News Collingwood News & Media

Not sure about you being not sure about a bloke whose background makes him eminently qualified, even over-qualified, for the job - before he has started.

He is objectively a fantastic get. Might be an idea to let him get his feet under the desk.

No doubt he’s done very well running a for-profit organisation trading horse-flesh …

… but how do you see him being over-qualified to be the CEO of a $80m-ish turnover NFP with 80K-ish members?

Of course I hope he does well …

… I just don’t see it yet

No doubt he’s done very well running a for-profit organisation trading horse-flesh …

… but how do you see him being over-qualified to be the CEO of a $80m-ish turnover NFP with 80K-ish members?

Of course I hope he does well …

… I just don’t see it yet

Get over yourself mate. His former business is a lot more than player management. Go for technology and media. And cfc is all about making a surplus. Thinking not for profit is not about making money? Yeah sure.

Comparing turnover for different industries shows such a fundamental misunderstanding of different businesses that it might warrant you giving yourself an uppercut. Maybe try comparative staff numbers for a start.

Thinking not for profit is not about making money? Yeah sure.
Can't like that one enough, so true.

My only concern with Kelly is too many connections with too many people in and around the club. I would rather an outside voice coming in, even someone without a football backround. Happy to give it time though and whilst not a fan of the pincher I am confident he will not shirk from making the hard decisisons.

Get over yourself mate. His former business is a lot more than player management. Go for technology and media. And cfc is all about making a surplus. Thinking not for profit is not about making money? Yeah sure.

Comparing turnover for different industries shows such a fundamental misunderstanding of different businesses that it might warrant you giving yourself an uppercut. Maybe try comparative staff numbers for a start.

Settle down, you’ve got no better idea than me how well he’ll do (or vice versa)

You reckon he’ll be awesome, I have my doubts. I really hope you’re right and I’m wrong.

Thinking not for profit is not about making money? Yeah sure.

I never said it was.

“For profit” is about paying dividends to shareholders (and/or growing share value)

“Not for profit” is not.

You don’t think that makes a difference?

So what happens with Wright now is he gone or still with us in a different capacity? It might be stupid question but I don’t know the answer so I thought I’d ask.

Wright goes back to his normal jobs of footy boss + list manager.

So what happens with Wright now is he gone or still with us in a different capacity? It might be stupid question but I don’t know the answer so I thought I’d ask.
Remains in his same position. No one has taken his role.

Wright goes back to his normal jobs of footy boss + list manager.
Which he's bloody good at.
If you look at how he's cleaned up the mess he was left with & plugged holes in our list with bargain acquisitions, he's set us up for sustained success.

Settle down, you’ve got no better idea than me how well he’ll do (or vice versa)

You reckon he’ll be awesome, I have my doubts. I really hope you’re right and I’m wrong.

You are the one expressing doubt. I am merely countering that his credentials are superb.

If you look at how he's cleaned up the mess he was left with & plugged holes in our list with bargain acquisitions, he's set us up for sustained success.
I would love to know how much of what we currently see is Wright, Fly or the board? My sense is Wright is neck deep in this but I know nothing. List management under Wright has appeared better than it has been since god knows when, certainly since pre Buckley. Is is Fly's influence, having a better picture of needs? Was the ground set by the trading around 2020?

name the last two list managers....ned and derek.....sounds like a comedy team

Wrighty is seen as a good person to deal with, who will get things done quickly with little fuss.
Patty Lipinski for pick 43? Done. People questioned the value of the trade at the time, but its been a great deal for us.
When Henry wanted to go back to Geelong, it looked like we would be screwed, but we ended up getting Tom Mitchell & pick 25 that we used to draft Jakob Ryan, when it looked like we might have to settle for just pick 25.
Obviously Fly & other members of the footy department would have had a say, but Wrighty is a good operator.

I never said it was.

“For profit” is about paying dividends to shareholders (and/or growing share value)

“Not for profit” is not.

You don’t think that makes a difference?

Not meaningfully. You’d need to explain how. Aiming to generate a surplus to re-invest isn’t too different to a profit goal.

Don’t confuse an NFP with a charitable organisation.

Intimate involvement with the industry for his entire career, including working at Collingwood on and off field, career success as a ceo, connections across the industry.

Just point out where he falls short?

It’s about perspective I guess.

If you’d told the Magpie Army during 2021 that at the end of 2022 we’d be offloading Brodie Grundy not for two first rounders, but rather just pick 27 and salary cap relief - there would have been riots in the streets.

Heck the campaign against our last President was in large part for much the same thing.

No doubt Fly played his role - it must be a lot easier to recruit players when your team has gone from 17th to 4th under a rookie coach whose team is playing exciting footy and has just won coach of the year.

News Collingwood News & Media