Opinion Collingwood don't want Adam Treloar... recently signed him to a multi year big $$$ deal.

Times change, players' attitudes change, direction of the club changes.

You've got to be open to change in this industry.
You should probably share this wisdom with Ned Guy. Might put a bit more care into the Pies (back-ended) five and seven year contracts...

Checked out Trade News on the AFL Website today...

The first thing I saw were guesses from Rendell and SOS about how many of Treloar, Stephenson, Cox and De Goey will be at Collingwood next year. One of them said 2, the other said none.

Enthralling 'news'.

The next thing I saw was Rendell regurgitating his views on the Grundy contract. 'Maximum 5 years, and if he walks, he walks'.

Frig me.

Checked out Trade News on the AFL Website today...

The first thing I saw were guesses from Rendell and SOS about how many of Treloar, Stephenson, Cox and De Goey will be at Collingwood next year. One of them said 2, the other said none.

Enthralling 'news'.

The next thing I saw was Rendell regurgitating his views on the Grundy contract. 'Maximum 5 years, and if he walks, he walks'.

Frig me.
TBH

I agree with him about the Grundy contract.
Very few players, if any are worth a 7 year deal and Grundy ain't one of them.

Thing is...if you want the big bucks you have to deliver.
Treloar hasnt delivered.

I dont reckon Collingwood wouldve made the Granny without Grundy and I think they need him to make another but Treloar isnt like that.
He cant play another position and is holding Elliot outve the midfield, he cant play as a defensive mid cause he doesnt tackle.
He cant play forward or back flank cause he isnt reliable by foot.
He gets heaps of i50 kicks but just maybe the oppo knows a bit of pressure and there’s gonna be more chance for them to get it than a mark and shot at goal.
He wouldnt be on 900 a year in the next few years because it was offered outve the blue the manager wouldve leveraged the highest amount he could have and now its all the clubs fault..hmmm dunno.
The guys who get the big bucks win games.
He hasn’t delivered, not enough score assists or goals.

I love Treloar but he's hammies are done good decision by the club get pick 5 and dump the salary

You are dreaming sunshine.

Everyone knows Collingwood is in a hole. The Club has tried to flog salaries off and nobody is remotely interested. Even the Suns.

Get used to the idea that Colllingwood will be paying close to half of Treloars salary to play somewhere else. And if they can not get that done, then you are really in the poo poo.

Everyone knows Collingwood is in a hole. The Club has tried to flog salaries off and nobody is remotely interested. Even the Suns.

Get used to the idea that Colllingwood will be paying close to half of Treloars salary to play somewhere else. And if they can not get that done, then you are really in the poo poo.

I couldn't care less as long we get rid of half his salary and him he will average 10 games per year in the next 3 seasons.
Also well done to Carlton paying a overrated half back in Williams 900k a season also another 700k for the most overrated player in the league Saad well done blues and next season when Cripps goes to the dockers the blues will be in there 15th rebuild since 2001

I couldn't care less as long we get rid of half his salary and him he will average 10 games per year in the next 3 seasons.
Also well done to Carlton paying a overrated half back in Williams 900k a season also another 700k for the most overrated player in the league Saad well done blues and next season when Cripps goes to the dockers the blues will be in there 15th rebuild since 2001

Mmmm those salty, delicious tears.

Somebody's not handling recent developments very well.

I agree, but not with letting Treloar go, I’d get rid of Philips and Cox to make up the money, and anyway, who are we kidding? What we need is a genuine KPP forward, and no one wants to come to us. The person who should be on the hit list is whoever dreams up our contracts, at least make the big stuff performance based. I don’t believe Treloar is done, I believe we have a much bigger problem, confidence club wide in taking a game on. Every time we kick to a contest instead of a free player I see the stepford wives. We beat west coast because for a change we played with heart. I want to see that more often.right now we simply are not good enough. I love Cox but can’t ever see him being a genuine AFL player, it’s still a novelty. I’d be doing all I could to Fix Moore’s issues and have him playing full forward.

More or less agree. Unless the players really do want Treloar out (which I struggle to believe) I can't see how the way he's been left swinging in the breeze doesn't hurt morale among the others. Let alone the bad optics it provides for the next trade target or free agent Collingwood looks at.

Don't agree on Moore changing to the front half though. First time I saw him up close was after returning from an extended period overseas and my first chance to get to a footy game was the practice match in the Latrobe Valley. Curnow had him well covered on pace and athletic talent, but Moore's ability to use every inch of the angles and closing arcs was brilliant. There's not a lot of defenders in the game who you can put in a physical or athletic mismatch and they get the job done. Position by position he's Collingwoods best player in my opinion, and as much as I love the player Weitering has become after a couple of lumpy years I'd put Moore very slightly ahead of him.

Thing is...if you want the big bucks you have to deliver.
Treloar hasnt delivered.

I dont reckon Collingwood wouldve made the Granny without Grundy and I think they need him to make another but Treloar isnt like that.
He cant play another position and is holding Elliot outve the midfield, he cant play as a defensive mid cause he doesnt tackle.
He cant play forward or back flank cause he isnt reliable by foot.
He gets heaps of i50 kicks but just maybe the oppo knows a bit of pressure and there’s gonna be more chance for them to get it than a mark and shot at goal.
He wouldnt be on 900 a year in the next few years because it was offered outve the blue the manager wouldve leveraged the highest amount he could have and now its all the clubs fault..hmmm dunno.
The guys who get the big bucks win games.
He hasn’t delivered, not enough score assists or goals.

People aren't saying he is worth what he got from Collingwood, they certainly paid overs. But he is contracted and helped out Collingwood by back ending his contract, and now they want him gone before he can get to that point. Regardless of the actual quality of the player, they offered him the contract and it is appalling how badly they are treating him.

They put the money into the next contract..either way it is pretty cutthroat and it’s going to affect their rep dealing with players and prospects.
I agree it shouldn’t have got to this point and perhaps the Covid reductions in list spots and salary cap have made it crunch time at Collingwood and he’s the glaring anomaly in terms of bang for your buck but I still think if your going to demand the highest pay and he is up their with the captains of other teams and match winners that’s him and his management going for as much money as they can.
He needs to be one of those two and I dont think he is.

I don't get this. Oops, we signed Adam to a $900,000/a contract and we've now realised he's only worth $600,000.
Plan A. We keep him & pay him $600,000/a coz that's what he's worth, and another $300,000/a coz we stuffed up.
Plan B. We ship him to another club who pay him $600,000/a coz that's what he's worth, and we pay another $300,000/a coz we stuffed up.
Why is plan B better than plan A?

I don't get this. Oops, we signed Adam to a $900,000/a contract and we've now realised he's only worth $600,000.
Plan A. We keep him & pay him $600,000/a coz that's what he's worth, and another $300,000/a coz we stuffed up.
Plan B. We ship him to another club who pay him $600,000/a coz that's what he's worth, and we pay another $300,000/a coz we stuffed up.
Why is plan B better than plan A?
Simple answer. Because in Plan A $900k of salary cap space is taken up, whilst in Plan B only $300k of cap space is taken up.

Opinion Collingwood don't want Adam Treloar... recently signed him to a multi year big $$$ deal.