Opinion Commentary & Media VII

Some weird logic there. So NMFC shouldn’t post in support of something a third of the world celebrates unless it also posts in support of those who celebrate bubble wrap appreciation day

On that logic … do we ignore minorities.

Unless you’re a big population .. don’t acknowledge your customs ?

Any Australian sporting club posting about ANY foreign festivals/national days is absurd IMO. 🙄

Look fwd to a post every week for:
Happy Diwali,
Happy Bastille,
Happy Halloween
Happy Cherry Blossom festival,
Happy Carnival,
Happy any other thing happening in the world
Christmas, good friday, queens birthday...

Yeah!! Hell yeah!!!

It is clearly time to rise up and define our nation as an independent republic.

It is time to dissociate with the British colonial past entirely. The only useful English thing I can recall ever buying were Doctor Marten's boots and shoes and even then I suffered enough blisters wearing the bloody things in that I had to stop buying the bloody things.

And anyway, he was German I think.

If your gonna do it for one…do it for all

You’re all taking this too seriously. It’s a gesture tweet. But heaps of non north atseholes have blown this up. Their main concern is political trolling.

They’ll move on not the next thing. May be a supermarket will do a lunar new year thing.

Faff makes s**t up. All the time. Pulls it out of his arse.

Milinois is some Eastern suburbs flog who probably only likes the networking.

Tef is just an angry old bugger who has time to yell at his computer all day.

The holy trinity of hard-to-stomach North ‘fans’ on Twitter. Faff gets 1 in 50 ‘rumours’ that he posts correct, plus has a hard time accepting Dani Laidley’s new personality. Mr John ‘I love to video myself ranting about Qantas because it shows I’m a big successful businessman who gets to travel every so often’ Millonis and don’t get me started on old uranium sniffer Snake.

Christmas, good friday, queens birthday...

Yeah!! Hell yeah!!!

It is clearly time to rise up and define our nation as an independent republic.

It is time to dissociate with the British colonial past entirely. The only useful English thing I can recall ever buying were Doctor Marten's boots and shoes and even then I suffered enough blisters wearing the bloody things in that I had to stop buying the bloody things.

And anyway, he was German I think.
...and bringing civilisation to over half the world, but i guess higher standards of living don't count because 'colonialisation'. obviously many people would rather the first nations of colonialised lands still live in the stone age and continue dying from starvation and basic disease...

it's quite interesting how in recent times those so triggered by colonisation are also the same people cheering on facists globalists to remove basic civil liberties from everyone. f*ck the british for forcing higher standards of living on people but yay for the globalists forcing and profiteering from a lockdowns and vaccines due to a virus they created.

I can't compute the stupid of this guy's statement. Who is upset about Chinese New Year? Or the date it falls on?

To understand why some supporters are annoyed at the club's celebration of Chinese New Year you need to factor in that it comes just two weeks after the club refused to celebrate Australia Day.

No. Wait. It was worse than that. They actually scolded people for daring to celebrate our national day.

The club tweeted that it was a day of "sadness".

And, to add insult to injury, the club tweeted that in order to keep "the conversation" respectful, they had disabled comments. Well, it's not much of a "conversation" when no-one else is allowed to speak!

It's entirely understandable that some people would be miffed at this.

The club disses on Australian culture while celebrating Chinese culture.

Is it really too much to ask that we be allowed to enjoy footy without having progressive politics shoved down our throats?

And winning the occasional game of football would be nice too. Which reminds me, that's actually North Melbourne's core business. And we've not done it very well at all for the best part of a decade.

When a football club tweets about football, every single person who wears the blue and white can get behind it and cheer. When the club strays from football and starts playing around in the weeds of progressive politics, they alienate many supporters. The same would happen if they started tweeting right-wing political statements.

So the message from upset fans is pretty simple and entirely sensible. North Melbourne should stick to football. God knows it's an area with room for plenty of improvement.

Go Roos!

...and bringing civilisation to over half the world, but i guess higher standards of living don't count because 'colonialisation'. obviously many people would rather the first nations of colonialised lands still live in the stone age and continue dying from starvation and basic disease...

it's quite interesting how in recent times those so triggered by colonisation are also the same people cheering on facists globalists to remove basic civil liberties from everyone. f*ck the british for forcing higher standards of living on people but yay for the globalists forcing and profiteering from a lockdowns and vaccines due to a virus they created.
So wrong on so many levels. Hard to know where to start. Or even if it’s worth starting at all.

He won’t say have the plums to say it, but he means Jews.

Oh, I'm extremely familiar with the parlance. I am Jewish.

I just wanted to hear him try and define 'Globalist' without explicitly saying it. They never can.

It's like asking them to define 'woke'.

To understand why some supporters are annoyed at the club's celebration of Chinese New Year you need to factor in that it comes just two weeks after the club refused to celebrate Australia Day.

No. Wait. It was worse than that. They actually scolded people for daring to celebrate our national day.

And, to add insult to injury, the club tweeted that in order to keep "the conversation" respectful, they had disabled comments. Well, it's not much of a "conversation" when no-one else is allowed to speak!

Is it really too much to ask that we be allowed to enjoy footy without having progressive politics shoved down our throats?

And winning the occasional game of football would be nice too. Which reminds me, that's actually North Melbourne's core business. And we've not done it very well at all for the best part of a decade.

When a football club tweets about football, every single person who wears the blue and white can get behind it and cheer. When the club strays from football and starts playing around in the weeds of progressive politics, they alienate many supporters. The same would happen if they started tweeting right-wing political statements.

So the message from upset fans is pretty simple and entirely sensible. North Melbourne should stick to football. God knows it's an area with room for plenty of improvement.

Go Roos!

Want to get rid of politics? Get rid of anzac day footy. Stop singing the anthem before finals. Don’t let corporates buy seats.

Hey, uh... just quietly;

China was 'civilised' before England.

Can you tell me what a 'globalist' is please?

china's civilisation dates back further than englands....and? engand never colonised china (unless you're counting hong kong and taiwan being part of china...which would mean you support chinese oppression..)

just quitely, england created the industrial revolution, and it still took china over a century to copy that....

globalists are those in corporate and poltical power that use their wealth to gain further power and wealth by manipulating global events. They do this most motably through the military and pharmceutical indutrial complexes.

The 'keep politics (or different cultures) out of sport!' people only ever really mean 'keep the politics that I disagree with out of sport'.

They never have a problem with Anzac Day (and similar military connections), or Good Friday, or the Blue Ribbon Cup, or when individuals like former Liberal Premier Jeff Kennett become a Club President, etc etc.

But when someone like Dr Sonja Hood becomes a club president, all of a sudden it's vitally important to keep politics out of sport!

Curious.

Go Roos!
I'm aware of that. I think you need to go back to the original question - is there a reason not to celebrate lunar new year? The reason not to celebrate Australia Day (on its current date), rightly or wrongly, exists and continues to be debated.