Changes V Richmond

we dont hand out Cats AFL jerseys, they have to be earned

we go with our strongest team and bury the Tigers

we've been too soft over the last few years and we need to learn how to win at all costs imo

Atta girl! You tell them. Sexism is rampant - rest assured, you probably know more about footy than half the posters on BF - and yes, we are all on the same side. You don't have to justify having an opinion. I've aired my support for sticking with Shannon Byrnes for the time being - and we have a winning team, for God's sake - but it draws blood with some who don't just disagree - they go ballistic.

So i've noticed!

With finals looming large this is a good time for fringe players like Byrnes, Hunt, King, & DJ to get some game time in the seniors to get their form up just in case we have injuries we need to cover later. It also allows for some players with niggles to get a rest if it is required. This is what I see is happening and I think the club is acting pretty smart in this regard.

But by round 20 I would like the finals team to be playing together to allow them to gel and prepare for our flag tilt. I am hoping Rooke will be back by then as well.

So arguing over wether Byrnes or Varcoe or King should play is pointless at the moment. They will be played because it is an important part of our preperation and player management.

With finals looming large this is a good time for fringe players like Byrnes, Hunt, King, & DJ to get some game time in the seniors to get their form up just in case we have injuries we need to cover later. It also allows for some players with niggles to get a rest if it is required. This is what I see is happening and I think the club is acting pretty smart in this regard.

But by round 20 I would like the finals team to be playing together to allow them to gel and prepare for our flag tilt. I am hoping Rooke will be back by then as well.

So arguing over wether Byrnes or Varcoe or King should play is pointless at the moment. They will be played because it is an important part of our preperation and player management.
Here, here !! (or hear, hear as some people write!)

What because I'm a girl I must have 0 actual football knowledge?
Give me a break.
Last time i checked we all supported the same team, have a go at a collingwood supporter or something next time.
I wasn't attacking anyone for their opinion, i just think at the moment Byrnes has got more to offer than Varcoe.

Should I call you a stupid Varcoe groupie because you think the opposite? I think not.
If I have a pic of chapman as my avatar and I say good things about him am I a chappy groupie?

I think it's pretty sad to have a go at people who support the same team as you.. we're all on the same side here.
No, i would say the same if it was a guy with a Shannon Byrnes avatar (re: Renegade + Hunt)

It was slightly tongue in cheek, and what you said is true that Byrnes is just as fast, but he is not in the same league as Varcoe defensively. Varcoe has been awesome, his pressure has turned the ball over numerous times.

Byrnes may get more of the pill, but he wastes it 90% of the time, his goal kicking is pathetic and he just doesn't look like he's up to the AFL standard. Byrnes needs to work on his disposal, goal kicking, and football skills in general.

Varcoe is different, Varcoe is quick, solid, effective, accurate, smart. He has the makings of a top quality small forward, and he's only played a handful of games.

Varcoe may have been missing in the past few weeks but he was barely on the field against Collingwood after he had just recovered from the flu (Ablett wasn't his best either). Half of our problem against Collingwood was they were able to move it out of defence with so much ease. Varcoe just wasn't match fit.

He deserved to be rested, but does Byrnes deserve a spot ahead of him when they are both 100%? No. Has Byrnes been better than him this season? No.

Varcoe's pressure has really stopped teams in their tracks (stevie j, stokes, all of them) and he has shown tonnes of quality. Byrnes has been with us a little while now, hasn't played heaps of games, and has shown small glimmers of hope but will then turn the ball over straight away. Varcoe has already shown us what he can do, and his value to our team (when 100%) is already greater than Byrnes's.

We might be winning but there is always room for improvement (prismall32)

This has nothing to do with you being a girl, but a general assessment about people not being able to see the bad side of their favourite players (i sure as hell know i am way too lenient on Stevie J)

Don't take everything i say so seriously, nor anyone, and give a little of your own back.

what you said is true that Byrnes is just as fast, but he is not in the same league as Varcoe defensively. Varcoe has been awesome, his pressure has turned the ball over numerous times.

This part of Varcoe's game dropped off in the games leading up to him being 'rested' in the reserves. Varcoe is a player of the future, no doubt, but you can justify Byrnes being picked at the moment if Varcoe can't keep the intensity up consistently in the seniors. If he can though, he is superior and he should be picked over Byrnes.

Byrnes has done a better job than Varcoe.
In the last few games before he finally got omitted Varcoe didn't do anything of significance, he may aswell have not been out there. His influence was pretty much non-existant.
Byrnes is just as fast and lays effective tackles.
I think he deserves a spot over Varcoe at the moment.

Totally agree with everything you've written.

I personally would rather Byrnes not be in the side, and from what I've seen this year I think Varcoe in time will become a better player. But right now he isn't. He doesn't get the ball enough. His defensive pressure is terrific but in case anyone has noticed Byrnes has done that job quite adequately the last 2 games, plus he got far more of the footy.

If Chapman is fit (which I expect), then most likely Byrnes will get dropped anyway. But until Varcoe can start picking up more possessions he's not in our best 22. Not yet.

That's just not true.
If it was he wouldn't get a game...

No that is an exaggeration. It is actually 36% of the time he is ineffective and misses in front of goal 66% of the time. Possibly the worst in the league.

Compared to Varcoe having an ineffective kick 14% of the time and missing in front of goal 26% of the time. Nearly in the elite category of the league.

No that is an exaggeration. It is actually 36% of the time he is ineffective and misses in front of goal 66% of the time. Possibly the worst in the league.

Compared to Varcoe having an ineffective kick 14% of the time and missing in front of goal 36% of the time. Nearly in the elite category of the league.

DanA = stats guru :thumbsu:

Compared to Varcoe having an ineffective kick 14% of the time and missing in front of goal 36% of the time. Nearly in the elite category of the league.

Can be misleading though stats, guess that when you get the pill as seldom as Trav does, plus he probably handballs more then he kicks, he should have a low turnover rate by foot, plus off the top of my head I'd guess the vast majority of his shots on goal have been from 25 meters or closer, so again his conversion rate should be high.

Personally think that with a full list to choose from neither Byrnes or Varcoe would get a game.
In the long term Varcoe will highly likely turn out the better player, we've seen enough of Shannon to know his limitations and it's doubtful he'll improve to any great degree with his disposal or decision making after being in the system as long as he has, but as catsgirl17 correctly states ......... "I think he deserves a spot over Varcoe at the moment."......... and as she also points out we were virtually playing one man short in the last couple of games Varcoe participated in.

Can be misleading though stats, guess that when you get the pill as seldom as Trav does, plus he probably handballs more then he kicks, he should have a low turnover rate by foot, plus off the top of my head I'd guess the vast majority of his shots on goal have been from 25 meters or closer, so again his conversion rate should be high.

Personally think that with a full list to choose from neither Byrnes or Varcoe would get a game.
In the long term Varcoe will highly likely turn out the better player, we've seen enough of Shannon to know his limitations and it's doubtful he'll improve to any great degree with his disposal or decision making after being in the system as long as he has, but as catsgirl17 correctly states ......... "I think he deserves a spot over Varcoe at the moment."......... and as she also points out we were virtually playing one man short in the last couple of games Varcoe participated in.

Well yeah Varcoe can only kick 35 meters so most would be from less than 25. Almost all of Byrnes shots are inside 40 meters as well though.

Fair to say quite a few of Varcoe's have been off the ground and snap shots from less than 20 meters out.

Chapman won't play this week. King will come in.... probably for Blake for some much needed match fitness. Don't think Varcoe will come in. Still advocating for the inclusion of Prismall but it seems he is still not quite in the vicinity of selection

IN: KING
OUT: BLAKE

All that is needed, we can't go all soft by resting some of our better players unless they have fitness issues such as Chapman.

The one little remaining brain cell of yours must be still working.:rolleyes:
By the way,you should go back to your own board apparently there is a mass suicide being planned. Don't miss it.

you should read the buffalo theory. interesting stuff. im sure youve got the wrong board. we know where we are and how long till we're back up there with the rest of the comp.

Shit, everybody knows where you are!
By the way,how long will it take Coburg to catch up to the rest of the comp?

Funny girl arnt ya! Coburg will flog ur nancy reserves boys and by the time that is done i'll be drunk so if we are losing in the big one i'll just annoy every one else. nah actually i'll just keep cheering for my team. thats what us tigers do. we stick with our team through the bad times. we dont jump on when things start goin our way like the cats supporters do

oooooooooooohhhh, you called sarah.13 a girl!! Them's fightin' words newbie.
Sick 'em Rex! :D

Funny girl arnt ya! Coburg will flog ur nancy reserves boys and by the time that is done i'll be drunk so if we are losing in the big one i'll just annoy every one else. nah actually i'll just keep cheering for my team. thats what us tigers do. we stick with our team through the bad times. we dont jump on when things start goin our way like the cats supporters do

Having read your posts today,you've obviously have got a start on that already.:p

Changes V Richmond