Tasmania Congratulations on Tassie License. Mens team to enter 2028. Womens team TBA. Other details TBA 3/5

I'm not sold on Tasmania for Gather Round.

People complained about the 30 mins to Mt Barker, the 2.5hr trip is going to take a lot of time out of people's weekends.

Most people would have to decide to watch either the Hobart or Launceston games, but few would be able to do both.

And folks had a tizzy at the St Kilda v Collingwood game only being able to host max 50k, it'd be a meltdown if that game occurred in a 23k stadium.

I think Tasmania is too decentralised for the Gather Round concept.
If travel is a problem, you can just have in Hobart. 5/6 games @ new stadium, others @ Bellerive and /or North Hobart. North Hobart's playing dimensions are tiny but it holds over 10K (half seated) and is in a great spot (it will probably be the main home ground for the Tas AFLW side, so some upgrades are justifiable). If it is Tas you would split up the big clubs - Vic clubs v non-Vic. All games would sell out. Reckon they will kick off the new stadium with one Tas home game followed by Gather Round early in 2029.

No roof and this will have a massive impact on the amount of people wanting to go for AFL or other events.

Surely it's not true.
Just like the roof at Marvel makes people want to go there more than the MCG. Just as the MCG roof made 108K go to Ed Sheeran. The roof is a waste of money.

If travel is a problem, you can just have in Hobart. 5/6 games @ new stadium, others @ Bellerive and /or North Hobart. North Hobart's playing dimensions are tiny but it holds over 10K (half seated) and is in a great spot (it will probably be the main home ground for the Tas AFLW side, so some upgrades are justifiable). If it is Tas you would split up the big clubs - Vic clubs v non-Vic. All games would sell out. Reckon they will kick off the new stadium with one Tas home game followed by Gather Round early in 2029.

Gather round? 19 teams. Who misses out? Collingwood who have never played a game for points in tassie

One team will miss each year once Tas come in. I would suggest it be one of the teams furthest away from the host city. I.e. Freo, WC or GC, none of whom will draw many fans to a GR in Tas.

How long until there is a 20th team? I am thinking soon as this is officially announced, it will only be a few months before other serious bids come in for the 20th.
Didn’t barassi ther should be at least 4 Sydney based AFL teams?

Problem is with nsw wa sa the incumbents will not be welcoming

Maybe an ‘allies’ team with rest of australia academy feeder,

Increase number of rounds to 24 but other teams are rostered to play extra against the new team in its home grounds which would be canberra Alice Darwin etc etc.

Up to 16-20 home games for the new club. The host stadiums can then compete financially to get a bigger piece of the pie, until there’s one or two winners then revert to normal home and away situation

How long until there is a 20th team? I am thinking soon as this is officially announced, it will only be a few months before other serious bids come in for the 20th.

Seems to me that could stay at 19 teams for the duration of the upcoming $4.5 billion deal, which runs for 6 years (from memory).
The prospect of a 20th team might have value in the next negotiation.

I am thinking that the AFL and its clubs will want to see how the 19th team goes before thinking about a 20th. If they think it is a good idea around 2027 - 29, we might get a 2th team in 2032 - 35.

Is there a reason why the proposed new Tassie stadium is looking at a capacity of 23,000. Surely they'd be looking at 30k-35k capacity. Considering the popularity of the new home team and also the interstate travel factor, the capacity should be starting at 30k.
Well, the AFL wants a roof and the location on the water. Given that, would suggest that more than 23K would have blown the budget completely. Bear in mind that no designs have been done, just an artist's impression. Who know what we will end up with.

I am thinking that the AFL and its clubs will want to see how the 19th team goes before thinking about a 20th. If they think it is a good idea around 2027 - 29, we might get a 2th team in 2032 - 35.

Agree and that's perfect timing for the Canberra/ giants deal to end.

James Sicily saying it will be very hard to get players to stay in Tasmania, which is true. Player retention will be a huge problem, much bigger than GC/GWS.

Didn't take long did it. Will end up needing additional salary cap to retain/sign players

If the genius James Sicily said it then... :embarrassedv1:

Well, folks. Thats it. James Sicily has said no young people would want to live here. His opinion is gospel. time to pack up and go to the mainland.

I mean, the captain of your club dissing its main sponsor is the height of genius.

Well, folks. Thats it. James Sicily has said no young people would want to live here. His opinion is gospel. time to pack up and go to the mainland.

I mean, the captain of your club dissing its main sponsor is the height of genius.
Former main sponsor :cool: Bye bye, Hawks.

He then goes on to say that he hasn't spent time in Hobart - the actual city that the club will be based in. Absolute top tier opinions, we really should just pack this bid in. Not sure why we didn't just straight up consult Sicily first before we put the bid in, would have saved us a lot of effort.

Well GWS/GC have always has the fact they are based in non-footy areas working against them. At least Tasmanian based players will have the support of a footy heartland state and its supporters. That may be a positive for them to stay.

I don't think many players care about "non-footy areas". For many of them, going out in the city and not being harassed or recognised is a major bonus. The main difference is, Sydney and Gold Coast are amazing places to live for young people... Hobart... not so much. The main reason kids leave GC/GWS is the small crowds and go home factor, which Tasmania will also have the same problem but even worse.

Tasmania will have comfortably have the biggest retention issues in VFL/AFL history, and anyone who can't see that is clueless.

I don't think many players care about "non-footy areas". For many of them, going out in the city and not being harassed or recognised is a major bonus. The main difference is, Sydney and Gold Coast are amazing places to live for young people... Hobart... not so much. The main reason kids leave GC/GWS is the small crowds and go home factor, which Tasmania will also have the same problem but even worse.

Tasmania will have comfortably have the biggest retention issues in VFL/AFL history, and anyone who can't see that is clueless.
Hello Mr. Positive.
Welcome back.

And to make it even worse … his barb is aimed mainly at Launceston, the city which hosts the Hawks …
- “… Still, Sicily did concede he was not across the entirety of the state's activities on offer, admitting that he hadn't spent much time in Hobart, the city proposed to house Tasmania's impending $750 million stadium. "I've only spent time in 'Launie' (Launceston), Hobart's a bit different. There's a bit more happening in Hobart,” he added”.

Haha, what a dumb pillock - I’m sure his club is thrilled with his remarks insulting their Tasmanian host city. Thank God he’s not the Collingwood captain - could you imagine his post-game ANZAC day match speech? Instead of the nearly 3 minutes of eloquence of Dary Moore thanking the crowd, the opposition team, all current serviceman, all veterans and their families, we’d probably get 3 words like “suck sh*t, Essendon!”.