Conspiracy Theory Coronavirus #2: Lockdowns

Thoughts on COVID-19? (Choose 2 options)

• It's a naturally occurring virus

Votes: 15 20.3%
  • It came from a Chinese laboratory

Votes: 31 41.9%
  • It came from a US/other laboratory

Votes: 5 6.8%
  • It's dangerous and harsh restrictions are necessary

Votes: 19 25.7%
  • It's not dangerous enough to warrant harsh restrictions

Votes: 22 29.7%
  • It's basically another flu, so restrictions are silly

Votes: 14 18.9%

Based on the initial tests or real life tests?
Data showed 94% fewer symptomatic coronavirus cases and 92% fewer cases of serious illness among those vaccinated.

99.96% of people who received two Pfizer doses did not develop Covid, research in Israel suggests
  • Israeli research has found that just 0.04 per cent of those vaccinated with both doses of the Pfizer/BioNTech vaccine went on to develop coronavirus
  • Of the 700,000 people vaccinated, just 300 later contracted Covid-19, with only 16 requiring hospital treatment, according to preliminary data
  • The vaccine also protects against the more infectious UK variant, research suggests

Agree - how it’s being handled is the real concern.
We’ve dropped the lockdown hurdle rate so low it’s hard to see how long lockdowns can be avoided as we move into the cooler months.
We spent $1.5 bill on 4000 ICU beds in Vic and never used more that 200, so far far less cases than were predicted.
And yet we locked down on Valentine’s Day with 1 active cases - just flagrant stupidity.
The paranoia around the UK strain which still hasn’t caused a death here is just bewildering.
We don't even know if anyone is getting seriously sick. No one is in ICU, afaik. People testing positive, including returned travellers, would tend not to be in the vulnerable groups, and therefore, to make a rash generalisation, they probably are only in the mild category of the illness. Some test positive and have no symptoms. Do you think if people were quite ill, we would be told? If not, why don't they say "XX new cases, all mild"?

In Qld the policy is to put hotel quarantine residents in hospital if they test positive, whether they're sick or not, to keep the hotels as free from it as possible.

Is it any wonder that people are fed up, when it's only the language that uses terms like "wildly infectious" and "deadly" but never follows through with actual wildly infectious spread or deaths (not that I want any of course). Is it necessary to stir up fear when the chance of a nasty outcome is so low?

These people aren't factoring in the reality that a significant number of people are not going to be vaccinated because they are going to choose not to. I know many people who are not interested in taking a rushed vaccine for something with a 99% recovery rate. This includes people that were happy to wear a mask and went along with a lock down but the vaccination is a step too far. I can then see the clowns in govt and health depts saying, "Well we have to lock down again because only X% have had the vaccine" and on it goes. Not to mention they can move the goal posts again, "Oh the vaccine wasn't as good as we expected, wear your mask etc.".

The only way to end this is do not comply.
It is difficult when the governments have passed on the responsibility for obtaining the population's compliance to businesses which are threatened with closure or fines if they don't have "covid-safe" plans, or, like Woolworths this morning, making mask-wearing a condition of entry.

And with a lockdown, in some states there is a financial penalty for travelling outside your zone without a reason: medical, or food shopping, or work, or care providing.

We don't even know if anyone is getting seriously sick. No one is in ICU, afaik. People testing positive, including returned travellers, would tend not to be in the vulnerable groups, and therefore, to make a rash generalisation, they probably are only in the mild category of the illness. Some test positive and have no symptoms. Do you think if people were quite ill, we would be told? If not, why don't they say "XX new cases, all mild"?

In Qld the policy is to put hotel quarantine residents in hospital if they test positive, whether they're sick or not, to keep the hotels as free from it as possible.

Is it any wonder that people are fed up, when it's only the language that uses terms like "wildly infectious" and "deadly" but never follows through with actual wildly infectious spread or deaths (not that I want any of course). Is it necessary to stir up fear when the chance of a nasty outcome is so low?

the normal evolution of a virus is to mutate and become more infectious BUT less deadly. Only a dumb virus kills their host which stops their survival and therefore their ability to spread.
So at face value locking up incoming travelers makes sense as they are more infectious (with the UK virus) than the original virus, but are asymptomatic or have mild symptoms.
And given we had 1255 Flu deaths in Australia in 2019 , WITH a Vaccine, it’s difficult to understand why he are so paranoid with this less deadly UK virus.

Yer, I wonder what the narrative and public perception would be if the press releases and the media reports went something like this.

Tests performed today 5,000, positive results 8, deaths 0, ICU 0, hospitalised 0, mild cases 2, asymptomatic 6.

Agree - how it’s being handled is the real concern.
We’ve dropped the lockdown hurdle rate so low it’s hard to see how long lockdowns can be avoided as we move into the cooler months.
We spent $1.5 bill on 4000 ICU beds in Vic and never used more that 200, so far far less cases than were predicted.
And yet we locked down on Valentine’s Day with 1 active cases - just flagrant stupidity.
The paranoia around the UK strain which still hasn’t caused a death here is just bewildering.

For sure. If we continue using the same standards it is a 100% certainty that we are going to be locking down all over the country over winter. Zero doubt.

In the past few months, this 'UK strain' has seen parts of Australia lock down 4 times with no community spread to speak of(soon to be 5 with Bris). Each time the 'carrier/s' have been particularly active prior to testing positive and yet no outbreak. Ridiculous over reactions.

Then we have - amongst many other head scratching moments - the vaccines. Why does all of the population on the planet need to be vaccinated when the vast majority do not need them? Just look at the mortality rates and the age profiles if you're unsure here.

Additionally, there is absolutely going be some kind of, dare I say it, 'vaccine passport' requirement if you want to participate in society in any meaningful way and/or travel abroad(probably interstate inevitable too). And these vaccines simply are not sufficiently tested and trialled. What on earth are we doing here? Is that at all necessary, do you think?

Why don't we simply vaccinate the vulnerable and/or those who want them?(after they've been sufficiently trialled).

All of these factors(and more) are perfectly valid concerns and that's without even engaging in any sort of conspiracy talk(IMO).

For sure. If we continue using the same standards it is a 100% certainty that we are going to be locking down all over the country over winter. Zero doubt.

In the past few months, this 'UK strain' has seen parts of Australia lock down 4 times with no community spread to speak of(soon to be 5 with Bris). Each time the 'carrier/s' have been particularly active prior to testing positive and yet no outbreak. Ridiculous over reactions.

Then we have - amongst many other head scratching moments - the vaccines. Why does all of the population on the planet need to be vaccinated when the vast majority do not need them? Just look at the mortality rates and the age profiles if you're unsure here.

Additionally, there is absolutely going be some kind of, dare I say it, 'vaccine passport' requirement if you want to participate in society in any meaningful way and/or travel abroad(probably interstate inevitable too). And these vaccines simply are not sufficiently tested and trialled. What on earth are we doing here? Is that at all necessary, do you think?

Why don't we simply vaccinate the vulnerable and/or those who want them?(after they've been sufficiently trialled).

All of these factors(and more) are perfectly valid concerns and that's without even engaging in any sort of conspiracy talk(IMO).
If we start vaccinating children I think my head will explode, they don't get the flu shot which is more of a risk for kids than Covid.

I was watching an NBA game this morning. Anyone not on the court was social distancing and wearing a mask. Yet, on court, they were sans mask, climbing and breathing all over each other. Surely if it's that bad you just don't play at all?

But it gets worse. In the half time break they featured a nationwide junior comp. All of the kids had to wear masks on the court! Who is the sadistic prick that came up with that bird brained idea? Just cruel. I cannot fathom, in any universe, how wearing a mask in that sort of scenario has any benefit other than causing them shortness of breath. Disgrace! And yet they all just eat it up and ask for more. What are the parents doing here?

And again, if it's that bad why are they even playing in the first place. Just madness and it makes zero sense.

Data showed 94% fewer symptomatic coronavirus cases and 92% fewer cases of serious illness among those vaccinated.

99.96% of people who received two Pfizer doses did not develop Covid, research in Israel suggests
  • Israeli research has found that just 0.04 per cent of those vaccinated with both doses of the Pfizer/BioNTech vaccine went on to develop coronavirus
  • Of the 700,000 people vaccinated, just 300 later contracted Covid-19, with only 16 requiring hospital treatment, according to preliminary data
  • The vaccine also protects against the more infectious UK variant, research suggests

What PCR cycle count were they using for both i wonder, easy to achieve what you want just by dialing up or down.

Anyway it doesn't matter dorkie, the magic potion needs to be looking like it works so governments around the world will dial down on the PCR cycle count to deliver less positives thus only picking up those people who are ACTUALLY sick and not all those who can still venture down to bunnings while being pretend sick.

Being blamed for getting it needs to stop too

"If there wasnt a hens party it wouldn't have got out". You dumb campaigner

They were so sick they continued life not knowing they had it. Doesnt that say more than enough?! Then these people get blamed by the morons for the lockdown instead of the Premier??? Im lost as to what goes through their minds (if anything at all)

Given they test for Covid in sewerage water is there any reason I can’t take a massive dump at the testing centre for them to test?

More logical in that you can instead of asking people for a swab in a line ask them to take a dump, put it in a bag and just fling it out the car too the testers to take a look at? Would get many more people willing to test that way too

Didn't panic and now NSW people are free to get on with their easter plans.

NSW Premier Gladys Berejiklian says she's "not overly concerned" about potential new cases in the northern part of the state due to the region's swift response in heeding COVID-19 testing.
Ms Berejiklian says the community has "really taken the health advice on board".
She moved to reassure holidaymakers from NSW they can travel north into Queensland over Easter and not worry about being forced into hotel quarantine on their return

"They don't have to do that 14 day quarantine. We think that's silly.

She is absolutely destroying the rest of the states with how she responds to outbreaks.

Oh and a little dig at the other states who are now enforcing stupid quarantine measures because they panicked.

"We would urge other states to keep their borders open as well.

and further she treats her people with respect and asks them to exercise common sense when travelling and coming across an outbreak

"Our citizens should never feel they can't come back home. The only thing we ask is if you've come back from an area which has had a lot of cases, we said to everybody if you've just come back from Brisbane since 20 March, then you personally have to stay in your home for three days and respect that lockdown.
"If our citizens do go elsewhere into other states, they are always welcome back into their state.

As for the north of the state, where new cases of COVID-19 have emerged, Ms Berejiklian asked the community to "take those extra precautions" to curb the spread.
"The good news is everything is still open.
"So whilst I know Easter is always a good time for businesses to do well, touch wood, they have had a consistent kind of patronage in the last few months and whilst they will still be open, they will still have people in them, we are just asking people to respect the four-square metre rule, just until the end of Easter and make sure they're sitting down when they're having lunch or dinner."

Ms Berejiklian urged travellers to "just assess the risk'.
"You might need to stay in your hotel room if there's suddenly a lockdown (in Queensland) or whatever else.

Unlike Victoria and WA who slam borders shut and invoke red zones in an hysterical panic which has a carry over penalty of weeks after that states lockdown has been lifted.

laughable - Moderna is NOT big PHARMA they are a minnow. They are a bad clinical trial away from a collapsing share price.
They are an R&D company, they don't make profits.
I could show you heaps of speculative Biotechs with similar share price surges.

BIG PHARMA's include BMS, ASTRA ZENECA, GSK, ABBOTT, J&J, Pfizer.
They are part of Big Pharma when they're one of only three COVID injections to be passed for emergency use in the US. Oxford AZ can't get approval yet.
But you're correct that they started as R&D Mode fying rna and backed by Gates produced the experimental mRNA vaccine never before used on humans which shot their stock price up for $30 a share a year ago to $130 today.

How is that not a profit and their clinical trial didn't bother or only used up to 12 animals so what going on now are their human clinical trials. No worries because they have exemptions from being sued for the thousands of adverse effects and deaths that are occurring.

They are part of Big Pharma when they're one of only three COVID injections to be passed for emergency use in the US. Oxford AZ can't get approval yet.
But you're correct that they started as R&D Mode fying rna and backed by Gates produced the experimental mRNA vaccine never before used on humans which shot their stock price up for $30 a share a year ago to $130 today.

How is that not a profit and their clinical trial didn't bother or only used up to 12 animals so what going on now are their human clinical trials. No worries because they have exemptions from being sued for the thousands of adverse effects and deaths that are occurring.

Sales less Cost = Profit.
A share price rise is not profit - it’s an increase in the value of the company.
If they have a bad trial it will sink the share price and the value of the company.
They are not Big Pharma - they are Small Pharma with potential.

All Vaccine Companies have protection from being sued - it’s not just Moderna.
It’s part of a strategy to encourage quick responses to infectious outbreaks.
But importantly the depth of Human trials is not, so there is no need for concerns that not enough testing had ocurrred - it’s just been accelerated.

Being blamed for getting it needs to stop too

"If there wasnt a hens party it wouldn't have got out". You dumb campaigner

They were so sick they continued life not knowing they had it. Doesnt that say more than enough?! Then these people get blamed by the morons for the lockdown instead of the Premier??? Im lost as to what goes through their minds (if anything at all)
Health care workers and anyone in contact with new quarantined arrivals need to be vaccinated real quick.....feds are stuffing this up
Vaccinating people before they come home as part of the deal of coming home should be a priority too.

You go and get put on the list if you step in that room and get jabbed
20 odd days later you get told to get on the plane a few hours earlier to be able to get your next one

No jab no fly

I haven't have a chance to find the published research that these articles were based on yet to have a look, but similar results published weeks ago with similar claims had glaring omissions.

One was they omitted 26,000 vaccinated aged car residents from the data. This is unconscionable as they could be easily matched and when the deaths rates from COVID went up markedly in the same time as I've shown with real world data, it's probably because of these unreported cases.

The numbers they did report from both vaccinated and non vaccinated group are very small so the 95% effectiveness they quote with 700,000 9in each group could be the difference between 4 and 4.2%!

Israel has offered their population up as Guinea pigs which is being challenged with the International Penal Court accept a lawsuit against Pfizer for illegal experimental trial in Israel, violating the Nuremberg Code, so I'm not surprised at the biased reporting of results which occurs you leave out 26,000 critical people.

Just as well Australia aren't relying on these reports ... Oh wait.