Preview Changes v Carlton (Round 11)

The Lion should have been more like this one:

SimbaPainting2.jpg

And not the cartoon monster currently on it.

The Lion should have been more like this one:

SimbaPainting2.jpg

And not the cartoon monster currently on it.

I was wondering how to make a similar joke, but it went to quickly into casually racist territory...

I guess it just shows how much better a person I am compared to you ;)

Out: Jordan Lisle, Mitch Golby, Jackson Paine
In: Joel Patfull, Tom Rockliff, Stephen Martin (or goose)

FB Darcy Gardiner, Justin Clarke, Joel Patfull
HB Pearce Hanley, Jed Adcock, Sam Mayes
C Marco Paparone, Jack Redden, Tom Rockliff
HF Michael Close, Stephen Martin, Lewis Taylor
FF Josh Green, Daniel Merrett, Jonathon Brown
R Trent West, James Aish, Ryan Lester
Bench: Dayne Zorko, Claye Beams, Andrew Raines
Sub: Tom Cutler

No time for Jordan Lisle and Mitch Golby, premature and need to stay in the reserves until they deserve to come back. Jackson Paine was borderline with Michael Close, wasn't too bad playing down back but Michael Close kicked goals, which is a rarity. Would really love Goose McGuire back in, but i feel Gardiner and Clarke didn't do terribly and Leppa seems like he wants to persist with them. Leppa's also got a penchant for bringing in players early from recovery so Stephen Martin is a chance, which fits in with the Ruck combo he initially wanted for west and leuey. If not than the list can shuffle a bit and put Goose down back (again, tall defence. No one would be surprised). Daniel Merrett Needs to stay up forward, which minimizes his disposal inefficiency and you can tell does wonders for Brown's game. It's not ideal that Sam Mayes plays back, but the North game summed up why: Doesn't matter if you've got a dangerous option inside 50 if you can't even get the ball out of your own.

Forgot
Robertson also out. Made a real impact in that last quarter. But for his development, he needs to learn how to run out 4 quarters.

The curious thing about preparing for Carlton is that their small forwards are so much more dangerous than their tall forwards.

They'll probably have Waite back by Saturday week so that shifts the balance a bit but I'd say we'll need to be careful about not going too tall in the backline.

I imagine Clarke will go to Waite after Patfull had a miserable game on him last year. Patfull may even get Menzel or Robinson. Maguire seems like a good matchup for for Rowe or Casboult, and I reckon Gardiner could probably stand Henderson, although it's a bit risky. I don't reckon we'd need Lisle's aerial cover against the Blues.

It seems like a lot of the Carlton midfielders are beginning to find some form, which is unfortunate for us.

Carlton coming off a 6 day break for this game, to our 14 days, one would think that is going to be a huge factor in our favour. Having said that, young teams like ours can struggle after the bye. I'm eerily confident about this game.

In: Jessie O'Brien!

I actually don't mind the indigenous jumper. Wouldn't have been easy to work out a design and it's a bit busy but it's fine for a one off. Less promising is the lack of representation on the field.

Still reckon we can take it up to the Blues if we have a few blokes back, hoping Adelaide brings either the form vs Melbourne (to give Carlton a cruisy win and not prepare them) or Collingwood (to batter them and have them down on confidence) this weekend ;)

Forgot
Robertson also out. Made a real impact in that last quarter. But for his development, he needs to learn how to run out 4 quarters.

Wasn't he the sub? Only came on late in third quarter, pretty hard to run out 4 quarters. I don't think he would've played if Rocky wasn't ill, not because of form, but because he would be sore.

I've been impressed with his season. Like his want for the contested ball. I'd expect him to play in the Carlton game as I think he'll really benefit from the bye. Wouldn't surprise me if he's our third rising star nomination.

The one feature I am looking to in this match is both the players and fans response to Docherty.

He doesn't look the type that would handle the pressure of being physically and verbally targeted well. Hope we give him heaps.

The one feature I am looking to in this match is both the players and fans response to Docherty.

He doesn't look the type that would handle the pressure of being physically and verbally targeted well. Hope we give him heaps.

Given his circumstances I hope we don't.

Most of the crowd probably won't know about his dad, I guess.

Given his circumstances I hope we don't.

Most of the crowd probably won't know about his dad, I guess.

IMO, going hard on him has nothing to do with whatever his personal issues are.

He bailed out on our club when we needed him.

Considering how many of us in this world, be it business professionals or other types of sporting professionals leave the clutches of family and move overseas or interstate to pursue our dreams and are faced with issues equally as big or bigger than Sam's, simply bailing out and packing up for home is the easy way out and something I just will never agree with. Its not as if he couldn't get to Melbourne on a very regular basis or communicate with whomever at any time.

It'd be really great if we had an indigenous cat in our team to take the field against Carlton. Shame about Ash's old-man calf.

Interesting that 2 of the most recent inductees into our Hall of Fame are indigenous and yet, potentially, we could have not a single indigenous player on our list in 2015.

A few years ago, a few people started jumping to conclusions following the departure of guys like Corrie, Hooper etc. It dropped our indigenous representation down to 2/3 (Sheldon, McGrath and then Clarke), now 1 and possibly soon zero.

The Bears and then the Lions had a pretty good record with indigenous players - obviously DJ and CJ are the most obvious examples. While I understand indigenous representation in the senior game is dropping overall, it is a little concerning that we haven't drafted a single indigenous player (I think) since 2006 (a year where I believe we drafted 3 - Proud, Corrie, Sheldon).

That is 7 years of drafting opportunities - probably at least 50 times we've called a player's name out in a draft of some description - and none (correct me if I'm wrong) have been indigenous. I'm not suggesting that we've actively avoided indigenous players - I can't remember us passing over a really highly regarded indigenous player that most assumed we would take. But I think we're now going from "statistical quirk" to "hmmm - what is going on here?" territory.

IMO, going hard on him has nothing to do with whatever his personal issues are.

He bailed out on our club when we needed him.

Considering how many of us in this world, be it business professionals or other types of sporting professionals leave the clutches of family and move overseas or interstate to pursue our dreams and are faced with issues equally as big or bigger than Sam's, simply bailing out and packing up for home is the easy way out and something I just will never agree with. Its not as if he couldn't get to Melbourne on a very regular basis or communicate with whomever at any time.

What a load of rubbish.

Your opinion Tom.

Not that you care, clearly evidenced by the tone of that post, but as an example, one of my best mates, a tax lawyer at a top-tier national firm in Perth, his dad fought cancer for nearly two years, only to succumb a few months ago. Throughout that entire process, he had ample opportunity to transfer to the Melbourne office or considering his skills, could have moved to a competing firm, also in Melbourne.

But no, he stuck it out, despite how much it tore him apart of not being there because of the opportunity that was being afforded to him working with prominent clients and a leading Partner was too good an opportunity to pass up. Would he have got back to Melbourne as regularly as Sam; in short no. Certainly doesn't mean he loved his Dad less, but it is one small example that you can tough it out despite whatever adversity one is going through.

I guess I'm just heartless though.

But no, he stuck it out, despite how much it tore him apart of not being there because of the opportunity that was being afforded to him working with prominent clients and a leading Partner was too good an opportunity to pass up. Would he have got back to Melbourne as regularly as Sam; in short no. Certainly doesn't mean he loved his Dad less, but it is one small example that you can tough it out despite whatever adversity one is going through.

Yes, but would your mate have had the same desire to stay if his job was shit, that partner he loved working for had just been sacked, the firm was under-resourced in the areas of training and development and he felt he really wasn't getting a go?

All the same, booing recently departed players is part of footy. I'd be surprised if Docherty expected something different.

Interesting that 2 of the most recent inductees into our Hall of Fame are indigenous and yet, potentially, we could have not a single indigenous player on our list in 2015.

A few years ago, a few people started jumping to conclusions following the departure of guys like Corrie, Hooper etc. It dropped our indigenous representation down to 2/3 (Sheldon, McGrath and then Clarke), now 1 and possibly soon zero.

The Bears and then the Lions had a pretty good record with indigenous players - obviously DJ and CJ are the most obvious examples. While I understand indigenous representation in the senior game is dropping overall, it is a little concerning that we haven't drafted a single indigenous player (I think) since 2006 (a year where I believe we drafted 3 - Proud, Corrie, Sheldon).

That is 7 years of drafting opportunities - probably at least 50 times we've called a player's name out in a draft of some description - and none (correct me if I'm wrong) have been indigenous. I'm not suggesting that we've actively avoided indigenous players - I can't remember us passing over a really highly regarded indigenous player that most assumed we would take. But I think we're now going from "statistical quirk" to "hmmm - what is going on here?" territory.

Interesting stats in relation to indigenous footballers and our recent push to get higher picks in the draft:

2013: 2 taken before we were done in the draft (Impey, Karpany)
2012: 0 taken before we were done in the draft
2011: 1 taken before we were done in the draft (Hill)
2010: 1 taken before we were done in the draft, but also taken before we started in the draft (Bennell)

Actual numbers may be off a bit because of a lack of knowledge on exactly who is indigenous, but they should be roughly correct. Obviously this disregards the rookie draft.

Your opinion Tom.

Not that you care, clearly evidenced by the tone of that post, but as an example, one of my best mates, a tax lawyer at a top-tier national firm in Perth, his dad fought cancer for nearly two years, only to succumb a few months ago. Throughout that entire process, he had ample opportunity to transfer to the Melbourne office or considering his skills, could have moved to a competing firm, also in Melbourne.

I'm not passing any judgement on your tax lawyer friend. You are passing judgement on Docherty.

All the same, booing recently departed players is part of footy. I'd be surprised if Docherty expected something different.

I'll be booing him every time he touches the ball ... but that's got nothing to do with his personal life.

He's wearing a different shirt now.

He's a guy who's been through a hell of a lot over the past few months, and his departure from our club is inextricably linked to those issues.

Sometimes booing players is part of the pantomime of footy. And like I said most people won't know his story.

But I'd expect those who do to show some sensitivity.

We can rationalise it by saying we don't care about his personal life, or it's what's expected, or because we knew a lawyer once who did something different (ugh), but ultimately it's about whether to be decent or not. I care a great deal about this football club but I care about that more.