Opinion Commentary & Media VII

If it’s here (Perth), I’m guessing two or three games at Optus (60k)
Something like ours would be at Leederville (10k) maybe one other up at Joondalup (12k), maybe after the WACA gets redone (35k?)

Can’t see the likes of Bassendean Oval or Peel getting a game

So most of them are easy enough to get to, some nice areas about, by then extensions close to Swan Valley and up to Lancelin so plenty to see over a long weekend but accom would be a big issue
Not that it will happen, but if it ever did come to WA, there'd have to be a game or two in the south west. The oval at Busselton is five minutes from the airport, which allows for AFL sponsors Virgin to get some good promotion.

And you might be forgetting Fremantle Oval, too.

(I'd love Basso to have a game - for a start, I could walk there, and secondly, I could introduce the tourists to the traditional half-time trip to Red Rooster.)

Not that it will happen, but if it ever did come to WA, there'd have to be a game or two in the south west. The oval at Busselton is five minutes from the airport, which allows for AFL sponsors Virgin to get some good promotion.

And you might be forgetting Fremantle Oval, too.

(I'd love Basso to have a game - for a start, I could walk there, and secondly, I could introduce the tourists to the traditional half-time trip to Red Rooster.)
Did forget Freo Oval somewhat but both East Freo and Freo itself are still under 8k each even after everything. Maybe Eadt Freo slightly more and the Oval at Freo is certainly easier to get public transport to

Busso while it would be nice, the airport is still 10 min drive out of town and really cannot cater to a large influx of people flying in… just don’t see it happening there until they upgrade a massive amount of infrastructure. Think Bunbury would be more likely to get it if that happened but similar to Busso, the infrastructure just isn’t there. Hence why they would more likely just hang around the Metro area

*Journos sitting around a big table.

Boss man: “alright team, we need some stale and old ideas. Hit me with them”

Journo 1: something about the Tim Kelly trade. We will redo the draft of that year and come up with all the players that West Coast could of got instead”

Boss man: ‘when was the last time we did a story on that’

Journo 1: ‘3 days ago’

Boss man: ‘run it again with 8 words changed. Next’

Journo 2: we have an in-depth look at how some teams in the league seem to get all the benefits in regards to the fixture and exposure.

Boss man: ‘like how north Melbourne got those picks in the 20’s for nothing?’

Journo 2: no, like how the bigger clubs get the more prime time time slots, giving them greater exposure.

Boss man: *confused look

Journo 3: or, we run the story of all the benefits north got, but we had heaps more picks, to confuse and anger our readers.

Boss man: I like, I like. Speaking of North, when was the last time we ran a ‘who they should of picked’ article.

Journo 1: this morning sir. Should we bring it up on radio and tv

Boss man: you know the answer. I want their fans confused and angry. CONFUSED AND ANGRY

IMG_1391.png

And like clockwork, check out the comments on that story. Oppo supporters, confused and angry.
Naturally. They read an article and because it is published in a newspaper, most readers accept that it is true, even though just a few minutes if simple checking would reveal the facts (if they could be bothered).

So we're getting ragged on for not getting something that we haven't asked for?

548a7aeaeaf01b94e77fe21048cd82d9.gif

Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk

So this is where Sonja needs to come out and call these journalists to account. Or at least someone official from the club citing this article and addressing the rubbish.

1. we aren't asking for anything and won't be
2. the disingenuous nature of the reporting, image selection etc and the implication that our top end talent came to us become of draft concessions which is blatantly false.

the club has been far too passive recently and are essentially just allowing ourselves to be bullied. Can guarantee that the Brad Scott and James Brayshaw version of North wouldn't stand for this rubbish - they both had their faults but this definitely wasn't one of them. And other clubs push back on the media with far less rubbish pointed at them. Imagine if the media did this to Collingwood? No, they wouldn't because Eddie would take them to task.

Go hard and go now (call it 'click bait' call it 'gutter journalism' call it 'deceptive', 'disappointing', 'vitriolic') otherwise it's going to keep happening. Posting these articles and us getting outraged and feeling sorry for ourselves achieves absolutely nothing. We need and should expect a strong administration at the club and if the media pulls bullshit we should absolutely be strong enough to publicly embarrass them.

And lastly I'd like Clarko to finally show some ****ing passion. Next press conference would be good to hear him address this sort of reporting and tell the media to stop talking rubbish.

So this is where Sonja needs to come out and call these journalists to account. Or at least someone official from the club citing this article and addressing the rubbish.

2. the disingenuous nature of the reporting, image selection etc and the implication that our top end talent came to us become of draft concessions which is blatantly false.

the club has been far too passive recently and are essentially just allowing ourselves to be bullied. Can guarantee that the Brad Scott and James Brayshaw version of North wouldn't stand for this rubbish - they both had their faults but this definitely wasn't one of them. And other clubs push back on the media with far less rubbish pointed at them. Imagine if the media did this to Collingwood? No, they wouldn't because Eddie would take them to task.

Go hard and go now (call it 'click bait' call it 'gutter journalism' call it 'deceptive', 'disappointing', 'vitriolic') otherwise it's going to keep happening. Posting these articles and us getting outraged and feeling sorry for ourselves achieves absolutely nothing. We need and should expect a strong administration at the club and if the media pulls bullshit we should absolutely be strong enough to publicly embarrass them.

And lastly I'd like Clarko to finally show some ******* passion. Next press conference would be good to hear him address this sort of reporting and tell the media to stop talking rubbish.
I think you might be overestimating how much the people who run tabloid newspapers care about being called nasty words. Particularly by the leaders of boutique footy clubs.

Its just meaningless noise mate.

And lastly I'd like Clarko to finally show some ******* passion. Next press conference would be good to hear him address this sort of reporting and tell the media to stop talking rubbish.

Or, play some decent footy and win a few games.

For gather round, do they have it like league where it's 3-4 games back to back on the same oval? This I can understand as something unique and different that could be fun attending.

This question shows that I've been both busy at work and dgaf about gathering.

Sent from my SM-G781B using BigFooty.com mobile app

For gather round, do they have it like league where it's 3-4 games back to back on the same oval? This I can understand as something unique and different that could be fun attending.

This question shows that I've been both busy at work and dgaf about gathering.

Sent from my SM-G781B using BigFooty.com mobile app
Yeh be real fun if theres rain all day.

Personally I want nothing more from the AFL. We will get there eventually and I am sick of us being called beggars for receiving our large bounty of 2nd round picks.
I'll take anything we can squeeze out of the mongrels, thanks.