Opinion Commentary & Media VII

Completely in agreeance about the insult being deliberate. He goes out of his way to be an arse most weeks.

Professional journalist using his position to (badly) troll, settle scores and trash an organisation. It's embarrassing for him. But that the AFL employs him to engage in this, and allows one of its clubs to put up with such consistently blatant unprofessional behaviour on their own official website means that they endorse every word he says. Barrett might be a tool, but the AFL don't think so and are happy for a club to be trashed liked that. North Melbourne have to meet AFL standards for media accessibility and respect. But it's not a two way street.

OK, then I must have misinterpreted your "to be fair" ...
It was more a comment on the general lack of confidence (excluding Ligma and Duck Yeah… and me) in our team heading into R1 this season, as opposed to other years when we had less right to be confident. I couldn’t give a hoot about Barrett.

It remains one of the great mysteries of the universe how Damien Barrett remains employed. Its up there with trying to explain the existence of dark matter. I've never met a footy fan who respects Damo's commentary, he adds no value, entertainment or insight into any issues, and his pageview metrics must certainly be appalling. Yet there he is, week after week, from which I can only infer that someone out there things he's doing something right somehow. Its a head-scratcher for the ages.
In an era where media jobs are determined by how many clicks you get, devising a column that ensures supporters of all 18 clubs will read it is some kind of evil genius.

But he does talk about Cadman, Brown and Daniels as if they're Lockett, Dunstall and Ablett. GWS should win this game but setting a baseline of them kicking 30 goals and then giving them an out of not being serious should they not - only Sydney last year against WC have kicked 30 goals in a game in the last 15 years - is deliberately insulting. They aren't that good, we aren't that bad.
He seems like a nasty person.

To be fair, it lines up with what most of us are posting in the pre-game thread. Right now, in my mind, we’re winning this… until we don’t. 🤣

No it doesn't. I don't think we'll win. But I also don't think that the only way the Giants score less than 30 goals is if they take the piss.

In an era where media jobs are determined by how many clicks you get, devising a column that ensures supporters of all 18 clubs will read it is some kind of evil genius.
I voraciously read basically anything to do with NMFC except for Barrett, and if people didn't keep reposting it in here, I'd live in blissful ignorance of him.

I think there's a case to be made that any future posting of the sliding doors column in the NM forum can only appear using the hidden spoiler function.

I voraciously read basically anything to do with NMFC except for Barrett, and if people didn't keep reposting it in here, I'd live in blissful ignorance of him.

I think there's a case to be made that any future posting of the sliding doors column in the NM forum can only appear using the hidden spoiler function.
Or cop an instant ban

It remains one of the great mysteries of the universe how Damien Barrett remains employed. Its up there with trying to explain the existence of dark matter. I've never met a footy fan who respects Damo's commentary, he adds no value, entertainment or insight into any issues, and his pageview metrics must certainly be appalling. Yet there he is, week after week, from which I can only infer that someone out there things he's doing something right somehow. Its a head-scratcher for the ages.
He remains employed because on every forum every week there are ten pages devoted to discussing what a flog he is, which means there are lots of people reading his "opinions." It's been a long time since being right about stuff was important in the media landscape. If people stopped commenting on him he'd disappear.

He's Hutchy's mate so that counts for half of his employment as for the other half of his employment his "IF THEN' column is the most popular section of the AFL website by a long, long way, like it's ridiculously popular there are a lot of fans out there who eat that shit up.

Isn’t this the one most of our focus should be on? It’s about us, not GWS…

IF ...​

it was Sheezel and Wardlaw in 2023 ...

THEN ...​

it's set to be McKercher and Duursma this season. Both will debut on Saturday, against GWS. The future could be OK. But the now remains a major concern.

He's Hutchy's mate so that counts for half of his employment as for the other half his employment his "IF THEN' column is the most popular section of the AFL website by a long, long way, like it's ridiculously popular there are a lot of fans out there who eat that s**t up.
Citation, please. Who are these people? I've never heard of them.

Isn’t this the one most of our focus should be on? It’s about us, not GWS…

IF ...​

it was Sheezel and Wardlaw in 2023 ...

THEN ...​

it's set to be McKercher and Duursma this season. Both will debut on Saturday, against GWS. The future could be OK. But the now remains a major concern.
the GWS one IS about us, for starters.

And this is still trype.

"oh sure they got good players, but they still suck!"

He's Hutchy's mate so that counts for half of his employment as for the other half his employment his "IF THEN' column is the most popular section of the AFL website by a long, long way, like it's ridiculously popular there are a lot of fans out there who eat that s**t up.
"A lot of people read it" and "popular" are two different things.