Covid 19 (OPEN DISCUSSION)

What do you mean by “personal responsibility“?
So if a parent doesn't get their child to put on a seatbelt and that child dies in an accident then who do you attribute the blame to?
How about the person that was in the other car and has to live with the fact that a child has died from something completely avoidable, are they not victims also?

Talking
With all due respect to the continent of Africa, I would doubt the reliability of their numbers, many governments in that region are the true definition of Authoritarian/Dictatorship Governments.
I'd be curious to see the numbers of USA or the U.K as a whole but don't expect you to look that up. Statistics can be analysed in many ways, what if NSW and Victoria had the same border protocols as W.A, the percentage of survival rates would be even better.
Out of interest why doesn't W.A still have that luxury to operate in the manner in which we are currently?
Everyone has a vested interest in how COVID is governed and I ask this question with all sincerity and not to have a go. Do you have a vested interest in W.A not following the example of N.S.W and Victoria, do you own a small business that is going under (If so then I'm sincerely sorry that is the case).

I don't have a vested interest. My business has never been busier, nor more successful. I mean that sincerely. I actually can't keep up. I have 10 to 15 client meetings a week on average.

My interest is purely where I said it lies, and that is the creeping authoritarianism in the Western World. This show me your papers business is a slippery slope. As is self censorship. People are treating the unvaccinated like heretics.

There are other social and well being factors to consider outside of Covid as well, which are measurable and have received far less airtime than the fear pr0n that is Covid.

I've had two Pfizer jabs. There are many people in the vaccinated category like me who abhor these measures despite not being anti vacc.

No! haha I saw cafe workers asking for people's papers as well. People were like, wtf mate you need what, just give me a ******* coffee. Mass confusion and frustration.
Pretty sure you can only get takeaway coffee not sit inside but should be the same at the bottle shop imo . They should at least be allowed drive through.

Alcoholics can die from going cold turkey

Just very predictable, even weaved in an "Un Australian". In practice he has outsourced the hard part of a truly dreadful mandate and yes he might be able to charge the extremes, someone who smacks fu** out of the pimply uni student for example, but that's hardly going to make his broken jaw feel better now is it?

Correct. I reckon the vast majority of people in Australia would have voluntarily gone out and taken the vax without threatening them. Australians are good that way. Before the pandemic they had a high degree of trust in their leaders. But when you go down the path of taking peoples jobs and ability to do normal day to day things for refusing a procedure that could actually kill them, then I think the bigger public benefit heads to very murky territory indeed. Now we are in this slippery slope of taking ongoing boosters of the same stuff that the premier has said is only 4% effective in stopping transmission just a few weeks after getting it.

So what, is is just a coincidence that the most vaccinated countries have implemented rules which have made it harder to do a lot of the things you did pre-pandemic without being vaccinated, whereas a lot of the wealthy countries that have lower vaccination rates have maintained the same rules for vaccinated and unvaccinated people? What is special about Australian people that they would have been less vaccine-hesitant than, say, British or American or German people?

Not particularly as health officials aren’t in control of the state regardless of what some people want …
Its also rich coming from someone who is very quick to worry about people dying in the pandemic but in the same breath is more than happy to post and cheer about the death of a man earlier in this thread mocking him as not loving his family as he wasn’t vaccinated. Hypocrite much.

I don’t particularly care much about people who behave selfishly and end up dying, certainly not a 50 year old father of four who quits his job and publicly tells the governor to kiss his ass, then gets Covid and dies from it and leaves his wife to raise their kids without him. I do feel quite bad for people who have gotten vaccinated and still died.

As for WA, my main concern is the health system since I know a lot of people (particularly my wife) who work in public hospitals and will be most impacted as case numbers surge. Unvaccinated people are something like 30-40x more likely to be hospitalised than people who are vaccinated and boosted, so their selfishness will put an enormous strain on problem I care about and put them at increased risk of contracting the virus (and if my wife gets it, there’s a good chance than my 6 week old son could get it). So while it seems like your only barometer for how well a government is doing is whether or not they allow you to travel freely, some of us value things like not having lots of people die and not having the health system overloaded and being able to have as close to a normal pre-pandemic life as possible at home in WA.

Talking

I don't have a vested interest. My business has never been busier, nor more successful. I mean that sincerely. I actually can't keep up. I have 10 to 15 client meetings a week on average.

My interest is purely where I said it lies, and that is the creeping authoritarianism in the Western World. This show me your papers business is a slippery slope. As is self censorship. People are treating the unvaccinated like heretics.

There are other social and well being factors to consider outside of Covid as well, which are measurable and have received far less airtime than the fear pr0n that is Covid.

I've had two Pfizer jabs. There are many people in the vaccinated category like me who abhor these measures despite not being anti vacc.

It's a very complicated issue no doubt for which it's interesting to debate.
I do agree regarding other social and well being factors that rarely get talked about both World Wide and in Australia. I have a verbal conversation with someone and more than just coincidence the very topic I've just discussed gets advertised on my phone near immediately.
In many ways I do agree freedom of speech or issues that are open to debate are met with instant opposition.
I'd example Margaret Court, I'll be honest in that I had no firm opinion regarding the legalisation of Gay Marriage so I didn't vote either way. Margaret Court had an opinion based on her religious beliefs which she is entitled to but she was hounded for not conforming to the beliefs of others. I'm not religious either but increasingly there is definitely a culture within this country that can't discuss issues even in disagreeance.
This whole Gender Pronoun recent trend is another area that should be debated but often isn't and for those that might not agree they are quick to be labelled homophobic, transphobic etc.
Anyway I won't derail the thread but Australia is changing and it's debatable if it's for the better.

This is like banning police and saying it's not the govt's fault when crime spikes. It's a stupid, unnecessary and divisive mandate that is already driving anger and frustration in the community.

If you want in the game, play by the rules.

If not, you can sit out.

Deal with it.

I don’t particularly care much about people who behave selfishly and end up dying, certainly not a 50 year old father of four who quits his job and publicly tells the governor to kiss his ass, then gets Covid and dies from it and leaves his wife to raise their kids without him. I do feel quite bad for people who have gotten vaccinated and still died.

According to him, though, not having any sympathy for an anti-vaxxer that eats their own words is equivalent to being dismissive of those that would fall victim to a 'let it rip' approach. I have empathy for his family - but I have zero for someone like him who had plenty of opportunities to ensure his family didn't have to suffer, and I make no apologies for that. If they took up a bed that could have saved my at-risk family members, then I have every right to be a vengeful dick about it.

It's f***ed up when you think about it - those that are trying to encourage empathy for those who die unvaccinated are almost always at the same time keeping pushing for 'letting it rip' unchallenged through vulnerable groups.

Yes - they definitely can. I think it's the same for some other drugs.

Even if going cold turkey can kill, given the prevalence of alcohol in society there will be no problems for them to access it.

Is there anything stopping an unvaccinated person from ordering online from Dan Murphy's, BWS, Liquorland, insert specialty shop here etc, or asking someone else to grab some for them?

Citing health reasons to assist alcohol addiction is yet another bizarre thing I've read in the fight against vaccine mandates.

I feel you might have mistaken what I meant by my question. What I was asking for was a more general definition i.e. how it is understood by most countries. I apologise if I came across as vague or somewhat obtuse, that was hardly my intention. What I‘m looking for is what you mean by “right” in itself, or, to put it in other words, the definition that makes both the right to associate and the right to privacy able to be classified as rights.

As such, how would you define a right?

Honestly mate I'm pretty confused as to what you mean and this probably isn't the place for a meaningful dialectic.

Feel free to DM me if you'd like for I am out of this thread before I hate everyone on this forum and everyone hates me!

Even if going cold turkey can kill, given the prevalence of alcohol in society there will be no problems for them to access it.

Is there anything stopping an unvaccinated person from ordering online from Dan Murphy's, BWS, Liquorland, insert specialty shop here etc, or asking someone else to grab some for them?

Citing health reasons to assist alcohol addiction is yet another bizarre thing I've read in the fight against vaccine mandates.
Lol -no argument from me. I don't love the ideology behind mandates (all stick and no carrot) but they're not some kind of humanitarian crime. Just take the vaccine if the mandate is causing you too many issues!

As for accessing alcohol - alcoholics always find a way. I was up North a couple of years ago when there was an aboriginal funeral on and battleship restrictions were in place. There were still plenty of drunk people around (including me) and I've never seen so many empty bush chook cans around the place!