SMaturin
What was it?How did the producer let that’s get through , must think the same as Adam
AFLW 2024 - Round 9 - Indigenous Round - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
What was it?How did the producer let that’s get through , must think the same as Adam
No current season stats available
Port, what a bunch of petty litigious flogs. I suddenly have a much higher opinion of Lobb who took it in the right spiritPort Adelaide news: Jason Horne-Francis ‘icebath’ beer pulled by brewery after being contacted by Power
A brewery has apologised to Jason Horne-Francis and Port Adelaide for a custom branded beer that referenced his controversial departure from the Roos.
Simeon Thomas-Wilson
https://twitter.com/Simeon_TW
May 9, 2023 - 7:47PM
News Corp Australia Sports Newsroom
A Queensland-based custom branded beer with an image of Jason Horne-Francis and a reference to part of his controversial departure from North Melbourne has been pulled after the brewery was contacted by Port Adelaide.
The brewery has also apologised to Horne-Francis and the Power, who did hint at legal action over the special edition beer if it was not pulled.
Whitelabel Brewing, based in Queensland, was planning on releasing a beer titled #Ice#icebather with a image depicting Horne-Francis in a Kangaroos themed icebath on the can artwork.
The former No. 1 draft pick takes on the Kangaroos for the first time in Hobart on Saturday after his departure from North Melbourne following a season in which he was dropped for refusing an ice bath after the Round 21 loss to Sydney.
A Port Adelaide spokesman confirmed that Whitelabel Brewing had removed the beer from its website and issued an apology following the club contacting them.
Issues such as Horne-Francis’ image and IP being used, as well as the constant booing of him by opposition fans were in part behind the fury from the Power.
ESPN reported that Power chief executive Matthew Richardson emailed Whitelabel telling them that “the AFL and AFLPA have been informed” and “legal action is pending”.
In a statement Whitelabel issued an apology to Port and Horne-Francis.
“Unfortunately, Whitelabel Brewing’s planned release of #Icebath Lager has#icebath feathers at Port, with the club threatening legal action against the beer company unless the product was removed,” the statement to ESPN said.
“The company apologises to Jason Horne-Francis and Port Adelaide if our idea to poke fun at a bizarre situation caused any harm.”
Before the Western Bulldogs’ Rory Lobb took on his former club Fremantle a group of Dockers supporters canned a beer called ‘Lobsters Tears’.
He had the last laugh as the Bulldogs beat the Dockers by 49-points and tried some of the beer poking fun at him.
Power players will ‘fly the flag’ for JHF’s Kangaroo grudge match
Port Adelaide assistant coach Chad Cornes says he expects Power players to “fly the flag” for Jason Horne-Francis when he takes on his former club North Melbourne for the first time this weekend.
The Power assistant is also bracing for the crowd to boo the 19-year-old but said ideally North Melbourne fans wouldn’t.
The former No. 1 draft pick will take on his former side for the first time, in Hobart on Saturday, following his highly publicised move from the Kangaroos after just one season at Arden Street.
Horne-Francis has copped it from opposition fans this season but could be in store for rough treatment from his former teammates after some bad blood over his move.
North hardman Cam Zurhaar has been vocal on social media on Horne-Francis’ move back to South Australia.
After watching Collingwood players go into bat for their teammate Nick Daicos after he was on the end of rough treatment from Sydney, which resulted in nine players getting fines, Cornes said he expected no different from the Power players if they need to back Horne-Francis up.
“I really loved the way they (Collingwood) stood up for him, it was great vision and no doubt that would be vision that they review as a team this week,” he said.
“And we are the same, if any opposition player gets into any of our players whether it is Jase or Tom Jonas we are going to stick up for them and fly the flag.
“So that will be no different this week.”
The treatment of Horne-Francis by opposing crowds this year has been a bone of contention for the Power, with senior coach Ken Hinkley hitting out at it and at people in the media who he felt had not given the young gun the proper “respect”.
Cornes said he expected a fair bit of discussion around it, while he backed Horne-Francis to deal with it.
“It is down in Tassie, I don’t know if it will change things but as we have all year we will support him.
“I’m sure he will embrace it, he keeps building week on week. Last week he didn’t have a high possession game but the impact with the possessions he had he was really effective, he was great in the air and his defensive acts were outstanding.
“I can’t put myself into the minds of supporters, I’m sure there will be a bit of booing.
“Josh Carr (Port’s midfield coach) has a really good relationship with him, Josh is a really tough minded guy who has been in those situations before when he was a player so I’m sure he will sit down with him about what might happen and the best way to deal with it if it does happen.
“Jase himself is tough minded … I don’t think it will bother him, there may come a time where he embraces it if it is there.
“Ideally they don’t boo but you can’t control what people do, opposition teams only boo good players so maybe he can take a bit of comfort from that.”
Maybe the AFL can do a LNP and vote them out?Legal action?
Hahahahahahaha.
Genuine pissant organization.
Not sure word for word but called corn a cokc headWhat was it?
His futureCunners playing forward or his future?
Yesterday, probably just a few thousand people even knew about it. Now probably a few hundred thousand know about it. All the more who will boo.I though this was funny. Although Port don't think so.
‘This is not light-hearted fun’: Power ‘threaten legal action’ after JHF mocked with ice bath beer
Some of our spindly armed playerscould do a lot worse than asking her some advice on how to build those gunsJfhf mum in preparation
View attachment 1683072
Are criminal records IP?
Does this mean the limited range of JFHF wifebeaters might also be pulled?
Probably screaming at the midfielders to push back and put a bit of pressure onDon't know if this has been posted anywhere, but this was from Footy Calcified last night. 99 points against per game is horrible. Even worse when we're only kicking 4 goals ourselves. What are Gibbo and our defensive coaches doing down there?
Don't know if this has been posted anywhere, but this was from Footy Calcified last night. 99 points against per game is horrible. Even worse when we're only kicking 4 goals ourselves. What are Gibbo and our defensive coaches doing down there?
View attachment 1683128
reckon i might be able to do a limited run ;-)I though this was funny. Although Port don't think so.
‘This is not light-hearted fun’: Power ‘threaten legal action’ after JHF mocked with ice bath beer
Lloydy did actually talk about our zone defensive structure, although in the context of it not really working and getting opened upIt's so sad that the morons on these footy shows only have the capacity to look at the scoreboard and that's the extent of their analysis. If they were in any way competent, they'd look at the change to a zone structure of our defence and talk about how that's bedding in. If they had 1/10 the skill of our Rick, they might actually rate.
Stop it or we'll tell on you!!!I though this was funny. Although Port don't think so.
Yesterday, probably just a few thousand people even knew about it. Now probably a few hundred thousand know about it. All the more who will boo.
Not great numbers, although the median is under 90.
The road to glory.I take a less complicated approach when looking at our scores for and against. Two years ago we were utterly s**t, last year really s**t and now just s**t. Hopefully next year we jump a few rungs and become mediocre. I miss the days when we were the best and feared by everyone, it is a while ago now.