Tasmania Congratulations on Tassie License. Mens team to enter 2028. Womens team TBA. Other details TBA 3/5

I would like to see this new team in red and green hoops.

It would entice Irish players to come over in conditions the closest to Ireland in Australia.

Plus the team needs all the players they can get.
wtf GIF

I would like to see this new team in red and green hoops.

It would entice Irish players to come over in conditions the closest to Ireland in Australia.

Plus the team needs all the players they can get.

Nah, it needs the map of Tasmania so people can remember the island is there.

It even gives them a club song. (NSFW)

My only visit to Tassie was as a guest of Lion Nathan and their Boags Brewery (back in the days when I owned bottleshops). Besides spending time in the brewery in Launceston and Tamar Valley wineries, we did the tours of Port Arthur and time in Hobart enjoying MONA and the hospitality of the friendly locals. The North/South divide between Boags and Cascade always intrigued me. Obviously, I wasn’t there long enough to understand if this rivalry extends to more than just beer but wonder if basing an AFL team in Hobart will get the full (weekly) support of those in the North. I support a Tasmanian AFL footy team, but I just hope the AFL listens to all Tasmanians to get the team right. I’m certainly interested to hear what Tasmanians think about the subject.

It's going to be a 7/4 split of Hobart and Launceston games.

No way they will spend $750 million on a stadium, and play a few in Launceston. Might be lucky to get one game, but the rest will be in Hobart. They will need to maximize its use and revenue to justify its costings. The amount of projected events there a year is already ambitious itself and stadiums always blow out in costings. A few taxpaying locals there are against the new stadium as it is. Imagine the uproar spending a lot of money and only playing 7 games there.

I reckon Launceston is more likely to get the odd Vic team hosting than the new Tassie team splitting games. In the way Hawks and Roos currently do in Tas.

No way they will spend $750 million on a stadium, and play a few in Launceston. Might be lucky to get one game, but the rest will be in Hobart. They will need to maximize its use and revenue to justify its costings. The amount of projected events there a year is already ambitious itself and stadiums always blow out in costings. A few taxpaying locals there are against the new stadium as it is. Imagine the uproar spending a lot of money and only playing 7 games there.

I reckon Launceston is more likely to get the odd Vic team hosting than the new Tassie team splitting games. In the way Hawks and Roos currently do in Tas.
Not pretending I know the answer but my gut feel is that the stadium cash would be better split between more upgrades to York Park in Launceston and whichever is the most suitable existing ground in Hobart.

If there's no games in the North it simply won't work with Hobart's population, will be a recipe for disaster once the early appeal is gone and they have a bad period. Hobart just doesn't have the population alone to support a team as has happened with other teams based there. I think the 7/4 split is fine if there is a new stadium, plenty will be happy to travel down for at least 3 or 4 that way imo and would soften the blow a bit during rough seasons.

It seems weird to those from interstate but no other state has the majority of the population outside of the capital so makes no sense to completely exclude them, especially when the costs to travel down are similar to a flight to Melbourne.

Some people have petty rivalries over the biggest & smallest of issues, thats life for some smallminded individuals.

However, Parochialism in many ways is a good thing. Pride in your local area & some healthy rivalry & banter is fine.

We have Tassie cricket which is based in Hobart, also now the JJ's in the NBL, there is no problem with that.

I'd like to think that once its all underway, things will operate just like Cricket & NBL do now.

The key thing is giving opportunity in NW, North, East, West & South to see & support such sporting teams.

Once again, it is going to be a 7/4 split. That is in all the Tas govt statements - e.g. the stadium feasibility study is based on seven games, and repeated statements that Launceston will not get less than four games. Launceston's York Park is currently undergoing a $65m upgrade. Any 'uproar' will be forgotten long before the team takes the field in 2027 or 2029. Also Penguin's new facility will be used for AFLW and possibly a pre-season match.

There is a possibility (less than 50/50) that Hawks may also host one game in Launceston. Not sure if North are asking for same.

Whately said last night that we will have an answer in April, a few weeks out from the Federal Budget.

Once again, it is going to be a 7/4 split. That is in all the Tas govt statements - e.g. the stadium feasibility study is based on seven games, and repeated statements that Launceston will not get less than four games. Launceston's York Park is currently undergoing a $65m upgrade. Any 'uproar' will be forgotten long before the team takes the field in 2027 or 2029. Also Penguin's new facility will be used for AFLW and possibly a pre-season match.

There is a possibility (less than 50/50) that Hawks may also host one game in Launceston. Not sure if North are asking for same.

Whately said last night that we will have an answer in April, a few weeks out from the Federal Budget.
Thanks. Could you briefly explain what the factors that affect the 2027/2029 timeline are?

I very much doubt that as it will need money allocated in the next Albanese/Chalmers May Federal budget and I think Gill still will be around until that funding is announced.

The whole bid is totally reliant in getting the moneys allocated in that budget. It will likely be announced in April and Gil will be around.

Given we are spending $368 Billion on submarines, I reckon $240m won’t even be noticed.

Thanks. Could you briefly explain what the factors that affect the 2027/2029 timeline are?
We were supposed to get an answer last Sept with a 2027 entry date. With the decision being delayed seven months, the AFL may or may not want to push back entry. I reckon if the AFL thinks 2027 is too rushed (surely it isn’t), they might wait until 2029 which is when the new stadium will be ready.

I think they will stick with 2027. Year one will be huge for crowds then it will die off a little season two is full of massive losses. Season three the new stadium will boost interest again. By years four/five you would expect them to start having winning seasons. Perfect.

Looking like a lock now!

Great news

We were supposed to get an answer last Sept with a 2027 entry date. With the decision being delayed seven months, the AFL may or may not want to push back entry. I reckon if the AFL thinks 2027 is too rushed (surely it isn’t), they might wait until 2029 which is when the new stadium will be ready.

I think they will stick with 2027. Year one will be huge for crowds then it will die off a little season two is full of massive losses. Season three the new stadium will boost interest again. By years four/five you would expect them to start having winning seasons. Perfect.

That's right I reckon. A four-year run-up is surely sufficient. The other beneficial factor is the split will almost certainly be the other way in the first two seasons (if the new stadium isn't ready) i.e. 7-4 launy - hobart, which may help with the buy in up north

Looking like a lock now!

Great news

That's right I reckon. A four-year run-up is surely sufficient. The other beneficial factor is the split will almost certainly be the other way in the first two seasons (if the new stadium isn't ready) i.e. 7-4 launy - hobart, which may help with the buy in up north
Yeah, until Launceston gets a taste and wants 7 games a year permanently. Perhaps the Hawks could still play a home game there making it five while North play one in Hobart making it 8 for them.

I don’t think either of them would play “home” against Tasmania but involving the local team would draw a bigger crowd.

Yeah, until Launceston gets a taste and wants 7 games a year permanently. Perhaps the Hawks could still play a home game there making it five while North play one in Hobart making it 8 for them.

I don’t think either of them would play “home” against Tasmania but involving the local team would draw a bigger crowd.
Yeah, I was thinking that last night. The AFL may facilitate teams like Norh or Hawthorn to have a home game in Tassie against Tassie to enable more exposure for the new team. Last year Eddie Maguire was talking about the Tassie team either never travelling or only travelling to Melbourne. I don’t mind a couple of extra games at home but I think the Tasmanian team should take it’s rightful place on the national stage with the odd interstate trip. Imagine the Tasmanian team playing at Optus, the Gabba or Adelaide Oval.. in conjunction with an advertising campaign for Tasmanian tourism.

The whole bid is totally reliant in getting the moneys allocated in that budget. It will likely be announced in April and Gil will be around.

Given we are spending $368 Billion on submarines, I reckon $240m won’t even be noticed.
And there spending a ton of cash in Queensland infrastructure for a two week Olympics

You can spend all day playing that game - yes, we're spending outrageous money on submarines and the Olympics, but we still won't give people with disabilities or single mothers enough money to keep a roof on their heads.

Of course, if we'd taxed our minerals correctly we'd have as much money as a Gulf state and none of this would matter...