• Cotchin

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Gibbs

Votes: 0 0.0%

it seems you guys are all 11. i was just trying to prove how stupid and stereotypical the gun's post was by using another extremely stupid argument where i stereotype all richmond supporters. it wasn't a comeback as such. i was just trying to prove what a ridiculous argument the gun was making. i didn't think it was that hard to understand....

Yeah, he meant to make himself look silly to make a statement that all Richmond supporters look silly :D

Hehe, nah we understood just messin' :thumbsu:

I love it, ah gay thats a terrible comeback kreuz control... Bump the tread next year around round 18 i reckon then we shall know a direct comparison!
You probably won't want too unless you are calling for heads to roll in your football department:thumbsu:

Yeah you are right mate, Gibbs is a dud, and basically was a mistake! :rolleyes:

If you really believe that, perhaps you really dont have an eye for talent?

Yeah you are right mate, Gibbs is a dud, and basically was a mistake! :rolleyes:

If you really believe that, perhaps you really dont have an eye for talent?
No, Gibbs is very good, but I am talking about passing up Cotchin;)

Ability to play on some of the best in the AFL in year 2 (C Cornes, Goodes to name a few) and beat them, plays taller than Cotchin, gets the ball in traffic, kicks goals, high posession winner, terrific foot skills, can play a negative role when called upon. Now tell me what Cotchin can do that Gibbs cant.

He looks to be a very good kid, but based on his first year on AFL footy, at this stage Palmer who is a similar type of player looks a better player. Time will tell, I am giving facts, not dealing in maybes.

Ability to play on some of the best in the AFL in year 2 (C Cornes, Goodes to name a few) and beat them, plays taller than Cotchin, gets the ball in traffic, kicks goals, high posession winner, terrific foot skills, can play a negative role when called upon. Now tell me what Cotchin can do that Gibbs cant.

He looks to be a very good kid, but based on his first year on AFL footy, at this stage Palmer who is a similar type of player looks a better player. Time will tell, I am giving facts, not dealing in maybes.
Get the ball in a pack and bust his way through.

Off the top of the dome, I can 3 midfielders who do it regularly.

Get the ball in a pack and bust his way through.

Off the top of the dome, I can 3 midfielders who do it regularly.

Gibbs isnt a pack burster, but he does get it in traffic, and has the time and skill to think his way through, and makes good decisions when under the pump too.

FWIW, I think that Cotchin is a terrific little player, but no way would I trade BG for him!

Your joking right?

I like how according to Carlton fans, Cotchin is a similar player to Palmer :rolleyes: and he's a 'good little player' . . . the fact is that in his first season with no pre-season and a foot injury he has shown to be the most promising midfielder since Joel Selwood.

Mate if you are going by both of their first seasons, then Palmer is ahead at this stage. I dont think that anyone doubts that cpotchin is going to be a jet, but right now Palmer is ahead of him.

Based on what? His stats don't indicate that (Murphy's first season was superior to Cotchin, as has been Palmer). He showed the odd flash of brilliance, but so have other young midfielders in the last 2-3 seasons. I liken the way Cotchin has been compared to Ablett jnr, Judd, Selwood etc, to the ill-fated comparisons of Garry Sobers, Lawrence Rowe, Viv Richards, Brian Lara & Sachin Tendulker to Don Bradman. They all showed class during their careers, but none of them have had careers that even come close to Bradman.

Some sections of the media & the 'experts' on BigFooty :eek: are so quick to proclaim young players as potential stars & more often than not finish up with egg on their faces. Cotchin has not yet done enough to warrant these comparisons. He is a good kid, who will play a lot of AFL football, but has done nothing that other first year players haven't done in the past.

Gibbs - absolute class act!

http://au.youtube.com/watch?v=_DS2uTDVdjc&feature=related

However, Cotchin will be a star
At least tell us where to look for Gibbs' class, so we don't have to watch the whole ****ing highlights package...

No I am not joking mate, check out round 11 and round 17 from 2008, he did a job on both!
I think he was inferring that C Cornes and Goodes aren't "some of the best in the AFL".

Don't shoot the messenger...

Mate if you are going by both of their first seasons, then Palmer is ahead at this stage. I dont think that anyone doubts that cpotchin is going to be a jet, but right now Palmer is ahead of him.
And right now, Cotchin is ahead of Kreuzer.

Cue excuses...

Based on what? His stats don't indicate that (Murphy's first season was superior to Cotchin, as has been Palmer). He showed the odd flash of brilliance, but so have other young midfielders in the last 2-3 seasons. I liken the way Cotchin has been compared to Ablett jnr, Judd, Selwood etc, to the ill-fated comparisons of Garry Sobers, Lawrence Rowe, Viv Richards, Brian Lara & Sachin Tendulker to Don Bradman. They all showed class during their careers, but none of them have had careers that even come close to Bradman.

Some sections of the media & the 'experts' on BigFooty :eek: are so quick to proclaim young players as potential stars & more often than not finish up with egg on their faces. Cotchin has not yet done enough to warrant these comparisons. He is a good kid, who will play a lot of AFL football, but has done nothing that other first year players haven't done in the past.
It's harsh to compare GAblett jnr and the rest to Don Bradman.
He isn't in the best 50 players of all time, let alone the best.
And Viv Richards would have to be close, as would Sobers, to Bradman, if not for their average but match winning ability.

BlueDW, I think you might find that Coughlan was referring to Carlton's decision to take Kruezer ahead of Cotchin in the draft last year, not so much a comparison to Gibbs.

See what i mean, BlueDW? ^^

You don't go comparing MarcMurphy to TrentCotchin just cos MarcMurphy got more stats or whatever. Cotch is in a different class, and has shown so much more in his first year than MarcMurphy did.

See what i mean, BlueDW? ^^

You don't go comparing MarcMurphy to TrentCotchin just cos MarcMurphy got more stats or whatever. Cotch is in a different class, and has shown so much more in his first year than MarcMurphy did.

I'm still waiting for someone to actually identify what it is that Cotchin did in his first season. I'm reading lots of spin, but very little substance. Specifics please.

Brushed off Murphy like a piece of lint

http://au.youtube.com/watch?v=G-Cye6RGYbM

So he is going to be better than Judd & Ablett jnr, based on one passage of play? Go back & watch some of the things Murphy did in his first season, like his 26 possession game while being tagged by Stenglein, in our narrow loss to the Eagles. Or the following week against the Kangaroos, when he picked up 25 disposals (& 2 Brownlow votes) while being tagged separately by both Rawlings & Firrito.

I'm not denying Cotchin will be a very good player, but the hype at the moment is just over the top. As I have stated previously, what he achieved this season, has been achieved, & exceeded, by other young midfielders in recent seasons. He has done nothing specifically that tells us he is going to be better than Judd, Ablett jnr, Selwood, Murphy, Gibbs, Palmer etc, as some would have us believe.

So he is going to be better than Judd & Ablett jnr, based on one passage of play? Go back & watch some of the things Murphy did in his first season, like his 26 possession game while being tagged by Stenglein, in our narrow loss to the Eagles. Or the following week against the Kangaroos, when he picked up 25 disposals (& 2 Brownlow votes) while being tagged separately by both Rawlings & Firrito.

I'm not denying Cotchin will be a very good player, but the hype at the moment is just over the top. As I have stated previously, what he achieved this season, has been achieved, & exceeded, by other young midfielders in recent seasons. He has done nothing specifically that tells us he is going to be better than Judd, Ablett jnr, Selwood, Murphy, Gibbs, Palmer etc, as some would have us believe.

This is just an example.

He has speed, good vision, hard to tackle, great skills by hand and foot and kicks goals. Murphy doesn't have great speed, his vision IS good, but he's not too hard to tackle, ok skills by hand, shocking by foot, doesn't kick goals.

This is just an example.

He has speed, good vision, hard to tackle, great skills by hand and foot and kicks goals. Murphy doesn't have great speed, his vision IS good, but he's not too hard to tackle, ok skills by hand, shocking by foot, doesn't kick goals.

Murphy kicked 8.4 in the 12 1/4 games he played in his first season, while Cotchin kicked 9.5 from 15 games this season (Kreuzer managed 13.1 while playing mostly as an interchange ruckman). Currently they both average 0.6 goals per game.

Let's call it 13 games then. Fine whatever, the fact remains that there is a gulf in class, and Cotchin leads on those other points too. Let's not forget that Cotchin has had no pre-season and was injured and missed a few games at the start of the year. Murphy was injured towards the end of the season, but was in good nick for the games he played.

And that's where the whole debate becomes subjective & where this thread topic becomes blurred, because Bryce Gibbs possesses a great deal of class as well. In fact he probably has more class than Joel Selwood, but is definitely not as good as Selwood at this stage of their respective careers. So Player A allegedly has more class than Player B, but does that make him better than player B? Not necessarily. Travis Johnstone oozes class, but we all know how his career has unfolded. One of the game's great underachievers.