List Mgmt. COLLINGWOOD Trade and F/A Discussion 2023

We do need inside mids coming through to partner Nick, so we'll see if our recruiters think he fits the bill.
He did get 29 disposals for the Geelong VFL side in a game against our VFL boys, which is pretty good.
I think we'll just go with Fin and Carmichael

Better half time entertainment?

We need to become a global sport so that we can have better half time entertainment?

Disagree No Way GIF by Yellowstone
It was a poor example what more money can do. If you want better venues, facilities, standards, etc - the money has to come from somewhere, particularly if we want to phase out gambling.

This is fun to talk about but we couldn’t even turn Will Kelly- very athletic, grew up playing the game, 5 years in an elite system (maybe even call it 7 years of semi-elite with the last few years of juniors) into a really successful AFL player.

How many years of US Combines to produce one Mason Cox? And you can almost guarantee that if he was “only” 6 foot 6 he wouldn’t have made it.
Did you see Will's shocking luck with injuries?? elbow twisted into next week from a dislocation, collarbone caved in, many more. Hasn't exactly had a free run at it mate - these things contribute to development

More money in the game means more investment? Isn't it the inverse - if there's more investment in the game, then there's more money.
It's a bit of a chicken-egg scenario. The investment money needs to come from somewhere originally - could be external or internal.

My point is, more revenue in the game will lead to more investment and better outcomes. There's a reason why leagues like the NFL and NHL are seeking global expansion. It's for their bottom line. Footy shouldn't isolate itself to its heartland areas. Honour the past, maintain those regions but seek new opportunity.

If we’re growing the game for the sake of growing the game (KS’ push it seems) then full time umpires >>>> better HT entertainment…

Edit: while we’re at it better female infrastructure as well.
Look half time entertainment was probably the worst example I could dream up.

But infrastructure, definitely. They might be able to fix Marvel, umpiring, the tech used to review goals - that'd benefit us for sure.

In terms of growing AFLW, there's a space in the world for more women's sporting leagues. Outside of some soccer leagues, there's not much in terms of professional sides.

Cal said Stevens could be anywhere between 25-50 in the draft. Its how maligned he is with recruiters. Could be a steal or could be a risk. Someone will take the punt.
Geelong will take him late if he's free by their extremely late pick. Best player in their VFL side this season.

I don’t think it can ever be undersold just how important Cox’s point of difference has been in his time in the system. Being 7 foot is a deal in the NBA let alone AFL and all this talk of translatable skills is great and all, but largely pointless unless it’s in relation to a 360 degree sport.
It’s part of the reason I hope Condon ends up coming back to Australia. A 7ft tall homegrown product who was looking a too 10 prospect in his draft year is tantalising.

The players want it, almost expect it. More money in the game means more investment. You want better half-time entertainment? It has to come from somewhere.
Half time entertainment?

Who cares about half time entertainment? If I want to see a band, I'll pay to go to a concert. When I go to the footy, I want to see football.

It's a bit of a chicken-egg scenario. The investment money needs to come from somewhere originally - could be external or internal.

My point is, more revenue in the game will lead to more investment and better outcomes. There's a reason why leagues like the NFL and NHL are seeking global expansion. It's for their bottom line. Footy shouldn't isolate itself to its heartland areas. Honour the past, maintain those regions but seek new opportunity.
I wouldn't be worried about anything the rugby is doing or following their lead...lol.

They should probably concentrate on getting more crowds to their own games here in Australia without playing a couple of matches in Las Vegas to bring in some moula.

Yeah but what’s the point?

If we manage to turn some Latvian wrestler into a decent forward pocket- what does that achieve?

I’d argue AFL money is far better spent on reducing registration costs for juniors, further promotion of AFL to recent migrant communities, CTE research, getting people actually interested in AFL in GWS and GC, getting Tassie in and viable… international players would be about 26th on my list of priorities!

That said I absolutely love the Mason Cox story and found him becoming a premiership player was just incredible.
Mate
Mason Cox even playing one game was incredible

What he has achieved is out of this world

Look half time entertainment was probably the worst example I could dream up.

But infrastructure, definitely. They might be able to fix Marvel, umpiring, the tech used to review goals - that'd benefit us for sure.

In terms of growing AFLW, there's a space in the world for more women's sporting leagues. Outside of some soccer leagues, there's not much in terms of professional sides.
It's like you think you are the first person to have come up with the idea of trying to grow the game overseas?

Half time entertainment?

Who cares about half time entertainment? If I want to see a band, I'll pay to go to a concert. When I go to the footy, I want to see football.
Half time is for esky maintenance and filling the beer fridge.
Imagine how piss poor the entertainers will be if it's every god damned week?

Kiss cam can ****off too.

Half time is for esky maintenance and filling the beer fridge.
Imagine how piss poor the entertainers will be if it's every god damned week?

Kiss cam can *off too.
And when at the game, there's only time to refuel, go to the toilet, have a chat about the game and watch a bit of the little league kids.

Keep it simple stupid 😆

Half time entertainment?

I would like less half-time entertainment. Kiss Cam and the KFC dancing shit can FRO.

I would like less half-time entertainment. Kiss Cam and the KFC dancing s**t can FRO.
Agree can't stand it. When I was at the prelim and they were doing it it was even more annoying than usual. Pies were potentially a quarter away from making a grand final and they put that stuff up.

Better half time entertainment?

We need to become a global sport so that we can have better half time entertainment?

Disagree No Way GIF by Yellowstone
The entertainment is one of the reasons they kept pushing for a night grand final "Oh it'll make it look good", 'The NRL do it!"

I don't know, I don't watch the grand final for the HT entertainment, I watch it for the footy

Craig Kelly regarding Will:

The Magpies made another tough list-management call, axing Kelly’s son, Will, after five seasons on the list. The father-son recruit managed five games for the Magpies, but is likely to attract interest from rival clubs seeking key defensive depth.

“As hard as it was for me to not have Will in our program, it’s the right decision for the program, because the people running the program made that decision, in ‘Fly’ and Wrighty. I have got so much respect for those two guys because they handled it so well with me and also with Will,” Kelly said.

“I hope Will goes somewhere and has a great opportunity because I think he has plenty of upside, and he has got a desire, and often, sometimes, you have got to be sat back a bit and given a push and something has to happen in life to want you to go again. Maybe that has happened to him now ... I also think, maybe, it’s not a bad thing that he is not around this club because there is a lot of stuff I have done, and others have done. Maybe it’s good for a fresh start for him.”

Makes it sound like there's a bit of finality about it and the chances of him actually coming back over summer are pretty low?

Craig Kelly regarding Will:

The Magpies made another tough list-management call, axing Kelly’s son, Will, after five seasons on the list. The father-son recruit managed five games for the Magpies, but is likely to attract interest from rival clubs seeking key defensive depth.

“As hard as it was for me to not have Will in our program, it’s the right decision for the program, because the people running the program made that decision, in ‘Fly’ and Wrighty. I have got so much respect for those two guys because they handled it so well with me and also with Will,” Kelly said.

“I hope Will goes somewhere and has a great opportunity because I think he has plenty of upside, and he has got a desire, and often, sometimes, you have got to be sat back a bit and given a push and something has to happen in life to want you to go again. Maybe that has happened to him now ... I also think, maybe, it’s not a bad thing that he is not around this club because there is a lot of stuff I have done, and others have done. Maybe it’s good for a fresh start for him.”

Makes it sound like there's a bit of finality about it and the chances of him actually coming back over summer are pretty low?

The way I read it was that we would look at offering him a “train-on” position, i.e. we would seek clearance for him to continue training with the club, so that if he was picked up by another club he could hit the ground running.