News Collingwood News & Media

What a difference one point makes. The season ended in heartbreak for Pies fans who enjoyed the ride of a lifetime that fell just one point short of a grand final. Craig McRae brought a freedom to the Magpies in his first full season at the helm – playing with flair and fun that – more often than not – translated to four points. And there’s no reason why that can’t continue in 2023.

COLLINGWOOD

Coach: Craig McRae

Captain: TBC

What happened in 2022?

It started smoothly but when Geelong turned the tables in Round 3 and then an undermanned West Coast in Round 4, things had the potential to look shaky. But if Craig McRae is anything, he is level. From there, the Anzac Day win – starring Jack Ginnivan – sparked some action before they really got rolling in the second half of the season. From Round 10 onwards, the Pies notched 11 wins on the trot including nine under two goals, making sure they kept supporters well and truly on their toes. Jordan De Goey’s Bali trip hit the headlines but the team let its football do the talking, but it was Sydney that delivered a late-season double-blow, nabbing four points in Round 22 and then derailing the team by just one point in a preliminary final.

Where do they finish in 2023?

It’s difficult to see this team dropping too far away from the pack, but steeling their nerve like they did in 2022 will be key. Had they dropped a couple of those close ones, it could have been a very different story. Tom Mitchell comes in and should slot straight in, while Dan McStay provides a prime target up forward and support in the ruck now Brodie Grundy is at Melbourne. Should be a top-eight finish again.

Biggest improver in 2022

It’ll be year two at the Pies for Pat Lipinski who played every game and every final. It was a strong start and after post-season shoulder surgery, the former Bulldog’s instant impact should only grow stronger.

X-factor

JDG – it just has to be. Jordan De Goey found himself front and square in the Melbourne winter after a mid-season trip to Bali saw him slapped with a $25,000 suspended fine and contract talks put on hold. A behavioural clause also features in the first two years of his eventually-signed deal that sees him at Collingwood until 2027. Despite his inconsistencies at times, he showed late in the year just what he is capable of. Do it more and he’d be among the competition’s best.

Coach status

Craig McRae signed on until the end of 2024 and is much-loved at Collingwood for his nature as much as his coaching prowess. Players have lauded the environment McRae has created at the AIA Centre and it showed on the field.

COLLINGWOOD BEST 23​

B Maynard, Murphy, Quaynor
HB Pendlebury, Moore, Nick Daicos
C Sidebottom, De Goey, Josh Daicos
HF McCreery, McStay, Lipinski
F Ginnivan, Mihocek, Elliott
Foll Cameron, Mitchell, Crisp
IC Howe, Adams, Hoskin-Elliott, Noble
Sub Hill

Who is in last year of contract?

Aiden Begg, Arlo Draper, Ash Johnson, Cooper Murley, Harvey Harrison, Jeremy Howe, John Noble, Josh Carmichael, Mason Cox, Scott Pendlebury, Steele Sidebottom, Trent Bianco, Trey Ruscoe, Will Kelly

Outs from 2022

Brodie Grundy (trade – Melbourne), Jordan Roughead (retired), Ollie Henry (trade – Geelong), Callum Brown (delisted), Tyler Brown (delisted), Jack Madgen (delisted), Caleb Poulter (delisted), Isaac Chugg (delisted), Liam McMahon (delisted)

Ins for 2023

Dan McStay (free agent – Brisbane), Tom Mitchell (trade – Hawthorn), Bobby Hill (trade – Greater Western Sydney), Ed Allan (pick no. 19), Billy Frampton (trade – Adelaide), Jakob Ryan (pick no. 29), Joe Richards (pick no. 48)

COLLINGWOOD FIRST SIX​

Rd 1 Geelong @ MCG (L)
Rd 2 Port Adelaide @ MCG (W)
Rd 3 Richmond @ MCG (W)
Rd 4 Brisbane @ Gabba (L)
Rd 5 St Kilda @ AO (W)
Rd 6 Essendon @ MCG (W)
4-2 after first six rounds

They did the same thing for Geelong in yesterday’s rag and predicted that they would beat us but lose to Carlton who finished ninth - while we came within a goal of beating them in a final and were only a point away from a GF birth. And Geelong are usually average first round. I guess it’s probably better to be underestimated than hunted, but geeze.

AFL 2023: Champion Data breaks down each club’s list to rank its depth across every position​

How strong is your club’s list? Champion Data ranks every club across every position in this extensive breakdown.

Rebecca Williams
Follow

January 6, 2023 - 6:00AM
News Corp Australia Sports Newsroom

4. COLLINGWOOD

Rankings by position

Top 10 players: 5 | Top 11-30 players: 4 | Top 31-50 players: 11

POSITIONAL BREAKDOWN

Defenders: Top 10 players: 2 | Top 11-30 players: 1 | Top 31-50 players: 3

Midfielders (including rucks, mid-forwards): Top 10 players: 3 | Top 11-30 players: 1 | Top 31-50 players: 6

Forwards: Top 10 players: 0 | Top 11-30 players: 2 | Top 31-50 players: 4

Top 10 players (positional rank): Jeremy Howe (8, key defender), Darcy Moore (9, key defender), Patrick Lipinski (7, mid-forward), Josh Daicos (8, wing), Steele Sidebottom (9, wing)

Collingwood has five players with a top-10 positional ranking, with Patrick Lipinski coming out on top with a No. 7 ranking as a mid-forward. The depth beyond that declines with the Magpies only having nine players overall with a top-30 positional ranking. Scott Pendlebury (32), best-and-fairest Jack Crisp (33) and Jordan De Goey (47) were ranked outside of the top-30 as midfielders.

Darcy Moore is one of two Pies in the top 10 defenders in the AFL. Picture: Dylan Burns/AFL Photos via Getty Images

AFL 2023: Champion Data breaks down each club’s list to rank its depth across every position​

How strong is your club’s list? Champion Data ranks every club across every position in this extensive breakdown.

Rebecca Williams
Follow

4. COLLINGWOOD

Rankings by position

POSITIONAL BREAKDOWN

Midfielders (including rucks, mid-forwards): Top 10 players: 3 | Top 11-30 players: 1 | Top 31-50 players: 6

Top 10 players (positional rank): Jeremy Howe (8, key defender), Darcy Moore (9, key defender), Patrick Lipinski (7, mid-forward), Josh Daicos (8, wing), Steele Sidebottom (9, wing)

Collingwood has five players with a top-10 positional ranking, with Patrick Lipinski coming out on top with a No. 7 ranking as a mid-forward. The depth beyond that declines with the Magpies only having nine players overall with a top-30 positional ranking. Scott Pendlebury (32), best-and-fairest Jack Crisp (33) and Jordan De Goey (47) were ranked outside of the top-30 as midfielders.

Proves categorically that Champion Data is a pile of 💩

Rebecca Williams
Follow

4. COLLINGWOOD

Rankings by position

POSITIONAL BREAKDOWN

Stopped Reading at Champion Data

They did the same thing for Geelong in yesterday’s rag and predicted that they would beat us but lose to Carlton who finished ninth - while we came within a goal of beating them in a final and were only a point away from a GF birth. And Geelong are usually average first round. I guess it’s probably better to be underestimated than hunted, but geeze.

we will beat them round 1
a great time to play the cats

Maynard not in the best ten of his position? Get your hand off it CD. He’s best one.

“Make your best player look like a ****ing hack” isn’t in Champion Data’s official list of AFL positions.

Rebecca Williams
Follow

4. COLLINGWOOD

Rankings by position

POSITIONAL BREAKDOWN

Is this kinda saying Lippa is our best player?

I rate the guy, but not that highly..

Not unexpected really. It was always gonna happen.
Oh really? I don't remember a single person agreeing with me months ago, saying Craig Kelly is the right man for the job.
(Not you Jen)
All were saying a "conflict of interest " because his son plays for us. Or because he is a player manager.
All of a sudden he's the right man.

sideswipe who is the bonehead now?
Think he is a long way from player management these days. Don't know where this boneheaded rumour has come from, but I call it patent bulltish.

Would be very surprised if Kelly was even interested in a role like this.

YOU HAVE NFI

Oh really? I don't remember a single person agreeing with me months ago, saying Craig Kelly is the right man for the job.
(Not you Jen)
All were saying a "conflict of interest " because his son plays for us. Or because he is a player manager.
All of a sudden he's the right man.

sideswipe who is the bonehead now?
Think he is a long way from player management these days. Don't know where this boneheaded rumour has come from, but I call it patent bulltish.

Would be very surprised if Kelly was even interested in a role like this.

YOU HAVE NFI

I will certainly concede that you were right and I was very wrong. I thought Ned was moving closer to a quasi-retirement lifestyle.

Good for you.

I will certainly concede that you were right and I was very wrong. I thought Ned was moving closer to a quasi-retirement lifestyle.

Good for you.

I fluked it mate. I just couldn't think of anyone better for the job.
Very happy with this appointment as Ned is a ripper bloke.
Business savvy as well.

I fluked it mate. I just couldn't think of anyone better for the job.
Very happy with this appointment as Ned is a ripper bloke.
Business savvy as well.
Think Ned got the gig for his footy connections, business / marketing expertise etc. Interesting that 2 x 1990 premiership players now Head of Football and CEO - obviously Wrighty gave Ned a tick. Can't really imagine Jeff Browne signing off on CEO who didn't meet the criteria.

Ned played in a flag for Old Xavs. That is a far more compelling hiring criteria across the AFL than playing in one for the Pies.

News Collingwood News & Media