Preview Changes: R3 v Port Adelaide, Saturday April 1, 7.00pm ACDT at Adelaide Oval

When will the Crows win next?

• R3 vs Port Adelaide

• R4 vs Fremantle (H)

• R5 vs Carlton (H)

• R6 vs Hawthorn (A, Tasmania)

• R7 vs Collingwood (H)

• R8 vs Geelong (A, Kardina)

• R9 vs St Kilda (H)

• R10 vs Western Bulldogs (A, Ballarat)

• R11 vs Brisbane (H)

• R12 vs Gold Coast (A, NT)

• R13 vs West Coast (H)

• R15 vs Collingwood (A, MCG)

• R16 vs North Melbourne (H)

• R17 vs Essendon (A, Marvel)

• R18 vs GWS (H)

• R19 vs Melbourne (A, MCG)

• R20 vs Port Adelaide

• R21 vs Gold Coast (H)

• R22 vs Brisbane (A, Gabba)

• R23 vs Sydney (H)

• R24 vs West Coast (A, Perth)

• Winless Season

Results are only viewable after voting.

Butts one is interesting. He seemed to really struggle in the heat round 1. Cramped as bad as anyone in the team. Might have been a week off to freshen up physically and mentally given his lack of form
Still stupid for us to go in with 1 KPD

Wasn’t that Murray?

It's Big Footy Speak to criticise O'Brien every time he pulls on the boots. He had a good game against the Tigers and was okay against GWS.
Anyone notice the superb tap to Rankine for a goal last weekend?
He is way ahead of any other ruckman at the club.

On SM-A115F using BigFooty.com mobile app
If it’s the one I’m thinking of it was the most awkward tap you’ll ever see (very apt for Obrien).
I commented on it at the time in the game day thread.
The worst goal assist you’ll ever see from Rob

Seems like a logical change, plays a similar type of game
Should have come in as McAdam replacement last week after kicking 4 goals.

Surely comes in this week with both McAdam & Fogarty missing.

Time to see what Keane has got to offer
Another who should have come in last week for Butts last week if we were concerned about his shoulder.

Lashing out no expense spared good to see

footy food is, by nature, not expensive. We've got old mate's sister and family coming down to our penola house for easter and we've ordered crayfish pies from the ok pie shop. When bossy was doing our online order this arvo, she did mention that it was a shame that the pies weren't available pre-showdown because we had over-ordered somewhat for easter. I did let her know that if we had crayfish pies at a showdown it would need to be paired with a lovely chardonnay and not a beam and cola can. She's not real port adelaide because that's right up her alley. She only supports them because it enhances her pleasure at my pain when we lose against them in a game that matters.

She won't get any such enjoyment this Saturday night.

footy food is, by nature, not expensive. We've got old mate's sister and family coming down to our penola house for easter and we've ordered crayfish pies from the ok pie shop. When bossy was doing our online order this arvo, she did mention that it was a shame that the pies weren't available pre-showdown because we had over-ordered somewhat for easter. I did let her know that if we had crayfish pies at a showdown it would need to be paired with a lovely chardonnay and not a beam and cola can. She's not real port adelaide because that's right up her alley. She only supports them because it enhances her pleasure at my pain when we lose against them in a game that matters.

She won't get any such enjoyment this Saturday night.
Geez The Ok Pie Shop still going

Nankervis played well too. Both ruckman were pretty influential at times.

In the ruck contests O'Brien and Nankervis had against each other, hit outs to advantage were 12-4 in Nank's favour.

Was 7-3 in Flynn's favour in round 1.

It's possible the mids are in a more attacking position expecting ROB to be a bit more competitive so get caught out. Either way you look at it, ROB needs to close the gap there and not just beat up on the 2nd string ruckmen.

On CPH1903 using BigFooty.com mobile app

it's at the second centre square bounce the one directly after fog slams through the first goal. my vid timing might be out by the looks.

But Picket gets sucked into the contest, the ball gets released to Sloane with the mids streaming into attack, Sloane immediately turns around and starts running towards Richmonds goal and gives it back to Hinge. In 1 sec Sloane has manged to take a Crows midfield bursting into attack and bring every richmond mid who was offside back on side when he could have given it to any of our mids who could have had a free go at hitting a target deep in the forward line. It was about as dumb as football gets in my opinion.
I've had two more looks, but I don't think Sloane did as badly as you said.
Why did Sloane go L and not to his right? I reckon he got the call from the Crows player to his left (Smith?), but he fell over, so Sloane handed off to Hinge further back.
It's the Hinge kick that is the real disaster --- instead of kicking mid-wing to his right where the Crows mids are, the kick (miskick?) goes left and to the centre where it's picked off by a happy, unmarked Richmond player.

Yeah, I had another look. It's definitely Smith calling for the ball on Sloane's L, but he gets nudged (edit) out of it and falls over. If anything, shoulda been a free to Smith for in the back.
The only Crow anywhere near where Hinge kicked the ball was O'Brien, with 3 Richmond players around him.
At half-speed you can see the ball land on the outside left of Hinge's boot.
Please have another look?

I have a bad feeling about this game. Port will be breathing fire after getting smashed. If they play anywhere near the level they played against the Lions this will be 10 goals+
I think that's exactly why Nicks has got to pull some selection and positioning changes that will surprise and maybe confuse Port at least for the first 10 minutes or so. They'll stop breathing fire quick-smart if the Crows set-up is very different from what they've expected or planned for, eg
Unleash Keane with a license to annoy and harass,
Start Laird @ HB,
Dawson on a wing, or even as mid at the first centre bounce :eekv1:.
Sloane @ HF,
Walker to take first ruck with RoB loose on the defensive side,
or tell RoB to punch the ball 30m forward,
hell, anything different, to mix it up.

But ... Nicks. :sadv1:

I think that's exactly why Nicks has got to pull some selection and positioning changes that will surprise and maybe confuse Port at least for the first 10 minutes or so. They'll stop breathing fire quick-smart if the Crows set-up is very different from what they've expected or planned for, eg
Unleash Keane with a license to annoy and harass,
Start Laird @ HB,
Dawson on a wing, or even as mid at the first centre bounce :eekv1:.
Sloane @ HF,
Walker to take first ruck with RoB loose on the defensive side,
or tell RoB to punch the ball 30m forward,
hell, anything different, to mix it up.

But ... Nicks. :sadv1:
We all know he won’t do anything, no matter how much we cry on here for him to do so. He’s a dead man walking as far as I’m concerned, only a matter of time until he’s shown the door.

1) We've got old mate's sister and family coming down to our penola house for easter and we've ordered crayfish pies from the ok pie shop.

2) She only supports them because it enhances her pleasure at my pain when we lose against them in a game that matters.

3) She won't get any such enjoyment this Saturday night.
1) Crayfish pies sound delicious. How much are they?

2) Spousal schadenfreude, the worst kind.

3) Jeez, I hope so!

We all know he won’t do anything, no matter how much we cry on here for him to do so. He’s a dead man walking as far as I’m concerned, only a matter of time until he’s shown the door.
I'm waiting for a statement from the Club saying that Nicks has the full support of the Admin/Board.

He'll be gone within a month of that.

I'm waiting for a statement from the Club saying that Nicks has the full support of the Admin/Board.

Yep full support generally means get your applications in. I think for a decent prospective coach they have something to work with. We just need to bring in the missing links through trade and the bounce will come quick.

By Tuesday next week if we lose:

"The Adelaide Football Club executive and board wishes to publicly state that we fully endorse and support Matthew as Senior Coach of the club.

Matthew has been an outstanding asset to the club and provided a clear direction and cultural shift which the playing group have fully bought into since his appointment.

The football club has incredible people working tirelessly to advance the club back into sustained success as we know our fans want to see. Matthew is a key pillar to this and will be fully supported to continue executign his startegic football plan to delive rthis.

We understand fans want to see development and growth and a pathway to success which we believe is coming very soon.

The AFC Executive"

:drunk:

1) I think for a decent prospective coach they have something to work with.2) We just need to bring in the missing links through trade and the bounce will come quick.
1) Problem: who's the next Coach going to be? Brett Cummings posted that we'd missed out on McRae :sadv1: and the Crows will need an experienced Coach to become serious Flag contenders. Someone else suggested Simpson from WA. Adam Yze?
2) the Crows have missed the bus on this too. The club got rid of Keath and AFC-ed McAsey into disenchanted retirement, creating the KPD problem they now have (Keane might be the answer but we don't know yet). We need at least one top-line mid as well, all of whom are happy elsewhere. VB seems to be clueless with our current mids.
To do what you've suggested (I agree, btw) means a change of Recruiting staff and a Head Coach with some mongrel, imagination and flair which are all non-Nicks traits.

Fwiw, I don't have any kind of vendetta against Nicks, but the strange selections and player positioning have continued this year. Players who are sharp, inspired and on their game don't kick as badly as ours, in field play and goalkicking.
Are they a happy group? It seems so, well, at least as happy as such a losing team can be. Do they look like rising up out of the Bottom-6? Not on the basis of the first 2 rounds.
McAdam's suspension and Fog's knee --- beyond Nicks' control --- have really hurt our chance of beating PA this week. A 0-3 start might not be sackable, but if the Crows are, say, 2-9 or worse after 11 rounds, the "full support" statement will be coming.

Preview Changes: R3 v Port Adelaide, Saturday April 1, 7.00pm ACDT at Adelaide Oval