Tasmania Congratulations on Tassie License. Mens team to enter 2028. Womens team TBA. Other details TBA 3/5

Yes it seems all happened in a hurry. No regard for the history of the VFL Devils of 20 years ago. Its the usual ignorant & dumb AFLTas in action once again.

Who ran the joint before the AFL corporatised state footy governance?

Good call. This is what I expected would happen.

Amateur footy players don’t want to be driving across the state. It takes some pressure of clubs by reducing cost and resources needed. Reckon it will boost participation.

The best 15 non AFL listed Tassie local players (semi-pro) will be playing for the VFL side each week.

Amateur footy players don’t want to be driving across the state. It takes some pressure of clubs by reducing cost and resources needed. Reckon it will boost participation.

The best 15 non AFL listed Tassie local players (semi-pro) will be playing for the VFL side each week.

If properly funded. we would see a good standard of footy.

Anyway, they own it, they can throw it away.

Thats what comes of AFL dominance. They make the decisions.

I just hope the SFL aren't as stupid about it all as they were last time. More interested in playing petty games to hurt & demean TSL teams than growing & improving their competition. We shall see I guess.

No bad decision if you ask me it’s a huge drop in standard from vfl to regional football they should learned that from last time and should Have kept the state league and actually funded it properly

It would appear that Tasmanian football wants to deliver a Cricket Hobart-esque **** you to the north and north-west.

Morons.

Suffice to say the North Launceston FC president isn't happy.

President message
24 hours after the Tassie team announcement inclusive of building a billion-dollar stadium at Macquarie Point to showcase our players on the AFL stage the first structure improvement recommendation of AFL Tas to wind up the state league only serves to decimate football in Northern Tasmania.
Hobart and mainland Australia will benefit at our loss.
No question the two outstanding leaders of standards and talent development in this state is the two powerhouse Northern Tas TSL clubs.
Launceston and North Launceston have over the past decade balanced the domination of Tasmanian football with supplying the AFL, VFL, SANFL and feeding the NTFA.
Our club alone has 150 program graduates active in the NTFA.
We have 5 graduate players in the SANFL and two in the VFL.
Two Head VFL coaches are past TSL players and senior premiership coaches from the NLFC.
Since the beginning of TSL in 2009 the NLFC has delivered 7 players into the AFL, one a club captain and triple premiership player.
Launceston FC has similar impressive numbers.
Strong possibility the Launceston TSL clubs will between them deliver 3 graduates into the AFL through the 2023 draft.
Regardless of how the AFL-Tas spin doctors try to sell their brain fart - forcing the two strongest clubs in the state back to regional footy, call it premier league or whatever there will be no local winners.
History suggests expecting a short term sugar hit however the damage caused through the player / coach pipeline shutting down combined with aspirational people leaving the area heading either to Hobart to be closer to the VFL team or mainland will be significant.
With respect the NTFA and the NWFL competitions are not fit for purpose. They rightfully are participation competitions that provide a significant positive community service.
Developing talent to full potential demands a completely different approach than simply mixing it up with participation based footy. Its like mixing petrol with water!
To breed enough of our own AFL/W players to represent us the structure of Tassie football must change but not at the expense of Northern Tasmania.
Clubs develop people better than Academies develop athletes who at 18 are expendable.
There are better alternatives models available to protect the integrity of the NTFA and allow Northern Tasmanians the same opportunities as our southern cousins.
Putting the torch to people who have only worked their butts off for the good of Tassie footy is not a positive start in trying to achieve a one state mindset!
Hopefully the powers to be understand AFL-Tas should be the redundant entity here and quickly take control of tassie footy before this fantastic AFL opportunity only becomes a south of Oatlands windfall.
On behalf of the NLFC
Thane Brady
President

It would appear that Tasmanian football wants to deliver a Cricket Hobart-esque **** you to the north and north-west.

Morons.

President message
24 hours after the Tassie team announcement inclusive of building a billion-dollar stadium at Macquarie Point to showcase our players on the AFL stage the first structure improvement recommendation of AFL Tas to wind up the state league only serves to decimate football in Northern Tasmania.
No question the two outstanding leaders of standards and talent development in this state is the two powerhouse Northern Tas TSL clubs.
Launceston and North Launceston have over the past decade balanced the domination of Tasmanian football with supplying the AFL, VFL, SANFL and feeding the NTFA.
Two Head VFL coaches are past TSL players and senior premiership coaches from the NLFC.
Since the beginning of TSL in 2009 the NLFC has delivered 7 players into the AFL, one a club captain and triple premiership player.
Strong possibility the Launceston TSL clubs will between them deliver 3 graduates into the AFL through the 2023 draft.
Regardless of how the AFL-Tas spin doctors try to sell their brain fart - forcing the two strongest clubs in the state back to regional footy, call it premier league or whatever there will be no local winners.
History suggests expecting a short term sugar hit however the damage caused through the player / coach pipeline shutting down combined with aspirational people leaving the area heading either to Hobart to be closer to the VFL team or mainland will be significant.
With respect the NTFA and the NWFL competitions are not fit for purpose. They rightfully are participation competitions that provide a significant positive community service.
Developing talent to full potential demands a completely different approach than simply mixing it up with participation based footy. Its like mixing petrol with water!
To breed enough of our own AFL/W players to represent us the structure of Tassie football must change but not at the expense of Northern Tasmania.
Clubs develop people better than Academies develop athletes who at 18 are expendable.
There are better alternatives models available to protect the integrity of the NTFA and allow Northern Tasmanians the same opportunities as our southern cousins.
Putting the torch to people who have only worked their butts off for the good of Tassie footy is not a positive start in trying to achieve a one state mindset!
Hopefully the powers to be understand AFL-Tas should be the redundant entity here and quickly take control of tassie footy before this fantastic AFL opportunity only becomes a south of Oatlands windfall.
On behalf of the NLFC
Thane Brady
President

Well you'd expect that. Of course he forgets the last VFL team made a mess of Southern football too.

Of course they produce players, they are the only 2 teams in the North of the state so get the u18's from all over the place.

He mentions AFL/W but forgets they left the TSLW when it suited them which was a big part of why the TSLW was ended.

Short & selective memory Thane!!!!

Morons.

President message
On behalf of the NLFC
Thane Brady
President

thats just crazy.

AFL Tasmania has been run by morons for way too long.

Well you'd expect that. Of course he forgets the last VFL team made a mess of Southern football too.

Of course they produce players, they are the only 2 teams in the North of the state so get the u18's from all over the place.

He mentions AFL/W but forgets they left the TSLW when it suited them which was a big part of why the TSLW was ended.

Short & selective memory Thane!!!!
Just because they are "the only 2 teams north of the state" doesn't automatically mean they will pump out high quality players. And his point was that they were the leading two clubs in the state in this regard, not just the north.

Anyway, you think Launceston and North Launceston should be relegated to the NTFA?

This is the cricket all over again. Downgrade the standard/importance of the northern clubs/leagues and centralize the feeder competition in Hobart.

Just because they are "the only 2 teams north of the state" doesn't automatically mean they will pump out high quality players.

Anyway, you think Launceston and North Launceston should be relegated to the NTFA?

This is the cricket all over again. Downgrade the standard/importance of the northern clubs/leagues and centralize the feeder competition in Hobart.

The 'Southern Feeder Competition' as you call it, wouldn't be fit for purpose. It wasn't last time.

Thats my reason for preferring a better balanced & better funded TSL & TSLW.

The only 2 Northern teams get all the u18's from the North & NorthWest, so the current situation suits them just fine.

As I said It didn't matter to him when they left the fledgling TSLW competition which precipitated it being folded.

NL made a lot of money out of Hawthorn playing at UTas. He'd be thinking that'll disappear too. ;)

The 'Southern Feeder Competition' as you call it, wouldn't be fit for purpose. It wasn't last time.

Thats my reason for preferring a better balanced & better funded TSL & TSLW.

The only 2 Northern teams get all the u18's from the North & NorthWest, so the current situation suits them just fine.

As I said It didn't matter to him when they left the fledgling TSLW competition which precipitated it being folded.

NL made a lot of money out of Hawthorn playing at UTas. He'd be thinking that'll disappear too. ;)
As I said, getting 18s is one thing - developing them is something else completely.

What about the rest of what I said?

I think its plain what I said. I agree we need a TSL. His comments are mainly 'self interest'.

Thats no way to respond to AFLTas.

I understand the State Government support a TSL. So immediately moaning like that isn't real bright, is it?

What about the rest of what I said?

I think its plain what I said. I agree we need a TSL. His comments are mainly 'self interest'.

Thats no way to respond to AFLTas.

I understand the State Government support a TSL. So immediately moaning like that isn't real bright, is it?
The rest of what you said? Okay.

It's not the northern clubs' fault that Burnie and Devonport are no longer in the State League. Given that, where else would you like north-western Under 18's with potential to go? And what would you want North and Launceston to do - turn them away?

Of course Thane Brady will look out for his own club, but he is very much interested in the bigger picture too. And I'd trust him to know how to deal with AFL Tasmania.

I can't comment on the TSLW competition as I don't know the circumstances.

As I said, this is cricket all over again. The "premier" league will be in the south, which will reduce the northern clubs - and the game in the north - to second rate status.

Out of interest, how much money did North make out of Hawthorn playing at UTas? And how did they make it?

The rest of what you said? Okay.

It's not the northern clubs' fault that Burnie and Devonport are no longer in the State League. Given that, where else would you like north-western Under 18's with potential to go? And what would you want North and Launceston to do - turn them away?

Of course Thane Brady will look out for his own club, but he is very much interested in the bigger picture too. And I'd trust him to know how to deal with AFL Tasmania.

I can't comment on the TSLW competition as I don't know the circumstances.

As I said, this is cricket all over again. The "premier" league will be in the south, which will reduce the northern clubs - and the game in the north - to second rate status.

Out of interest, how much money did North make out of Hawthorn playing at UTas? And how did they make it?

Did I blame them for Burnie & Devonport????

They did well out of it though, thus they have been on a good wicket, so to speak:)

I can comment on the TSLW, & I did. NL have a cheek to say anything about Womens football in Tasmania.

NL ran their canteen & use of their function centre at Hawks games. Nice little earners over 20years I'm told.

Anyway, the issue is about unity. If they want a state league then unity of purpose rather than small minded press releases might help the cause a bit better.

When you say 'this is cricket all over again', maybe think about how much cricket? 1 test about every 4 years, the odd ODI or International T20. Rarely ever see the Australian team. They now play BBL at Utas, so what is the/your issue really?

I certainly didn't support Cricket in the South/Footy in the North political BS. It certainly damaged footy in Hobart. North Melbourne turning up did nothing to change that.

What chance do people think it is that we could still miss out on the stadium funding because it doesn't get through parliament so we don't get it in the budget?

Zero point zero.

You've got the team, the commitments for stadium funding have been made. Stop it with the dumb questions now, would ya please.

Good on Cassy O’Connor and Bec White for not doing the easy populist thing and cheerleading a billion dollar stadium that we don't need. Yes we finally get a team, but bloody hell, what an eye-watering cost. What happens to Bellerive now after all that money was spent on it?
Hobart certainly does need a new stadium. Blundstone Arena is worse than the home grounds of every other club in the league and feasibility studies confirmed that it has limited capacity for redevelopment. Are you proposing that Tasmania joins the AFL with the worst home ground in the league and with no plans to rectify the situation?

Good luck trying to attract and retain players with a substandard venue. Interstate tourists will also opt to visit states with better fan experiences (e.g. Adelaide Oval, Optus and a rebuilt Gabba) thus limiting the revenue an AFL club will generate.

You’d seriously prefer to take advice on how to run an AFL football club from Cassy, Bec and Anna Reynolds above the AFL commission and 18 club Presidents? Cause guess what - if the state government had taken their approach then the vote wouldn’t have passed and we wouldn’t even be getting a club.

Hobart certainly does need a new stadium. Blundstone Arena is worse than the home grounds of every other club in the league and feasibility studies confirmed that it has limited capacity for redevelopment. Are you proposing that Tasmania joins the AFL with the worst home ground in the league and with no plans to rectify the situation?

Good luck trying to attract and retain players with a substandard venue. Interstate tourists will also opt to visit states with better fan experiences (e.g. Adelaide Oval, Optus and a rebuilt Gabba) thus limiting the revenue an AFL club will generate.

You’d seriously prefer to take advice on how to run an AFL football club from Cassy, Bec and Anna Reynolds above the AFL commission and 18 club Presidents? Cause guess what - if the state government had taken their approach then the vote wouldn’t have passed and we wouldn’t even be getting a club.
We got blackmailed into spending a billion dollars on a stadium we don't need, and I don't believe that it was necessary to do that to get a team. It's not like we were given alternatives, and it's not like there would have been none. But I'm sure the AFL commission and 18 club presidents know what's best for Tasmania, no doubt at all

Morons.

President message
On behalf of the NLFC
Thane Brady
President

Like I said. There’s no longer a common enemy to unite them

This is AFL Tasmania's doing.

It's not actually about North/South, it's about the health of the game in Tasmania's unique geographical setup.

We got blackmailed into spending a billion dollars on a stadium we don't need, and I don't believe that it was necessary to do that to get a team. It's not like we were given alternatives, and it's not like there would have been none. But I'm sure the AFL commission and 18 club presidents know what's best for Tasmania, no doubt at all
For us to have a successful AFL club, the new stadium IS needed. As a North supporter, I’ve been to Blundstone many times, including a few sell outs. It was a substandard experience (particularly when near capacity) and with minimal hospitality establishments in the area then the wider economic benefits of a sold out game are nullified.

What do you mean “it’s not like we were given alternatives”? Do you expect the state government to stage a plebiscite every time there’s an important piece of infrastructure in the pipeline?

The state government did hire external consultants to canvass alternatives: upgrading Blundstone, Regatta Point, the Domain amongst others. Mac Point was deemed the best option. Of course the trio of fools who you’re listening to don’t dare mention any of this because it would contradict their narrative.

For us to have a successful AFL club, the new stadium IS needed. As a North supporter, I’ve been to Blundstone many times, including a few sell outs. It was a substandard experience (particularly when near capacity) and with minimal hospitality establishments in the area then the wider economic benefits of a sold out game are nullified.

What do you mean “it’s not like we were given alternatives”? Do you expect the state government to stage a plebiscite every time there’s an important piece of infrastructure in the pipeline?

The state government did hire external consultants to canvass alternatives: upgrading Blundstone, Regatta Point, the Domain amongst others. Mac Point was deemed the best option. Of course the trio of fools who you’re listening to don’t dare mention any of this because it would contradict their narrative.
I mean the AFL insisted on this stadium, and no one was given any alternatives. It just got railroaded through as if it wasn't possible for a team without it, despite no one ever mentioning anything of the sort until relatively recently. Look at the way you've described those who dared to question the narrative that we had to had to spend three quarters of a billion dollars on a new stadium (and does anyone really expect that cost not to blow out?). Not exactly a healthy debate, was it? More like a gun to the head.

It is planned that the Mac Point stadium will host its first game in 2029. Blundstone will have well and truly run its race by then. The Gabba is now quite dated compared to other AFL stadia. It’s being knocked down and rebuilt for $2.7b. The Victorian Government plans to knock down and rebuild the MCG’s Shane Warne stand at a huge cost within the next decade. I’m aware that these venues are in much bigger cities but this is what Tassie is up against. We’re not joining a country footy league after all.

I’d be happy for more debate to take place around the pros and cons of the roof and how much money could be saved by building a roofless stadium, but for me, it’s unquestionable that a new Hobart stadium in a better location is needed. UTAS also needs upgrading but it’s in a far superior location (and will not host as many games) so it’s being improved at a fraction of the cost.

There is no reason why Utas Stadium shouldn't host at least as many games as Hobart. It's getting upgraded, it already get bigger crowds than Hobart and has had AFL footy for a decade longer.

Unless of course they need to justify the enormous cost of a new stadium. That might be a reason.