Cousins still in denial

3000 a week. Thats so funny.

Why?

What's the going rate in WA.

I haven't been near coke for a couple of years but I could see how that much could go through your hands every week if you were into it in a big way.

Why?

What's the going rate in WA.

I haven't been near coke for a couple of years but I could see how that much could go through your hands every week if you were into it in a big way.

For a friend of Kizons and co not 3000. If you snorted 3000 a week you would die in a fortnight

Did I say he snorted it all?

I said I wouldn't be surprised if that much went through his hands (and I'm not suggesting he was selling it either). I do agree the $3000 price tag does seem a little over the top but sometimes you need to pay for discretion (again not suggesting anything).

Interesting quote from this article...

Shows the maturity of the bloke, not man enough to admit his mistakes and take the appropriate steps to get healthy.[/QUOTE]

Maturity wont be his problem. All Junkies think they dont have a problem.

I think the whole shock of being exposed is hurting him as much as the drug issue alone. On top of that as someone mentioned above, a lot, not all of Eagle supporters are acting as if this is just a beat up from the eastern states. People were ringing up 6PR radio last week nearly crying into the phone saying leave Ben alone he is not on drugs and he is a great guy. This has been the worlds worst kept secret for a few years and the fact that West Coast as a club took no action, or failed to investigate shows they were in denial themselves or not rocking the boat whilst the team was winning.

Ok, i have had enough of people that don't know ****, talking about drugs.

Considering he has been a very consistent player, i would assume he's use of drugs would = MAX $100 a week. 3000 grand? Pull the other one, not even a horse could last a week taking that much junk.

Your assumption is what is utter tripe. He could do $100 in a couple of hours, no worries.

Ok, i have had enough of people that don't know ****, talking about drugs.

An ecstasy pill costs about $30, and with Cousins connections i reckon you can half that to $15 bucks, specially if he was buying $3000 worth! And one pill will stuff you around for the next couple of days even though you are functioning ok. So if he was just on the 'flippers' he would had to have about 200 pills a week! you would die after 2 weeks, no doubt about that. Ecstasy is the only stuff I've seen and been offered in a night out but a couple of my mates have more experience with Coke and Ice.

Now ice and coke are a little more expensive, but I'm just saying for Cousins to have been taking 3000 grand worth a week of this ****, he would have died months ago, its just not physically possible for a person to spend that much a week on drugs and take them all and live. Considering he has been a very consistent player, i would assume he's use of drugs would = MAX $100 a week. 3000 grand? Pull the other one, not even a horse could last a week taking that much junk.

So in conclusion this report is utter tripe. Its not possible, so cousins has a right to deny it.

You are so wrong. It is easy for junkies to get habits in excess of 3k. I knew this guy who got a job paying 5k a week in the Sydney CBD. Unfortunately, however, he had a 5.5k a week cocaine addiction. Ice and cocaine have massive highs, and limited come downs compared to ecstasy, so Cousins would have been topping up all night, and from the sounds of things - every night.

Yea, well cousins isn't a 'junkie' is he, he's an elite athlete who played a major role for the best team in the country in 2006 = not a $3K a week junkie. Doesn't matter if he was spending 10 times the normal price for gear.

$3,000 a week is not out of the question if you are talking about high grade heroin/cocain. If he is a regular user then this would be about right. Doubt that his dealer mates would keep giving him freebies when it would cost them that much.

Cant believe this at all.

Long way to go if he continues on this path, hell even if he cleans up he has a massive journey in front of him.

I feel sick really....

Cheer up big fella....its less than a week till the season starts...the game and your club are much bigger than any player....and this stuff always blows over (so to speak).

An old fashioned flogging by Sydney might just help take ya mind off Benny.

)Cheer up big fella....its less than a week till the season starts...the game and your club are much bigger than any player....and this stuff always blows over (so to speak).

Cheers I'll be OK. :thumbsu:

An old fashioned flogging by Sydney might just help take ya mind off Benny.

You know this isnt going to happen. ;)

Love the way he is being bagged for being in denial.

HELLO, that is what Druggies do, they deny the problem. It starts with the 'I am a casual user', moves on to 'I have it under control' to ourtight denial of the problem. Drugs make you delusional, at the moment he is deluded, he has fried his brain and it will take some time for him to begin thinking rationaly.
He still has to go through withdrawal and that is not likely to be pleasent.

About time people got of their high horses and just acknowledge he has a problem and wish him all the best in getting his life back on track. Forget footy for know, this bloke is in serious trouble and may be stuffed for life unless he gets it under control.

He is just one of many in Australia today dealing with the same issue.

Considering he has been a very consistent player, i would assume he's use of drugs would = MAX $100 a week. 3000 grand?

For someone with a decent tolerance $100 would probably be good for all of half an hour.

It's pretty easy for people with the money to get up to a $3000 a week habit. But I seriously doubt someone on an AFL training schedule would be able to take that much.

There appears to be many WCE fans out there also in denial over this issue; still trying to trivialise it :cool:

Nothing to do with trivialising anything. All we ask is some truth and common sense in the reporting of these issues. :eek:

$3000 a week on ice/coke/ecstasy, complete and utter BS. :mad:

$1000 a week (which I definitely agree is too much and does make an addict) is more likely. All I ask for is that the "news" not be blown WAAYYYYYY out of proportion for a change.

I think you'll find that there are no physiological withdrawal symptoms with cocaine addiction, unlike pretty much any other drug or alcohol addiction, and so hence, to some degree, a large part of it is the willpower to not continue doing it.

Your brain wants it, but it's not as though you actually feel ill, or are unable to function without it.

About time people got of their high horses and just acknowledge he has a problem and wish him all the best in getting his life back on track. Forget footy for know, this bloke is in serious trouble and may be stuffed for life unless he gets it under control.

He is just one of many in Australia today dealing with the same issue.

Very good post, being a football star won't save him from what effects many ordinary people.
Unfortunately though IMO is the sad reality is Ben's career is likely over.
I can't see any other club looking to secure the services of a junkie if the West Coast eagles can't help him out of his situation.
As has been said countless times recently just needs to work on getting his health back..

Addicts of highly addictive drugs get over it with just the support of families all the time. I don't see why this suggests he is in denial. It is not like rahab is some sort of magic wand.

For all the fancy rehab clinics in the world, if you don;t have supportive networks when you are out then you are dreaming. Sure rehab is good for some I'm sure, but isn;t checking in to rehab just a fashionable thing to do?

Cousins still in denial