Tasmania Congratulations on Tassie License. Mens team to enter 2028. Womens team TBA. Other details TBA 3/5

You missed my point - it is not where the teams are based, it is the extra games.
It'll click...I have faith in you...

Extra match in a nine game package, AND local content every week. The two concepts are not exclusive. In one state where Ten made a huge racket up here when their expansion of Saturday night coverage in 2006 failed against family TV because the teams weren't Qlders, and in another which would complete the profile. Straight after this debacle, the AFL was suddenly hell bent on GC expansion, and after unsuccessfully trying to strong arm North they went new franchises. Andy's exact words were "$100m or whatever it takes" for each side in establishment costs. The TV networks were ready for the bigger deal, and there's no doubt they got in the ear of the AFL CEO to tell him exactly what that big deal would entail, which included expansion...

You're wrong. Networks don't pay a billion dollars because 5 people are watching Gold Coast play on 7Mate on a Sunday arvo.
No. They pay an extra billion because their opportunity for greater advertising opened up the night before when they broadcast the Brisbane game. Get onto AFL tables, and look at the teams playing on Saturday night, going back twenty years - the bulk of Qld and many Sydney games are played then. That's because they want all three Eastern metro markets on the same page at that designated time. They also know that Fridays are best served with Vics and are reluctant to pit NSW and Qld sides against the NRL...

It's right in front of you, mate, and if you're a long time Qlder, you got a front row seat watching it all unfold...!

It'll click...I have faith in you...

Extra match in a nine game package, AND local content every week. The two concepts are not exclusive. In one state where Ten made a huge racket up here when their expansion of Saturday night coverage in 2006 failed against family TV because the teams weren't Qlders, and in another which would complete the profile. Straight after this debacle, the AFL was suddenly hell bent on GC expansion, and after unsuccessfully trying to strong arm North they went new franchises. Andy's exact words were "$100m or whatever it takes" for each side in establishment costs. The TV networks were ready for the bigger deal, and there's no doubt they got in the ear of the AFL CEO to tell him exactly what that big deal would entail, which included expansion...
I understand what you are saying, but I still disagree. (I will ignore your condescending tone.) Obviously that was the AFL's spin when selling the rights, and it is a nice sell to sponsors, but the money that the media is paying right now is not higher due to the placement of the teams. It is higher primarily due to the extra number of games. If Tasmania replaced GC or GWS, it would not devalue the current rights.

No. They pay an extra billion because their opportunity for greater advertising opened up the night before when they broadcast the Brisbane game. Get onto AFL tables, and look at the teams playing on Saturday night, going back twenty years - the bulk of Qld and many Sydney games are played then. That's because they want all three Eastern metro markets on the same page at that designated time. They also know that Fridays are best served with Vics and are reluctant to pit NSW and Qld sides against the NRL...

It's right in front of you, mate, and if you're a long time Qlder, you got a front row seat watching it all unfold...!

What's the average ratings in Qld/NSW for GC/GWS games?

I think the stadium in Hobart would be great but I think possibly the biggest question over it is will it become a white elephant. I honestly believe it is going to struggle to get the required content to be worth the massive price tag and I don't think 10 to fifteen events in the first years is going to be enough. Do people think it could mean cricket Tas will need to committ to relocating there so it is given the funds to be built because no way on earth is six AFL games and maybe two concerts if they are lucky going to be worth that sort of outlay.

I'm so sick of the "GWS needs Canberra" argument.

Hobart has played a large part in keeping North financially viable. Hawthorn has more Tasmanian members than GWS has members in Canberra. Both deals are individually much more lucrative than GWS' in Canberra. If two clubs can go without much better deals for Tasmania, GWS can go without theirs for Canberra.

GWS represents an area of 2 million people and could be huge. They get a lot of flak from Sydneysiders for not committing full-time. By having one foot in the Canberra camp, they alienate a lot of potential Sydney fans (and vice versa, most Canberrans don't really see them as Canberran either). They will lose some Canberra members, but long-term gain more Sydney members by committing. They will be fine financially, but if they get really desperate, Newcastle has just upgraded their stadium to AFL standard and would likely buy some games.

If the AFL is really worried about GWS not receiving $1.3m a year from the Canberran govt (because $1m of the $2.3m goes directly to grassroots and player pathways), then they are going to baulk how how much of a financial
Yep. Why would they? And why would anyone change from Freo or WC to a new team? WA3 is a strange idea, I assume emanating from those east.
Do you no how many people west coast have on waiting list for memberships / season tickets

I think the stadium in Hobart would be great but I think possibly the biggest question over it is will it become a white elephant. I honestly believe it is going to struggle to get the required content to be worth the massive price tag and I don't think 10 to fifteen events in the first years is going to be enough. Do people think it could mean cricket Tas will need to committ to relocating there so it is given the funds to be built because no way on earth is six AFL games and maybe two concerts if they are lucky going to be worth that sort of outlay.
Cricket will 100% move there is no way they will stay at Blundstone with a brand new stadium across the river. Remember they said the same originally in wa about cricket staying at the waca that never happened

Do you no how many people west coast have on waiting list for memberships / season tickets

From what I can tell, it's 10k "families". Which I think means they can tack people on to their waiting list position.

Those 10k people pay $55 just to be on the waitlist for West Coast. They're monetarily invested for a team they can't even see live. I don't think they'll switch allegiances that easily.

If West Australians are that desperate for AFL, there are 20k empty seats at Freo every fortnight - 220k a year.

Cricket will 100% move there is no way they will stay at Blundstone with a brand new stadium across the river. Remember they said the same originally in wa about cricket staying at the waca that never happened
What use will the recently upgraded Blundstone get then?

The upgrade will be 15 years old by then and most other stands and facilities there will be approaching their use by date. Blundstone will remain the cricket centre of excellence and host state and other cricket matches other than BBL and the odd test Hobart gets.
Unfortunately this happens often. Adelaide Oval built two new stands in 2003 that were demolished in 2012. Parramatta Stadium was upgraded in 2003, then again in 2015, then demolished two years later.

Th
The upgrade will be 15 years old by then and most other stands and facilities there will be approaching their use by date. Blundstone will remain the cricket centre of excellence and host state and other cricket matches other than BBL and the odd test Hobart gets.
Unfortunately this happens often. Adelaide Oval built two new stands in 2003 that were demolished in 2012. Parramatta Stadium was upgraded in 2003, then again in 2015, then demolished two years later.
exactly it will still get use it’s also the southern base for the tsl finals. All up it has had about 50 million spent on it not exactly huge in the grand scheme of things

From what I can tell, it's 10k "families". Which I think means they can tack people on to their waiting list position.

Those 10k people pay $55 just to be on the waitlist for West Coast. They're monetarily invested for a team they can't even see live. I don't think they'll switch allegiances that easily.

If West Australians are that desperate for AFL, there are 20k empty seats at Freo every fortnight - 220k a year.
Freo is the arch enemy for west coast a completely new club may be different

Maybe, but a third club will be in the shadow of Freo, who are already in the shadow of West Coast.

Perth is 50% bigger than Adelaide, but Freo has fewer members than either Port or the Crows (despite having more seats to sell). A new club would struggle further. Perth should be aiming to have two huge clubs, not one huge and two mediocre clubs.

I reckon at most you'll get 2-3000 people on the waiting list jump ship. And that's at most, IMO you'd be lucky to get more than a few hundred.

Bear in mind a lot of those waiting list members go to games given they get priority access to single tickets.

Gill McLaughlin has said the decision on whether Tassie gets a team could go either way. I look forward to seeing the plan for Tasmania if it doesn't go our way and we are forced to wait another 20 odd years potentially, interesting times ahead for Tasmanian footy.

I understand what you are saying, but I still disagree. (I will ignore your condescending tone.) Obviously that was the AFL's spin when selling the rights, and it is a nice sell to sponsors, but the money that the media is paying right now is not higher due to the placement of the teams. It is higher primarily due to the extra number of games. If Tasmania replaced GC or GWS, it would not devalue the current rights.
Sorry, I mean it flippantly. But the last sentence is wrong, and is the core of the billion dollar question. The biggest reason why Tasmania isn't in the AFL is because they are classed as a regional demographic for TV purposes. Replace the others with them, and the whole deal scenario changes...

What's the average ratings in Qld/NSW for GC/GWS games?
More than for non-Qld/NSW involved games, meaning hopefully more than a Scooby Doo rerun on another channel. The Courier Mail couldn't hide their merriment when Footscray played Melbourne in the first live Sat night into Brisbane not involving the Lions, and the "Dogs Were Outrated By The Dog"...

Maybe, but a third club will be in the shadow of Freo, who are already in the shadow of West Coast.

Perth is 50% bigger than Adelaide, but Freo has fewer members than either Port or the Crows (despite having more seats to sell). A new club would struggle further. Perth should be aiming to have two huge clubs, not one huge and two mediocre clubs.
Freo has never won a premiership...I would think if they won one and spend a few years at the top competing they would grow their membership base. But agree with the two huge clubs - if/when the day comes that both Freo and WCE have a waiting list and are turning people away I suppose you could consider a 3rd WA club.

I definitely think WA3 is way below a Canberra team, but still more feasible (but probably less wanted) than a Darwin or NQ team.
I'd go with a Darwin team playing a few home games in Alice and Cairns at the 20th. The whole (i.e. an extra game to sell) is worth more than the sum of its parts (the individual teams). Would need significant federal funding though and agree would be most peoples choice after Tassie.

I think the AFL is happy to settle with 19 teams for a long time because I have not seen the AFL mention any other potential new locations for teams and they have said they are happy with the 19.