Speculation Christian Petracca [UFA 2029]

We're not locked into Houston.

We could offer 2 x 1sts (this year and nexts). We trade out Martin and Caroll out West, and Pittonet also gets traded out in the Ruck merry go round. There have been offers for Owies from a few clubs as well. Somehwhere in the middle of that we should be able to upgrade a 2nd into another 1st.

That's 3 x 1sts. Not low firsts, but it's 3 x 1sts. Probably around the best we could offer.

We have enough cap space for Houston. Forgoing on Houston, and trading out Owies, Martin and Pittonet, and we should have space for Petracca.
You don't have a top 10 pick in any of that though. I doubt Melbourne would accept 3 mid to late first rounders when they can get more than that elsewhere this year and next year.

I doubt Carlton would drop Houston and I think they'd be stupid to do so for Petracca.

Nope. Who has said that?

You’ll have an egg on face when Petracca nominates Collingwood as his preferred club. Surely he’s wrong and you’re right though
There's a difference between wanting to go to Collingwood and nominating them. He wants to go to Collingwood, but nominating them is futile because Collingwood can't get it done. I doubt he does, at least this year. If Melbourne keep him, then I'm pretty confident he nominates Collingwood next year.

I mean I'm no doctor but I feel like 4 broken ribs and a punctured lung can be identified reasonably easily by a competent medical professional.

Happy to be proven wrong though.
Given I’ve been surprised at times by radiology findings of multiple broken ribs before (and that is seeing the patient in an ED not a footy field) is sometimes does trick you

Club has spent six years building a nucleus of core players where they look after each others back.

Harry is not going anywhere - he is not for sale. He is going to kick five goals on Harris Andrews and put this weird rumour to sleep.

I'm interested in Petracca but not for any of our core group and not for this years nor next years first round pick.

Club might try to trade some players out like Owies and Carroll and try to move up the draft board. There is no other way to do it.

We will have the salary cap space - but Harry not going anywhere.

I don't know. Reports state that he has told different people different things about why he wants to leave.

If this is a "Brand Petracca" thing, I don't want him. Best to look elsewhere.
Heaps of footy players have business outside of football, he is probably using or saying anything to get out now.
At the end of the day, he is contracted & Melbourne can hold him to it.

Given I’ve been surprised at times by radiology findings of multiple broken ribs before (and that is seeing the patient in an ED not a footy field) is sometimes does trick you
Yep had any xray on a wrist after hurting in a game and was all cleared a week later after experiencing pins a needles in fingers whilst operating excavator for work went back to doc got xray and was booked in for op as bone had moved putting pressure on nerves.So easy to miss in early xray

You don't have a top 10 pick in any of that though.

No, we don't. We have 3 x 1sts though, even if they're admittedly picks in the teens.

And you can always bundle up 2 picks in the teens for a top 10 pick if you want, or ontrade them. The Suns for example will likely want a future 1st from Carlton to pay for their academy players next year (they have a habit of doing this) and would be prepared to offload a top 10 pick this year to get one.

We might be able to grab a top 10 pick this year ourselves from trading a future 1st with one of the Academy clubs.

He is 29 in January of next year and coming off an injury. Melbourne will have draft picks from ANB heading to Adelaide plus their own pick 4 to play with, and (if I'm considering this as Melbourne) potentially more picks from offloading Oliver and trying to get in a quick rebuild before Tassie enter the competition.

It's not the best deal in the world, but it's not the worst.

Petracca nominating a club has nothing to do with him being traded to that club. E.g. He could nominate Collingwood and still hold him to his contract. Just like they could hold him to his contract for any team that he nominates.
No player is bigger then the club, no chance Dees hold him there for 1 mill a year if he doesn’t want to be there.

Make a trade, free up a ton of cap space and go about replacing him.

It will depend on if the Melbourne relationship with him has become that untenable that keeping him is basically not an option.

The only way he gets to the pies is if he nominates them and is adamant he won’t even entertain going anywhere else. To me that seems unlikely, and in no world does Noble constitute a first rounder.

Pies would have to be throwing one or more of DeGoey, Quaynor, McCreary, Josh Daicos etc as there is no first rounder to use this year.

Unless Melbourne think the pies will be dreadful next year and the future first can land a top 3 pick.

If Petracca really wants out I think he’d accept any of Carlton, Essendon or Hawthorn if he can’t get to pies.

Club should err on the side of caution and send them for scans if there is ANY doubt on their ability to go back out there, especially if they look like Petracca did when he was on the field.

Its not a doctors job to win games of footy, its their job to keep the players healthy. If the team loses because their best player has to come off then so be it

So next time someone hurts there finger should doctors err on the side of caution? Who defines where that line in the sand is? Is it documented anywhere? If not then how have the doctors breached anything?

What happens next time someone hurts an ankle? Or gets a cork? Are they also ruled out by medicos erring on side of caution?

Player says they are fine to continue and no evidence to suggest otherwise, but yeah let’s keep them off the field.

Will need benches of 10 going down that path and that’s if any medicos actually want to still work in the sport and run the risk of litigation.

No player is bigger then the club, no chance Dees hold him there for 1 mill a year if he doesn’t want to be there.

Make a trade, free up a ton of cap space and go about replacing him.

“Melbourne remain absolutely resolute publicly and privately that he will not be traded under any circumstances."

Sounds like to me they have no problem holding him for the extra years and I don't blame them. Have nothing to lose.

You don't have a top 10 pick in any of that though. I doubt Melbourne would accept 3 mid to late first rounders when they can get more than that elsewhere this year and next year.

I doubt Carlton would drop Houston and I think they'd be stupid to do so for Petracca.

I would take 3x firsts between pick 10-18.

Be tight but close to the mark I would think as fair.

Bundling a pick 11 and 14 for example can move you into top 10 if appetite is there.

Put youselves in Petracca's shoes, Melbourne's doctors gambled with his life by sending him back out there it's broken trust.
If I was in his position & that happened to me, I would be doing the exact same thing.

Not only that I hear his teammates has angst about him going on a holiday when he's season is over anyway, all this adds up why would they have angst??
the culture is not good there you don't have to be a genius to figure that out. with all the rumors that have happened with Goodwin, Oliver & Joel Smith.

Petracca himself would have been watching closely with how the club handled previous situations + their downfall since winning the flag he probably sees the writing on the wall, this is not about the Melbourne fans who have not done anything wrong, this fully on the club.
I would feel a little more for Petracca if he wasnt seemingly keen to only go to the two biggest clubs in the AFL. He signed the contract, you can ask/force your way out but if he's genuinely trying to go to Collingwood and/or Carlton you lose a bit of credibility.

You'll get big crowds playing for Freo or Sydney, you can help Saints be a genuine threat if their end to the year means anything. Seemingly saying "big (contending) Vic or nothing" is pretty floggy.

Hope Trac does some sort of ESPN special to announce his club of choice during prime time and also to give everyone a glimpse of his new shoe Nike AirTracs

If he wants a trade just embrace it. **** this halfway in halfway out crap.

A few people would bitch about it but end of the day this is an entertainment business and we all love a showman.

So next time someone hurts there finger should doctors err on the side of caution?

He had a type 5 ruptured spleen (as in it was totally destroyed/ cut in half), a punctured lung, and 4 broken ribs.

That's not a 'hurt finger' bro.

Who defines where that line in the sand is?

The Clubs doctors, and the Clubs coach. We've been over this.

Is it documented anywhere? If not then how have the doctors breached anything?

If your doctor cleared you back to work with a shattered spleen, 4 broken ribs, and a punctured lung would you think they might have 'breached something'?

Or is that totally acceptable medical practice?

He had a type 5 ruptured spleen (as in it was totally destroyed/ cut in half), a punctured lung, and 4 broken ribs.

That's not a 'hurt finger' bro.

The Clubs doctors, and the Clubs coach. We've been over this.

If your doctor sent you back to work with a shattered spleen, 4 broken ribs, and a punctured lung would you think they might have 'breached something'?

They didn’t know he had that at the oval. So again, how was the doctor meant to know to keep him off without hospital equipment?

Even doctors at the hospital didn’t know initially.

So every time someone gets a whack we take them out of the game “In case”? And if so, is that documented anywhere? If it isn’t he wouldn’t have any legal leg to stand on.

Why is it the club coach’s responsibility? Someone with no medical background is responsible for someone medically now? Bit of an ask on a footy coach.

Players need to be responsible for themselves just as much as those around them. They get paid the big bucks and understand there are risks. If they don’t want to get hurt they can go play netball.

“Melbourne remain absolutely resolute publicly and privately that he will not be traded under any circumstances."

Sounds like to me they have no problem holding him for the extra years and I don't blame them. Have nothing to lose.
I think it's completely stupid, so long as teams arent trying to fleece them. Just bite the bullet and move on

So next time someone hurts there finger should doctors err on the side of caution? Who defines where that line in the sand is? Is it documented anywhere? If not then how have the doctors breached anything?

What happens next time someone hurts an ankle? Or gets a cork? Are they also ruled out by medicos erring on side of caution?

Player says they are fine to continue and no evidence to suggest otherwise, but yeah let’s keep them off the field.

Will need benches of 10 going down that path and that’s if any medicos actually want to still work in the sport and run the risk of litigation.
Thats not what im saying at all...

What im saying is the doctors need to put the players wellbeing first. If theyre not going to kill or seriously hurt themself by going back out then all good, but if the doctors arent sure and the player may have internal injuries then some more thought has to be put into it.

Melbourne just puffing there chests to see what offers they can get.

Worst business decision ever to keep someone on that coin who doesn’t want to be there.

They didn’t know he had that at the oval. So again, how was the doctor meant to know to keep him off without hospital equipment?

Even doctors at the hospital didn’t know initially.
Thats the Doctors problem, if they arent sure then dont let the player back on the field

I would feel a little more for Petracca if he wasnt seemingly keen to only go to the two biggest clubs in the AFL. He signed the contract, you can ask/force your way out but if he's genuinely trying to go to Collingwood and/or Carlton you lose a bit of credibility.

You'll get big crowds playing for Freo or Sydney, you can help Saints be a genuine threat if their end to the year means anything. Seemingly saying "big (contending) Vic or nothing" is pretty floggy.
Apparently he would go to any club on the east coast, but his preference is one of the big vic clubs.

Thats not what im saying at all...

What im saying is the doctors need to put the players wellbeing first. If theyre not going to kill or seriously hurt themself by going back out then all good, but if the doctors arent sure and the player may have internal injuries then some more thought has to be put into it.

Again I ask, how was the Melb medicos meant to know this without hospital equipment and player saying he felt fine to go back on?

It’s easy to say in hindsight but from all reports proper process was followed. If players don’t like the process than don’t play the game.

Since he signed the contract, he's had Oliver implode on the bags and all the shit that causes internally (like what happened at West Coast, and Gold Coast with the playing group split between party boys and professionals) the Club (at least externally) running nothing but static, while sliding down the ladder and not improving the list, and then getting medically ****ed over and sent out to play with no spleen.

He's got grounds.

He hasn't covered himself in glory with the 'big club and brand' stuff, but he's 29 next year. He's only got a few years left to maximize his earnings (both current, and future). There are commercial realities here, and in a few years time, he's going to have a singular talent (footballer), that cant earn him a penny so I don't really begrudge him for having at least some commercial angle to it as well (looking after his future).

See also: Judd and Visy.

I know it's an emotional game and 'playing for the jumper' and all that, but that ship largely sailed a long time ago, and objectively speaking, its fair enough and we should be adults about it.

Speculation Christian Petracca [UFA 2029]