Discussion Coronavirus

Were the last 4 days similar. I think that’s a yes. Not sure your graph has today. Think it’s been something like 51 67 61 54. Now that’s not bad and as I said certainly means percentage wise it’s dropping. That can’t be anything but a good thing Sorry your graph is for Australia I just noticed. I was talking Victoria.
Ah my mistake yeah I thought you meant Australia. Definitely seems like we've got our shit together a bit better in Vic than other states, NSW especially

I

In terms of Scomo's actions over Covid19, lets just wait until it's all over befor we make judgement on his actions.

I remember though that Conservative governments of all my adult life have presented their terms of election through the veil of fear and they will save us from.

These things we need to be afraid of
Asylum seekers
Terrorists
Taxes
Red tape
Unions
Drugs
Immigrants
Moslems
Asians
Chinese
Aborigines
Mabo
Intellectual elites
The unemployed
African youth
Any response to climate change
Public servants
The Labor Party
Large goverment
etc

All the while selling themselves as a sure hand the safe option, when in power they've slashed the public service in terms of numbers, crushed it's function from being advisors to Government to being yes men and cronies, and God help anyone that has the courage to tell truth to power.

So any failures during this time can be traced right back to the ideologues of the right and they should be held responsible for them.

Conservatives have sold themselves on leadership and a safe hand, Scomo has had 2 genuine crises to deal with, his response to the first was pathetic, I'll need time to judge his second effort, but I won't be cutting him any slack, if nothing else because a leaders judgement and decision making in times of crises is what defines them
Got to say I couldn’t be bothered with discussing this. Happy to discuss what has been done currently but like I said earlier for most it will down to who you barrack for.

You mean someone hasn’t, those scenes made the toilet paper stampede look like a fun run.

Anyway surely a bottle shop is an essential service, I watched Pauline Hanson giving an interview and if it’s up to her it will be.
They need to keep us docile and compliant.
No booze = anarchy

One thing is certain the world will never be the same after this event is over. Big change ahead.

Don't be surprised if hospitality and tourism don't come back to where they were for 10 years. Realestate and stocks probably take a huge hit too, lots of companies that don't actually have any real purpose might need to be culled, buying back infrastructure and less globalised manufacturing would be nice too.

Universal basic income probably has to be part of the future too. Hopefully people start to enjoy not working and spending time with family. It could be an incredible new age or a depressing poorer future. Not sure where it will go. The system needed a reset, probably not blowing up though.

Don't be surprised if hospitality and tourism don't come back to where they were for 10 years. Realestate and stocks probably take a huge hit too, lots of companies that don't actually have any real purpose might need to be culled, buying back infrastructure and less globalised manufacturing would be nice too.

Universal basic income probably has to be part of the future too. Hopefully people start to enjoy not working and spending time with family. It could be an incredible new age or a depressing poorer future. Not sure where it will go. The system needed a reset, probably not blowing up though.
The human race has great ability to bounce back. As long as this can be solved within a year we will bounce back. Someone has to own the huge houses, the middle class houses etc There is always new opportunities for business.

Got to say I couldn’t be bothered with discussing this. Happy to discuss what has been done currently but like I said earlier for most it will down to who you barrack for.
You can go any way you like, but this has nothing to do with me barracking, it's about making decisions and being accountable for outcomes, Scomo is making decisions that will affect all of us now and for a generation to come, and I'll judge him the same way I'd judge anyone in charge.

Clearly an article today said it had nothing to do with border protection. They don’t have the authority. Nsw health let them go. Border protection let them in because there wasn’t a reported case I believe. Let’s face it we will find faults depending on who you barrack for in most cases. I think scomo is doing a great job considering he has to balance the cv and the mental health of people. If you barrack for the other side you would say the messages are all over the place

I don't agree, I would be happy with anyone that stood up. John Howard was a campaigner but his handling of Port Arthur was done well. I can dislike everything else he did but rate his performances being good or bad. I don't think Scomo is doing a good job, he was a bit of a Steve Bradbury prime minister and he's like a guy that is out of his depth. Of course it's a hard job and lots of other people would be just as shit but we want who ever is in power to act in a clear and decisive manner with as much direction and certainty as can be given at this time.

You can go any way you like, but this has nothing to do with me barracking, it's about making decisions and being accountable for outcomes, Scomo is making decisions that will affect all of us now and for a generation to come, and I'll judge him the same way I'd judge anyone in charge.
That’s fine but you seem to have a lot of issues with what the libs have done previously. Obviously labor have been fine. My guess it you may usually vote labor and like following the saints we look at things with bias even if we try not to.

I don't agree, I would be happy with anyone that stood up. John Howard was a campaigner but his handling of Port Arthur was done well. I can dislike everything else he did but rate his performances being good or bad. I don't think Scomo is doing a good job, he was a bit of a Steve Bradbury prime minister and he's like a guy that is out of his depth. Of course it's a hard job and lots of other people would be just as shit but we want who ever is in power to act in a clear and decisive manner with as much direction and certainty as can be given at this time.
Well it depends how you see what he is doing. The way I see it he is closing things gradually because he knew Centrelink could never handle a. Sit down if everything on the same day. It couldn’t as it was. Could you imagine the mental anguish if you were waiting weeks if not months for payments. As he said last night and it was the best thing he said it not just the cv causing illness it could also be losing your job. Anyway I usually vote libs and have never voted labor so I am biased. My guess is you are biased as well. Don’t worry I saw on Facebook plenty having ago at scomo. Most of who I know would lean left.

That’s fine but you seem to have a lot of issues with what the libs have done previously. Obviously labor have been fine. My guess it you may usually vote labor and like following the saints we look at things with bias even if we try not to.
You'd be wrong then, and given you've never sat down with me and had a discussion about philosophy, ethics or morals you're making a judgement through your bias.
So I'll make it clear, I believe in responsibilty for the outcomes of choices made, my choices in my life and the choices I make that affect others. The same way Iook at the rest of the world.

You'd be wrong then, and given you've never sat down with me and had a discussion about philosophy, ethics or morals you're making a judgement through your bias.
So I'll make it clear, I believe in responsibilty for the outcomes of choices made, my choices in my life and the choices I make that affect others. The same way Iook at the rest of the world.
Ok I was just going by what you wrote initially about the libs. Looked like a non lib supporter but it’s Good to see no bias. You would be one of the few.

Ah my mistake yeah I thought you meant Australia. Definitely seems like we've got our shit together a bit better in Vic than other states, NSW especially

I think all trackers thus far for Aus are centralised to main CBD's for a per state capita of cases, from what I can largely find this is the case with VIC gov and it's probably just due to the mass hysteria that would result through specific regions being named, since I imagine like the first restrictions, people would lose their shit massively and panic.

Ok I was just going by what you wrote initially about the libs. Looked like a non lib supporter but it’s Good to see no bias. You would be one of the few.
Competence, intelligence, integrity none are the exclusive right of any political party or belief, right now the Libs are in charge, they're the guys making the decisions.

After this state Labor and the Greens will leave me jobless, I'm not happy about that either.

It appears to me now that the different states are having more say in the fight against Corona Virus than the Commonwealth Like Victoria appears to be leading the way. Closing the schools by Andrews has left the Libs in a dilemma. If they now close the schools in a Liberal state it will look like they are following the ALP and they cant have that. I know it is petty and childish, but we have seen so many times over the years when the Libs have canned things done by Labour, such as the Collins Submarines, avoiding the GFC etc. I wish we had no parties in government, but all the members of parliament were independants. Government would be a mess, but it is now.

Dan Andrews did say the only reason they closed the schools was because school holidays were due to begin in 7 days time, so they brought them forward.

My wife is a teacher in a lower socioeconomic Catholic school and while they haven’t closed the school. Student numbers are down with only 38% of kids showing up to school.

WA has another two weeks to the school holidays begin.

Just a brief on the Collins Class, both fair and unfair. Initially, they were cactus with multiple problems almost everywhere that mattered, but in the end, they were and are brilliant and practices world leading, with replacement only being mooted what, 5 years back since Turnbull announced it as PM? So it's fair to have both opinions on that one. GFC is mostly classic fear mongering much like the franking credits situation of "ermegerrd dere gonna steal my monies" even if it needed a bit more work, better preference than rallying against institutions charging dead people fees...

With this situation, as we trend towards all being on the same page (state & national got together as of the 13th of March) we're looking better as a nation to try and contain this virus, continue to work to not stifle the economy totally, and to try and see and end in sight with trials and research and pushes to maintain a "level". Andrews has his own detractors, but the reason VIC has primarily been an ALP state since the early 90's is because short of Jeff, the alternative has been absolutely shit ala "I'm going to sign this multi million contract hours before I leave office" Naptime.

People will always generally gravitate to the party seemingly with their interests front of mind.

I think all trackers thus far for Aus are centralised to main CBD's for a per state capita of cases, from what I can largely find this is the case with VIC gov and it's probably just due to the mass hysteria that would result through specific regions being named, since I imagine like the first restrictions, people would lose their shit massively and panic.
Yesterdays cases in Vic by general location (ie municipalities) from the VicHealth daily update. This is as specific as it gets unless you happen to been in contact with one of the known cases then you'll know exactly who it is.

"Of the total 466 cases, there have been 386 in metropolitan Melbourne and 47 in regional Victoria. A number of cases remain under investigation.

Multiple cases have occurred in the regional local government areas of Greater Geelong (11), Ballarat (5), Baw Baw (2), Greater Shepparton (2), Surf Coast (2), Warrnambool (2), Latrobe (2), Macedon Ranges (2), Mitchell (4) and Mount Alexander (3).

Bass Coast, East Gippsland, Gannawarra, Hepburn, Mildura, Moira, Moyne, Moorabool, Northern Grampians, South Gippsland, Wellington and Yarriambiack have all recorded one case.

The Department of Health and Human Services follows up and monitors all close contacts of confirmed cases and provides them with information and support. All close contacts must self-isolate for 14 days. "