News Collingwood News & Media

I’ll give them that goal in 2017 prelim. But when there’s 95,000 of you and 13 opposition supporters you’d want to be louder
But we are talking consistently year in year out. Our noise level was off the charts in 2002 after a few years in the wilderness. The hunger and excitement is off the charts.

But gee, they fall away at tiger land. The Cats are the same. When Geelong fans were leaving late in the first game I was disgusted and let them know. I said to one bloke they just gave you another flag and you can't stick out round one till the siren the following year because you are losing?

Pathetic.

I had the honour of discussing that very goal with Benny a few years ago when he was playing for Doncaster in the Eastern footy league. They came to play us at Mooroolbark and the team was warming up not far from where I was sitting on the hill.
I called out to BJ who was only a few metres away and said he was one of my all time favourites. He immediately ran over and promptly sat down next to me after saying " Cheers mate!" with a big smile.
I asked him what it felt like to be in that cauldron of noise and he laughed and said it was awesome.
He told me had watched a replay of that prelim a few days earlier.
I asked him which game had the louder noise, the 2010 preliminary or the 2002 when Rocca thumped that 75 m goal. I said the 2002 and he favoured the 2010.
I wished him all the best, we shook hands and he said cheers again and ran back to his team mates.
What a legend.
The absolute dismantling of Geelong in that 1st quarter after them being dominant for 3 years is something I’ll never forget. They kept trying their handball game through the corridor and kept getting smashed, turned over and goaled against. Scarlett and the rest of the backline looked shell shocked. I had that many nervous beers I was pissed by half time.

Apparently there is an article in this week's record in which Fly states the Collingwood fans are louder and more passionate than the Richmond fans.

My love for this man just continues to deepen. He should know. He was one of them for a while. That will get under their skin!
Fly saying “My new girlfriend is heaps better than my old one” 😍

But we are talking consistently year in year out. Our noise level was off the charts in 2002 after a few years in the wilderness. The hunger and excitement is off the charts.

But gee, they fall away at tiger land. The Cats are the same. When Geelong fans were leaving late in the first game I was disgusted and let them know. I said to one bloke they just gave you another flag and you can't stick out round one till the siren the following year because you are losing?

Pathetic.
We despise Carton but they have passion like that. Judd against Richmond in that final in 2013.

I had the honour of discussing that very goal with Benny a few years ago when he was playing for Doncaster in the Eastern footy league. They came to play us at Mooroolbark and the team was warming up not far from where I was sitting on the hill.
I called out to BJ who was only a few metres away and said he was one of my all time favourites. He immediately ran over and promptly sat down next to me after saying " Cheers mate!" with a big smile.
I asked him what it felt like to be in that cauldron of noise and he laughed and said it was awesome.
He told me had watched a replay of that prelim a few days earlier.
I asked him which game had the louder noise, the 2010 preliminary or the 2002 when Rocca thumped that 75 m goal. I said the 2002 and he favoured the 2010.
I wished him all the best, we shook hands and he said cheers again and ran back to his team mates.
What a legend.
Great story.
Preliminary finals always have the loudest roars along with Anzac Day and certain home and aways featuring us.

I can’t deal with the media saying how good we are and having us number 1 seeds blah blah. It just doesn’t seem right, I’d rather be the underdog and have everyone hating us, praise doesn’t sit right. Maybe that says more about me than the club or media. The only good thing about it is that there’s a reason they are saying it so we are playing well.

Yes. It makes me nervous cause the moment we stumble they will call us pretenders as though we were the ones talking up our premiership status.

The whole thing 2 weeks in is stupid

As was the roar when the final siren sounded.
4 goal comeback in the last to win by a point in the last minute to knock our bitter arch rivals out of the finals by 0.4 percent and seal our top 4 spot. The magnitude of it is incomprehensible and might grow more in legend as the years roll on

We despise Carton but they have passion like that. Judd against Richmond in that final in 2013.
My son loves the "ninth again" version of Richmond's club song, and since we ended Carlton's season last year, I've been thinking a Carlton version would be nice.
It's the only way I could voice the tune.
It could start:
"We finished ninth again
The Carlton Blues finished ninth again
We're the team that always lets you down
Leave the MCG with a giant frown....."

That would work for me.

When Collingwood offloaded Adam Treloar, Jaidyn Stephenson and Tom Phillips in the club’s great fire sale of the 2020 post-season, a sizeable section of the Magpie army went into meltdown.

The white-hot anger of the faithful was based, not simply on the fact that popular players – especially the heart-on-sleeve Treloar – had been discarded, but that the Pies did not garner much in draft return.

Petrol was doused on the inferno, too, when fans discovered that Collingwood was paying a decent share of Treloar’s salary, which had ballooned to $900,000 a season for five years, as the club kept pushing money into the future.
Treloar netted Collingwood the pick that ultimately became Ollie Henry (now with Geelong) in the draft, but the Pies had to give up later choices, including second rounders, just to get inside the draft’s top 20.

On the night before the trading deadline, a North Melbourne official told this column that there was no way the Roos would be giving up much for Stephenson, certainly not a first-round pick. “This is a fire sale,” he said, correctly observing that the Pies had to get these players off the books to get under the salary cap in 2021.

The fire sale was viewed as disaster, which was shortly followed by the even greater trauma of the leaked Do Better report that found the club guilty of systemic racism. In 2021, however, it was the fire sale – and the sense that Collingwood’s descent to 17th was somewhat attributable to the sell-off – that became an election issue, as Jeff Browne and his supporters swept to power.

Today, it is evident that the fire sale was a necessary step to correct slow-burn mismanagement of Collingwood’s salary cap; a case of trauma surgery that helped the patient to make a rapid recovery.

In 2023, the Pies are fielding a team with a Brownlow medallist, Tom Mitchell, whose former club, too, is paying a sizeable share of his salary; the Pies are paying Mitchell barely half of what they were contracted to pay Treloar.
Bobby Hill has been imported from the Giants, and Dan McStay acquired as a free agent key forward. While McStay is no star, the Collingwood forward line seems improved for his presence.
Darcy Moore and Jordan De Goey have been re-contracted on deals that are in line with their performances (Moore receiving a six-year deal last year).
If Treloar and co were traded to clean up a mess and get under a bursting salary cap, the selling of Brodie Grundy in 2022 – another instance of brutal list management – was more about creating room to address what football boss Graham Wright and coach Craig McRae felt were the most pressing needs.

Grundy could well prove a win-win deal for Melbourne and Collingwood, given Max Gawn’s knee injury and the improvement of Darcy Cameron. The Pies could not have acquired Mitchell and improved their clearance work without jettisoning their former number-one ruckman.

The Magpies took a public relations hammering when Treloar and Stephenson, in particular, were traded, and their list manager at the time, Ned Guy, became the veritable fall guy for the fire sale.

In truth, the fire sale was an overdue reckoning. The Pies finally stopped kicking their salary cap can down the road, faced the reality of mismanaged player payments – evident in a series of excessive contracts, including those of Phillips, Stephenson, Treloar and Grundy – and took a major one-off hit.

Since then, salary cap dumps have become a more accepted practice - as seen in Hawthorn’s deals last year, and in the Jack Bowes to Geelong deal.

It is highly improbable that the Pies would be roaring as they are in 2023 – re-invented as the competition’s most watchable team – if they had not made those tough calls after 2020, then followed with the Grundy trade.
Treloar played well in the Bulldogs’ grand final of 2021, when their midfield was obliterated by Christian Petracca and co in a third quarter avalanche. He has been only a steady, unspectacular contributor, while the midfield he joined has been weakened by the loss of his mate Josh Dunkley.

Stephenson remains an unfulfilled talent and a fascinating test of Alastair Clarkson’s horse-whisperer gifts.
Phillips is no longer on Hawthorn’s list. Atu Bosenavulagi, the unheralded fourth player jettisoned in the trade period, is reportedly pursuing a rugby career.
Guy, unfairly pilloried when Collingwood’s player payment issue was a failure with multiple fathers, has landed on his feet with a role in football operations at the AFL.

Wright has made some shrewd calls since he arrived just after the draft of 2020, none more consequential than the un-Collingwood-like decision to hire Craig McRae; a no-name assistant coach with a Richmond (and Collingwood) pedigree.

The salary cap Wright inherited wasn’t fully repaired. It was on the mend, though, and it did not take long for the Pies to make modest, needs-based, acquisitions.

The only genuine, long-term dent to Collingwood from the 2020 post-season came in the draft of that year when the Pies traded their (future) first draft choice of 2021 – eventually pick 2 – in large part because they believed Nick Daicos would swallow up their first rounder. Had they held the pick, it would have netted far more than picks 24 (Caleb Poulter) and 30 (Liam McMahon).

Overall, though, losing Treloar, Stephenson and Phillips has been far from the perceived calamity of that tumultuous time.

In hindsight, the fire sale was more like a burn-off that expedited a regeneration.

Great story.
Preliminary finals always have the loudest roars along with Anzac Day and certain home and aways featuring us.
Preliminary finals are louder because the AFL stacks the granny full of people tossers who know nothing about the game but love to say they went to the GF for the experience food - Flinders Is lamb, Kangaroo Is oysters and Catalan Creme Brulee etc - avec matched wines

I note that Treloar is currently out with a hamstring injury.
That double hammy he did was likely the beginning of the end, because he hasn't been the same since.
A shame - I always liked him - a heart on the sleeve type.
Trading out Grundy was probably the last bandaid to rip off.

I note that Treloar is currently out with a hamstring injury.
That double hammy he did was likely the beginning of the end, because he hasn't been the same since.
A shame - I always liked him - a heart on the sleeve type.
Trading out Grundy was probably the last bandaid to rip off.
He doesn’t have the same explosion but he’s still a good accumulator and outside linkman that can go forward and kick goals.

The first 10 mins of On The Couch last night were all about Collingwood in 2023, and there were some really interesting stats and quality analysis provided.

True, but it resulted in one of the great calls. His description of the passage of play that let to Jamie's goal to put us in front was that of a professional at the top of his game. Compare that to the absolute butchering of it by BT, who has become a complete buffoon.
Yep. We need more professional commentators in the commentary box, rather than ex-stars being blokey.

Pathetic.
Tiges fans cop a bum rap in this regard. They always made their presence known even when they were the laughing stock of the AFL.

On the back of The Ultimate Player Ratings — compiled by Mick McGuane and Glenn McFarlane — we’ve looked back at every recent draftee’s rating and which are expected to have the most impact at your club this year.

These ratings are based on each players standing in the competition, not on their draft value.

COLLINGWOOD​

National Pick 17:
Oliver Henry (Traded to Geelong in 2022)
National Pick 19: Finlay Macrae – 4.5
National Pick 23: Reef McInnes – 5.5
National Pick 30: Caleb Poulter (Delisted in 2022)
National Pick 31: Liam McMahon (Delisted in 2022)
National Pick 44: Beau McCreery – 5.5
Rookie Pick 13: Jack Ginnivan – 6.5
Rookie Pick 28: Isaac Chugg (Delisted in 2022)
Mid-Season Pick 3: Ash Johnson – 4
Mid-Season Pick 18: Aiden Begg – 4.5

National Pick 4:
Nick Daicos – 8.5
National Pick 45: Arlo Draper – 3
National Pick 49: Cooper Murley – 2
National Pick 52: Harvey Harrison – 2.5
Rookie Pick 2: Charlie Dean – 1
Mid-Season Pick 9: Josh Carmichael – 5

National Pick 19:
Ed Allan – 4.5
National Pick 28: Jakob Ryan – 2.5
National Pick 48: Joe Richards – 2.5
SSP: Oleg Markov – 3.5
SSP: Oscar Steene – 2

What a gift for Collingwood to secure Nick Daicos as a father-son in 2021, with the halfback producing an extraordinary debut season last year and looking like being “a generational player”. The Magpies also got a steal in the rookie draft in 2022 in the form of Jack Ginnivan, who is a “natural goalkicker who exudes confidence but who also has the ability to back it up”. Beau McCreery has become “Collingwood’s forward 50m pressure barometer”, while midfielder-forward Reef McInness is being tipped to “play early” this year if he can get his body right.

News Collingwood News & Media