Mega Thread Cost of Living Allowance (COLA) discussion

Quite simply if this was a genuine situation requiring extra money then Perth and Melbourne based clubs would also get extras.

However none of us want the filthy Lucre cause we want to be remembered as teams that deserved to win our flags.

West Coast have requested it from the AFL twice. Can we end this charade now?

Your post about standing on your own two feet is amusing, from a club that relies on Tasmanian government subsidy to offset the fact your million members dont seem to show up to your games....
Yeah, I had a chuckle at that too......:)

Ok num nuts, can you please explain to us why only Sydney teams get a cost of living allowance?
Wow, seriously? Because Sydney had a much higher COL than any city when it was brought in and still does with the exception of Perth - but it's still higher.

What is the base this cost of living is measured against? Melbourne?
Something makes me think it was Brisbane but I don't recall. Check with the AFL.

If Sydney is 10% more expensive than Melbourne how come Perth teams get nothing? Perth is a hell of a lot more expensive than Melbourne but those teams get nothing.
So Perth should get it too. This has been agreed to many times. It is not logical for anyone to say that we shouldn't get it because Perth clubs don't. Us getting it whilst Perth clubs don't has nothing to do with us. People seem to think we are responsible. Just weird

Looking forward to hearing your "logical argument".:cool:
How'd I go "num nuts"?

so you admit that the current situation is unfair?
I bet Sydney fans would love this to go away, however I can assure you that you will always be reminded of this foul play and the aspersions it casts over your last two flags FOREVER.
Why would they, when they can sit back and watch the entertaining hysterical outrage from the likes of your good self?

Perhaps someone can help me... I'm not sure whether to buy the Swans premiers Guernsey or whether I should spend the money on the GF DVD Victory set? They're both around the same price.

Everyone knows it's bullshit.

NZ Warriors salary cap is done using the exchange rate, not PPP.

The whole notion is a joke, geelong getting less than Melbourne teams? Come on.

Do players earning 200k really consider that they might have to spend an extra $50 a week on rent. We're all adults here, we all know this has nothing to do with CoL.

Everyone knows it's bullshit.

NZ Warriors salary cap is done using the exchange rate, not PPP.

The whole notion is a joke, geelong getting less than Melbourne teams? Come on.

Do players earning 200k really consider that they might have to spend an extra $50 a week on rent. We're all adults here, we all know this has nothing to do with CoL.

I don't think you'll find too many Swans fans that completely disagree with you. I don't see the need for players on huge salaries to have a COL allowance factored in. I definitely think both rookies and players on less than say 100k per year from both Sydney and Perth should be granted an additional allowance outside the cap though. Nothing like it is at the moment.

All this aside though... The OP is clearly just offended over the grand final. If he actually cared about the COL allowance he could have posted this crap in one of the many threads already dedicated to it, where every misinformed, poorly thought out argument has been rehashed hundreds of times over.

Perhaps someone can help me... I'm not sure whether to buy the Swans premiers Guernsey or whether I should spend the money on the GF DVD Victory set? They're both around the same price.

Get both, the mmm commentary is good they seem so shocked by the ride the hawks got with the umps

I don't think you'll find too many Swans fans that completely disagree with you. I don't see the need for players on huge salaries to have a COL allowance factored in. I definitely think both rookies and players on less than say 100k per year from both Sydney and Perth should be granted an additional allowance outside the cap though. Nothing like it is at the moment.

All this aside though... The OP is clearly just offended over the grand final. If he actually cared about the COL allowance he could have posted this crap in one of the many threads already dedicated to it, where every misinformed, poorly thought out argument has been rehashed hundreds of times over.

Agree 100% - except I'd just suggest raising minimum wage to about 70k and keep all salary caps the same :thumbsu:

But the system is flawed and should be reviewed, the salary cap should be even or if you have to have a COL it should be across the board and aimed at rookies

The whole idea (ignoring what it's really for) is that Sydney is the most expensive so Sydney gets more money.

If you up everyone's salary cap to $8.78m + 9.8% then the alleged problem facing the Swans doesn't go away because players will leave citing Sydney being more expensive than Melb/Adel/Per.

Agree that no one on above say $120k deserves any assistance whatsoever.

Yeah, that was a strange one. Maybe the idea that Sydney players should live in 15msq studio apartments is going to get another run.

More deflection dressed up as making a point.

Ignoring the fact that I never actually claimed it was 'cheap', Redfern is hardly millionaires row. Players can afford to live there. If West Coast players can't afford to live in Dalkeith why should Sydney players receive an allowance to live in Bondi?

RE: your attempted jibe at the 15sqm palace, I wasn't the one that claimed you can't get anything within 50km of the CBD for under $500k. Clearly you can, perhaps your own fans should quit the hyperbole before throwing stones.

Come on dude ... it wasn't that simple in your last post where you made incorrect assumptions. Hence us thinking that you and others who support your club cannot deal with these issues rationally.

Saying it's that simple is ignoring how the AFL works. There are many things in the AFL that disadvantage us and we get nothing for those. COLA is one of the things where the AFL does even things up.

Just focussing on one thing that is a completely valid allowance is pointless.
Yes, it was that simple. That's the crux of the argument. You get propped up with money to keep you competitive. Just as GC and the GWS got extra picks in their first few years, the Swans have extra room to move every year, hence my point about rolling up to trade week with $1million more to work with than other clubs.

The AFL want Sydney to be competitive. It's no more a cost of living allowance than this post that I'm writing is a peace treaty in Israel.

You've convinced yourself it's valid. Most Swans have.

There are many things in the AFL that disadvantage us and we get nothing for those.
Yet you still get more than any other side, be they in Brisbane, Fremantle, Adelaide or Geelong.

Your post about standing on your own two feet is amusing, from a club that relies on Tasmanian government subsidy to offset the fact your million members dont seem to show up to your games....
Because no other side has sponsorship, I take it?

Yes, it was that simple. That's the crux of the argument. You get propped up with money to keep you competitive. Just as GC and the GWS got extra picks in their first few years, the Swans have extra room to move every year, hence my point about rolling up to trade week with $1million more to work with than other clubs.

The AFL want Sydney to be competitive. It's no more a cost of living allowance than this post that I'm writing is a peace treaty in Israel.

You've convinced yourself it's valid. Most Swans have.

[QUOTEquote="Numbered Days, post: 26212925, member: 94616"]
There are many things in the AFL that disadvantage us and we get nothing for those.
Yet you still get more than any other side, be they in Brisbane, Fremantle, Adelaide or Geelong.[/quote]

Who denies it should be reviewed, no one with a brain.

It was voted in by all clubs and it prevented players leaving and unless you have access to the data the decision was based on you actually have stuff all idea what you are talking about.

But as i said to your other bitter hawks flog mate at least the sydney swans are being recognised as more talented than the hawks now thank you, we are able to pay to retain all our super stars and all.

Because no other side has sponsorship, I take it?

I guess he is talking about selling games to another state to prop up your side, its not the same thing, but when someome craps on about the hawks standing on their own feet its relevant

Ease up mate the hawks do stand on there own feet, they took steps to ensure that they were financial so good on em I got respect for that, at least they didn't go down the financial gurgler and were forced to move interstate permanently.

Who denies it should be reviewed, no one with a brain.

It was voted in by all clubs and it prevented players leaving and unless you have access to the data the decision was based on you actually have stuff all idea what you are talking about.
There it is, plain and simple, you've said so yourself.

It should be reviewed, as no one can explain why Sydney have a larger cap to work with.

Thank you and good night.

Hang on a minute??
Melbourne costs more to live in than Adelaide, so why don't Melbourne clubs receive a "Cost of living" allowance in their salary cap??

Obviously its because the "Cost of living" allowance has nothing to do with the cost of rent in Sydney. The cost of living is utterly irrelevant. The reason they get the extra million bucks is to ensure their success.
Thats why the Lions lost their "Cost of living" allowance after three flags.

The truth is the swans just cant make a go of it on a level playing field and so they need charity in the form of the rules being bent.

The swans are nothing more than AFL endorsed cheats.

Now I have been saying this for many years so its nothing to do with the Grand final loss.

I was quite happy for my Dads team to win one. RIP Dad.

However the Swans have been guilty of sheer, unadulterated arrogance in the pursuit of Tippet. Rubbing other clubs noses in it.

The cost of living undermines the integrity of the salary cap and therefore the competition.
Does the AFL leadership lack the courage to "Level the playing field" as its fears the Swans bottoming out?

How long will the AFL endorse this inequity between the clubs?
Do you actually know what the col is. I don't either.from what I gather its divided between the 44 players on our list, roughly $22 thousand for each player, it's not in the salary cap. If the swans are endorsed afl cheats, what are hawthorn? They have to play home games in tassie! Don't even start on sydney mate.

Mega Thread Cost of Living Allowance (COLA) discussion