Opinion Commentary & Media IV

What a sanctimonious prick.

5dcd4209e22c2d3c86eea170efe378bd.jpg
Backs against the wall folks, hang tight. Our time in the sun will come again. Then will be the time to come out and quote all these bottom feeders. Bin scowling "journos" are a dime a dozen and come and go. NMFC will weather the storm.

We should all queue up at 9am Monday morning on SEN to give him a bake
Don’t worry I’ll happily can the old campaigner.

Tips
Facts are facts are what was said to me last time when I disagreed with Brad saying we needed a rebuild

Oi Gerard you daft campaigner - quit sucking the dick pipe of the AFL

Here’s some FACTS

we turned a profit campaigner without any attendees or any games in tassie

EAD

Was about to say the same thing. I didn’t like him as a player. However, he was brilliant. He’s been through the mill and made mistakes. However, I’m sure he’s learnt a lot. Hopefully, Scamper can return.

Coach Scamper will return in 2021.
10984.jpeg

“To be absolutely clear, we are not...”

“(The situation) clearly is not great and there’s a pile-on coming from all directions,”

“...comments from unnamed sources close to the club and that leads to this continual snowball effect”

“Some of it is downright fiction.”

These aren’t quotes from Buckley.
They’re from that w***er Paul Brasher defending his club. Spoken the same Buckley’s letter came out.

Compare it. A weak response from our club. An end of year financial statement. I literally learned nothing new except point 7.

We’ll always be stood on until we stand up for ourselves and be direct!

Try this next time mate:

“We won’t be relocating. We are an anchor...”

“We have been here for over 150 years and will be here for another 150”

“We won’t be playing more than 4 games in TAS”

“A pile on by the media kicking us while we’re down”

“Fiction”
So there'll be no more kicking of Essendon in the media now? You have got to be ****ing kidding.

"Point 7"? You mean the part about us not accessing AFL funding assistance. Not sure why a true supporter would be trying to downplay that direct statement, I'd expect it of some gutter journalist holding a grudge though.

And the phrase "anchor tenant" was used in regards to Arden Street anyway, so a) you clearly didn't even read the letter properly; and b) all it gets us is a "oh they're trying to justify themselves now" in reply. Fact of the matter is the numbers are on our side, words pale in comparison.

Speeches only reaches those who already know about it. Those who wanna deny it, always gonna try it. Today was the ultimate affirmation of that.

Backs against the wall folks, hang tight. Our time in the sun will come again. Then will be the time to come out and quote all these bottom feeders. Bin scowling "journos" are a dime a dozen and come and go. NMFC will weather the storm.

They couldn’t move us when we were millions in debt, had our offices in portables, less then 25000 members and an administration that thought it was a good idea.

We should all queue up at 9am Monday morning on SEN to give him a bake

I think I’ll line up at our local butcher from 9am TODAY as Geraldo shops there. I’ll see how he responds with a red hot poker up his arse as I spin him over the rotisserie. #flog

So there'll be no more kicking of Essendon in the media now? You have got to be ******* kidding.

"Point 7"? You mean the part about us not accessing AFL funding assistance. Not sure why a true supporter would be trying to downplay that direct statement, I'd expect it of some gutter journalist holding a grudge though.

And the phrase "anchor tenant" was used in regards to Arden Street anyway, so a) you clearly didn't even read the letter properly; and b) all it gets us is a "oh they're trying to justify themselves now" in reply. Fact of the matter is the numbers are on our side, words pale in comparison.

Speeches only reaches those who already know about it. Those who wanna deny it, always gonna try it. Today was the ultimate affirmation of that.
Yeah I liked the email I got today too......but unfortunately a club like ours has to do more to downplay all the negative shit. They are hopefully speaking to Kingy and Duck about their presence in the media and how much a positive spin makes a big difference. He hasn’t done it for a while, feels far more engaged re the club, but Kingy used to make cracks about our facilities and what we didn’t have......just make a cheap gag for a gag sake. Kinda felt like the new kid trying to make new friends so would pot the kangas I feel most ex players in the media, except perhaps Lloyd, are always positive about the direction of their old club, or they at least skirt around any issue with potting their club.
Even BT, who, played at both clubs 30-40: years ago, rarely if ever has a crack at Collingwood or Tigers.
Duck could be more positive, but it always feels like he still holds a grudge. Small thing, but it grates on me that he never refers to us as North, always just The Kangaroos......dunno, it’s a small thing but makes a difference.
JB is another I just don't get. Was he ousted from the board? I didn’t think so. Any danger he could come out swinging and back us a bit. His commentary is one thing, over emphasis our opponent at every opportunity, but I’m talking in his other roles on the radio.
Take * right now, they are perceived to be in a world of hurt, players wanting out etc, it the media has turned within a couple of days about their “draft haul“ and how easily they are gunna turn it all around.
I've really heard no say anything, apart from on here, how Brady is the right man for the job and they can see his vision.
Fk me, even if we got 5-10% of the 100% negative vibe it’d make a massive difference. The shinboner spirit should just be on the current day players, it should be in everyone who’s ever been involved with the club.
i have teenage kids now, who are staunch north, but it’s taken a lot of parenting to convince why we barrack for North when no one else we know does. It’s the reason I’ve given them, we aren’t like other clubs mate, trust me, the ethos of this club is how you want to live your life, don’t be like everyone else, this is who we support and we stick through thick and thin.
I love being a north supporter surrounded by a bunch of smug, fk knows why, Blues fans or Collingwood fans. They are stunned when they find out ya barrack for North. “I don’t know any North fans, that must be hard”………I generally ask em how many flags they’ve seen, I’ve seen 4, which apart from Hawthorn supporters is more than most.
Look at what the tigers are enjoying now, they went through30+ years of nothingness.
Anyway, rant over, ended up going on a bit. I flipping luv this footy club and what we generally stand for. We aren’t like others and that’s why they want to get rid of us.
Fk em all! We ride at dawn!!

Yeah I liked the email I got today too......but unfortunately a club like ours has to do more to downplay all the negative sh*t. They are hopefully speaking to Kingy and Duck about their presence in the media and how much a positive spin makes a big difference. He hasn’t done it for a while, feels far more engaged re the club, but Kingy used to make cracks about our facilities and what we didn’t have......just make a cheap gag for a gag sake. Kinda felt like the new kid trying to make new friends so would pot the kangas I feel most ex players in the media, except perhaps Lloyd, are always positive about the direction of their old club, or they at least skirt around any issue with potting their club.
Even BT, who, played at both clubs 30-40: years ago, rarely if ever has a crack at Collingwood or Tigers.
Duck could be more positive, but it always feels like he still holds a grudge. Small thing, but it grates on me that he never refers to us as North, always just The Kangaroos......dunno, it’s a small thing but makes a difference.
JB is another I just don't get. Was he ousted from the board? I didn’t think so. Any danger he could come out swinging and back us a bit. His commentary is one thing, over emphasis our opponent at every opportunity, but I’m talking in his other roles on the radio.
Take * right now, they are perceived to be in a world of hurt, players wanting out etc, it the media has turned within a couple of days about their “draft haul“ and how easily they are gunna turn it all around.
I've really heard no say anything, apart from on here, how Brady is the right man for the job and they can see his vision.
Fk me, even if we got 5-10% of the 100% negative vibe it’d make a massive difference. The shinboner spirit should just be on the current day players, it should be in everyone who’s ever been involved with the club.
i have teenage kids now, who are staunch north, but it’s taken a lot of parenting to convince why we barrack for North when no one else we know does. It’s the reason I’ve given them, we aren’t like other clubs mate, trust me, the ethos of this club is how you want to live your life, don’t be like everyone else, this is who we support and we stick through thick and thin.
I love being a north supporter surrounded by a bunch of smug, fk knows why, Blues fans or Collingwood fans. They are stunned when they find out ya barrack for North. “I don’t know any North fans, that must be hard”………I generally ask em how many flags they’ve seen, I’ve seen 4, which apart from Hawthorn supporters is more than most.
Look at what the tigers are enjoying now, they went through30+ years of nothingness.
Anyway, rant over, ended up going on a bit. I f*n luv this footy club and what we generally stand for. We aren’t like others and that’s why they want to get rid of us.
Fk em all! We ride at dawn!!

The disconnection between past players and the club is very obvious to me also, but why should I assume it's that players fault?

It's the club that has made a radical shift since 2007.

The disconnection between past players and the club is very obvious to me also, but why should I assume it's that players fault?

It's the club that has made a radical shift since 2007.
Its made a radical shift towards self sustainability.
I'm with Snakes on this one, though probably not for the same reasons. I reckon it's lost a bit of its soul in the process.

The past players used to have their own hangout under the old stand where they would have a drink and catch up, and that has been relegated for things that are of more interest to the board.

There is no player or supporter "social" presence at the NMFC any longer, so the disconnect was inevitable.

The response to Whateley was an serious example of the public tearing in to him and his ignorant drivel.

Excellent, it needs to be sustained or preferably ramped up.

The past players used to have their own hangout under the old stand where they would have a drink and catch up
Tell me about it. My grandfather was a life member of the North Melbourne Past Players and Officials Association and I spent a fair bit of time there as a kid, loading up on party pies and soft drink while the old timers had a beer (7oz glasses) and a yarn.

It's invaluable stuff for club culture and resilience, but it's basically deemed as unnecessary by the post 2007 administrations.

.......and a smoke. Remember how smoky that place was? A true reflection of the old days.

Jumped in the car to drive home last night and I am still seething over the drivel coming out of Whateley and Cornes last night about the club's future and tacit approval from Lyon and Hudson. Clearly they did not read the statement from Ben Buckley - what was stated around the financials and future was nothing but positive given the circumstances. As others have said - the need for the club to always run lean and not rely on the fat of welfare cheques going through brickie's laptops or taxpayer dollars/council rates pork barrelled into stadia means that we are better placed than many clubs post-COVID. Why would you take a club out of the heart of the fastest growing city in the country and move it to somewhere else that doesn't want it?

The view that North is a basket case and needs to be shipped off to Tasmania is the AFL media's equivalent of 5G towers causing coronavirus - not a skerrick of evidence to justify it. I just hope they get called on it by the club and the public. Had a chuckle at Fireman Cornes saying we have no young players of note given the below captures his recent lines of logic. Anyway I'm off to buy another membership...

1602892917178.png