. Doesn't matter how valuable it is