Mister Carlton
Better than you.
Going off our form in the preseason, it's safe to say we haven't improved across the board and have gone backwards in some regards. Use corona as a reset and start again next season.
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
I reckon the majority of players will want to compete, at least until the situation worsens. Curios about whether or not Blues supporters will refuse to watch the telecast as a form of protest? (assuming that it does go ahead)We'll know more tonight if round 1 goes ahead after the players meet.
I think the point is that the virus is much more widespread in the US than it is here.
Measures taken need to match the location.
I'm sure there are more. They have every right to not to play in circumstances.Jack Riewoldt, Trent Cotchin, Jack Ziebell and a few others have all alluded to the fact they would prefer the season to be delayed.
This is absolutely not the question in this instance.
The question is whether these athletes, club staff, event staff and their families are at heightened risk for the event going ahead.
If they are, then there should be no further questions.
But Stamos, that’s at this point in time.
Think it’s worth looking at where we were a month ago, to where we were last week, to where we are now ... to where we might be in a week’s time and beyond.
This thing is escalating rapidly. Globally.
And there’s no vaccination yet.
Footy is not the be all and end all.
Agreed, the US outbreak is worse.
But you don't wait until it is bad to take action.
We need to start cutting this off BEFORE it is too late....
what are we protesting?I reckon the majority of players will want to compete, at least until the situation worsens. Curios about whether or not Blues supporters will refuse to watch the telecast as a form of protest? (assuming that it does go ahead)
Firstly i would like to admit that my post was wrong. I did go off half-cocked and i was misinformed of the situation. BR i do highly respect what you are doing and what you may be called to do in the near future. Thanks for helping me understand the severity of this situation. Take care mate.Disagree with you too mate.. ffs even when you have a denier in Donald Trump turn around and say this is an emergency you refuse to see. This is not about fit ppl, this is about fit ppl passing it on.. do you not have any relatives or compassion. I would love an AFL season but this goes beyond it.
Negatives, we get much much further in debt and wind up the club.Positives (if you're a glass half full operator): Kemp becomes even more of a bargain, Charlie gets his knee right, Mckay gets his groins 100%, and players like Dow, Stocker, O'Brien etc can spend months running and in the gym to get to AFL standard.
Negatives: Obvious delay in match/game development for younger players, and a year lost for older players and players in their prime.
Thoughts?
Here's my take - shut it down now. This ridiculous "5 games in three weeks" theory, with extended benches, then taking time off, then coming back...laughable.
The season will be compromised, I don't really think any club is going to put stock in a "premiership" from a 12-round, conference-style season or whatever else the AFL peanuts come up with.
Call it off, and if by some miracle this thing has cleared up by June/July/August/whenever - run some SOO-type games, or exhibition matches, or glorified practice games without points on the line, and watch the MCG fill to the brim for a St Kilda v. NM game after everyone has been starved of sport for 5 months.
No point trying to jam some pointless footy in now, do the responsible thing and wait til the chief medical minds give the all clear - just be ready to give the fans what they want when that time comes.
With suspension of the season imminent, and COVID-19 cases expected to be at their worst from May-August, it's looking increasingly likely the season will be cancelled altogether.
For a change of subject (and this is not to disregard anything else that is happening right now), what are the positives and negatives for Carlton if the 2020 season is a write off?
Positives (if you're a glass half full operator): Kemp becomes even more of a bargain, Charlie gets his knee right, Mckay gets his groins 100%, and players like Dow, Stocker, O'Brien etc can spend months running and in the gym to get to AFL standard.
Negatives: Obvious delay in match/game development for younger players, and a year lost for older players and players in their prime.
Thoughts?
Rubbish. It's not the black death.
And a large proportion of people are going to get it regardless. These measures are to slow the spread, so that the proportion of infected people who do get seriously sick can be treated by our healthcare system.
This is absolutely not the question in this instance.
The question is whether these athletes, club staff, event staff and their families are at heightened risk for the event going ahead.
If they are, then there should be no further questions.
Betts and Simpson to retire? shit way to leave the game.
Well if anyone is un-supportive of the game being played, then surely it would be consistent to refuse viewing it?what are we protesting?
"Docherty suffers third ACL in Mickey Mouse Round 1 debacle, days before season is called off" - also a shit result.
Lots of ways things could go wrong no matter which way they decide to go. Gut feel is that the best approach is to put the season on hold til it can run properly, because a heavily compromised season opens a lot of cans of worms.
It is a good question and has an easy answer - yes they are.
The harder answer is to consider the counterfactual - what increased exposure to C-19 might 18 footy lists of unemployed players have? Whilst those players are inside clubs they can be educated, monitored and to a degree regulated to minimise the risk of exposure from other players in training or in matches.
Tell all the players to come back in October for footy training for next year and who knows what unregulated behaviour active young men with a degree of a sense of invincibility might be able to achieve.
definitely the craziest take I've seen so farDon't postpone the season because footy players might get bored and go on a rampage? Really?
Betts and Simpson to retire? shit way to leave the game.
Money is important. Health and safety is even more so.
Its not exactly how I would frame the proposition but for those who do simple yours is a valid framing.Don't postpone the season because footy players might get bored and go on a rampage? Really?
These things are usually directly related.