Injury Christian Petracca's injury - A disgrace he was allowed to come back on the field

I think it's something that we should learn from.

I don't think that it's out of the question that you could have imaging equipment at AFL grounds. The Tour de France for example have a portable x-ray machine in one of their buses. They are relatively small, just basically wheel them out.

The real question is:

Why do Collingwood players get no form of punishment for hospitalizing/ending careers in 'football incidents' yet other blokes get weeks for not even injuring players in tackles because the action 'might' have caused a head knock?

Collingwoods above every other team essentially , no Collingwood no crowds. We need favourtism in tribunial cases and incidents to keep the team ticking along to be at the pointy end of the ladder

After given pain relief. The guy has four broken ribs, a punctured lung and lacerated spleen. Like they wouldn't have known the extent of his injury after he was given the all clear to come back on the field. Win at all costs is all clubs care about and not the players well being.

A disgrace.
If they knew the extent of it = bad

If they didn't know the extent of it = bad

The real question is:

Why do Collingwood players get no form of punishment for hospitalizing/ending careers in 'football incidents' yet other blokes get weeks for not even injuring players in tackles because the action 'might' have caused a head knock?
Think About It GIF by Big Potato Games

Collingwoods above every other team essentially , no Collingwood no crowds. We need favourtism in tribunial cases and incidents to keep the team ticking along to be at the pointy end of the ladder
What were Collingwood's crowds like the last time they had a stint at the bottom?

I dunno
Just don’t really see it as practical for a small handful of incidents

Would need multiple machines (mri, x-ray and ultrasound if we want to get complete and accurate diagnosis to begin with) radiology staff to operate and also report what the images are saying

I think the current system is fine with club doctors and medical staff on site to make general assessments/ treatment and if something seems worse they have paramedics and ambulance’s on site
Yep, it will be costly, but the current system just failed big time. Do we take that risk and just continue to accept the "she'll be right" attitude? Things have to improve.

After given pain relief. The guy has four broken ribs, a punctured lung and lacerated spleen. Like they wouldn't have known the extent of his injury after he was given the all clear to come back on the field. Win at all costs is all clubs care about and not the players well being.

A disgrace.

Imagine if a club allowed a player to wear a cast.during the week and then allowed them to play in a premiership with a broken thumb?

Won't someone think of the children?.

This is a bit of an after the event/benefit of hindsight thread
They wouldn't have known at the time the extent of the injury and may have thought he could run it out
Come on man.

If you went to your local GP with even half of the symptoms that Petracca displayed - they'd send you for scans immediately, and write you a certificate for as much time off work as you need, and recommend that you go home and rest in the meantime.

Just imagine your local GP saying after a short consultation, "ummm, I reckon you're Ok to go out on an AFL footy ground. Off you go, here's a couple of Panadol".

It's just breathtaking.

Now, to be clear, it's breathtaking in the context of this rubbish we constantly hear about 'the best medical care available' and 'they care about the player's health first and foremost' etc. etc.

In that context, they're the worst doctors in the modern world.

But that narrative is just insulting to our intelligence.

They provide medical care in the context of a professional sport at a sporting club.

If we accept that to be the case, which it is, then it's a bit 'meh' to be honest. They would have told him he should get scans done, and he would have said no, and they would have shrugged their shoulders and said whatever.

In that context, the doctors did their job and it's on Petracca.

The real question is:

That question can easily be answered by a thorough read of the rule book

On SM-A225F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Players, commentators and media shouldn't fawn over players trying to stay out on the field and play through injury - Doctors can only diagnose on an understanding of the symptoms that a player openly gives (and I would suggest that Petracca wasn't overly transparent)

Players should be continually educated on the risks they put themselves into in not declaring fully their symptoms.

The days of players playing through serious injury (that can lead to long-term effects) is over.

Imagine if a club allowed a player to wear a cast.during the week and then allowed them to play in a premiership with a broken thumb?

Won't someone think of the children?.

That wasn't the worst of it...they had to reset his broken thumb every week of those 5 week finals....
lol

A disgrace.
Mason Cox was allowed to train while having a ruptured spleen

Ban Collingwoods medos too?

Players, commentators and media shouldn't fawn over players trying to stay out on the field and play through injury - Doctors can only diagnose on an understanding of the symptoms that a player openly gives (and I would suggest that Petracca wasn't overly transparent)

Players should be continually educated on the risks they put themselves into in not declaring fully their symptoms.

The days of players playing through serious injury (that can lead to long-term effects) is over.

I also hate when they question players pulling out of contests , i hate the theory of getting polaxed when totally unnecessary is a courageous act

Mason Cox was allowed to train while having a ruptured spleen

Ban Collingwoods medos too?
Reports are that Petraccas has a grade 5 injury to his spleen, definition below. These things operate on a spectrum and I dare say Cox's injury was not anywhere near close to the same level. It sounds like Petracca was lucky not to lose the organ entirely. His season has just been confirmed as over too, unsurprisingly.

"Grade 5 is either a shattered spleen or complete devascularization of the entire spleen."

Reports are that Petraccas has a grade 5 injury to his spleen, definition below. These things operate on a spectrum and I dare say Cox's injury was not anywhere near close to the same level. It sounds like Petracca was lucky not to lose the organ entirely. His season has just been confirmed as over too, unsurprisingly.

"Grade 5 is either a shattered spleen or complete devascularization of the entire spleen."
Lucky not to have had a complete and total tragedy on the weekend is my understanding of spleen injuries at that degree

Reasonably common cause of tragedy in motocross and snowmobiling

Come on man.

If you went to your local GP with even half of the symptoms that Petracca displayed - they'd send you for scans immediately, and write you a certificate for as much time off work as you need, and recommend that you go home and rest in the meantime.

Just imagine your local GP saying after a short consultation, "ummm, I reckon you're Ok to go out on an AFL footy ground. Off you go, here's a couple of Panadol".

It's just breathtaking.

Now, to be clear, it's breathtaking in the context of this rubbish we constantly hear about 'the best medical care available' and 'they care about the player's health first and foremost' etc. etc.

In that context, they're the worst doctors in the modern world.

But that narrative is just insulting to our intelligence.

They provide medical care in the context of a professional sport at a sporting club.

If we accept that to be the case, which it is, then it's a bit 'meh' to be honest. They would have told him he should get scans done, and he would have said no, and they would have shrugged their shoulders and said whatever.

In that context, the doctors did their job and it's on Petracca.

To be fair you could go to a GP and fake cough and get 4 weeks off work.

I think it's something that we should learn from.

I don't think that it's out of the question that you could have imaging equipment at AFL grounds. The Tour de France for example have a portable x-ray machine in one of their buses. They are relatively small, just basically wheel them out.
An Xray isn't going to show an intraabdominal injury like a kidney, spleen or liver laceration. You really need a CT scanner for this, and then you need a radiographer available to do the scan, the patient to have an intravenous drip put in so iv contrast can be administered, and if you are going to that extent that you are worried enough to want a CT, the patient should be in the emergency department, not in a cubicle at the back of the MCG.

Injury Christian Petracca's injury - A disgrace he was allowed to come back on the field