Changes vs Carlton

The tackle stats at SANFL level are more an estimate anyway.

It's not his tackling that is keeping him out. We're obviously looking for some more outside run. Lyons and Martin were the two players in the best form, Martin provides what we're looking for more.

I'm happy to see Martin get the opportunity even if it's at Lyons' expense, however I hope we stick with Martin for a period of time now. Let him settle, see what he can do. Don't chop and change.

That's 100% correct. When we were all arguing about whether grigg was dropped it was made clear that he was by harper or noble on 5aa. He stated as fact that grigg was right to go but Martin was chosen ahead of him due to leg speed. Think that was the saints game. Think the club considers that we have enough extractors.

Football positions are so malleable compared to other sports. I think it's a wank to say "ooh X should be playing but it's so hard to squeeze him in" when there's 22 spots available.

Reilly, Otten, Grigg, Porplyzia, Petrenko, Shaw, Callinan. All of these guys have been regular players in our AFL team. All of them played against Norwood. All of them were massively overshadowed by Lyons.

People are suggesting we drop Crouch?? He came into the game and literally straight away had a couple good touches - the commentators were still talking about the changed sub while he got 2 touches! 5 disposals and a mark in what 20 minutes? The guy is a disposal machine, and even as sub picked up the tempo of the game straight away - something that Grigg struggled to do in the same role. Unless Brad Crouch is suddenly available, there is no way he should be dropped.

Crouch actually came on with less than 10mins to play and managed 5 touches. At that rate, he'd have gotten 40 for the game :O

Important noting that we won as well by only 21 points, no turnovers and important possessions were crucial by him for us to beat the Pies.

Finally watched the replay last night.

I know we're not fully aware of players roles throughout a match, and Laird wasn't shocking, but he was clearly less effective than Wright.

Anyone know what role or who Laird was matched up mostly?

I think Laird is just struggling a bit trying to find his feet in a new role.

With Cameron actually doing something up forward, do we need Laird up there covering for Petrenko's lack of output anymore?
Laird played down back to cover for Reilly. Hopefully they settle him down, but there is no way he should be considered an out.

Absolutely what I was going to suggest. :thumbsu:

I think Wright needs a spell. He hasn't been terrible or anything, but I think Lyons' work in close and Grigg's elite leg offer more at the present time. Grigg and Lyons to battle it out in the reserves for a spot if I was in charge. There's probably a 60% chance Wright keeps his spot though.

Hartigan has been VERY shaky in the last 3 games, especially in first quarters for whatever reason. In fact, I'd go as far to say that his last 3 first quarters have been absolutely shambolic! If Otten plays well on the weekend, he comes back in. That might be a big 'if' though because he's (Otten) been putrid for the last couple of games now. I guess Shaw is in the frame here too, but I'm just not a fan and wouldn't trust his disposal in the swirly environment that is the MCG.

Martin deserves to stay in after his performance last night. Was pleasantly surprising to see him show some poise in a few key moments.

Crouch stays in and is NOT the sub against Carlton.

It's hard to pick who we should give the vest to, but in all likelihood it will be Wright if he holds his spot, and if Wright does make way, either his replacement (Lyons / Grigg) or poor old Brodie will get the bib.

Just a note on Rutten - I think even he'd admit that he didn't have his best night last night and lost a few one on ones that he normally wouldn't. However, it was his first game back at the top level for a month or so, and I think his experience is invaluable down there. Definitely stays in ahead of Hartigan fo mine. I don't think we can get away with playing all 3 of Talia, Rutten and Hartigan against too many forward lines though. The lack of pace and creativity will inevitably become an issue.

Pods was a
Look I think Wright may survive, given Sando's reluctance to change a winning combination. I do think he needs to replace Truck or Hartigan.

Truck looks old, looks slow, but in the heat of the battle last night had great poise. However, against a team like the Blues that lack big players his place has a question mark. Especially with Pods playing the swingman role very well last night in the 4th.

Pods played really well in defence last night in the last quarter.

Pods didn't play as a defender though. He was a forward who stationed himself in defense as an extra man. He wasn't playing in defense as an accountable defender he was an extra man. I'm not saying he can't play as a defender but as a swing man you still need your 3 tall defenders.

Can't wait for this game.

I think the Blues and the Crows are similar sides in a lot of ways, particlularly this year and how we are travelling.

Both teams usually play with 3 very capable forwards (Walker the standout IMHO), have a couple of genuine stars in the midfield, similar style ruckmen, some speedy smaller blokes and a defence that has a similar structure too. You could match a dozen players on each side and say they are quire similar in many ways. The mix of youth and experience is fairly similar too.

Both teams have had a year they were expecting a lot more from so far. As people have pointed out, Betts will be playing against his old side for the first time and Walker is in his second(?) game back against the side he did his knee at on the same ground.

No idea how the game will go to be honest! But I reckon it will be a cracker. Good luck to your mob!

If the Crows turn up and play 4 quarters it won't even be a contest. But our consistency has been a major issues this year.

Love the fact the guys over on the Carlton board think they're going to flog us next week. And that we're a shit and vanilla team.

It wasn't long ago they had lost to Melbourne and were heading to the slaughter house.

One poster does not equal "the guys" :)

Neither of our teams have really done much to excite for protracted periods of time this year to date, but at least we can say that whoever wins here will have won two on end, with the likelihood of also winning the following week and who knows from there.

Carlton will have a couple of good ins for this match and Adelaide has another game into Walker, as who as we know, will only get better.

Looking forward to this one although Sunday arvo games do take some edge off things, by the time they come around.