Certified Legendary Thread Covid, Life, UFOs, Food, & Wordle :(

Both wearing MAAP.

Tier list for cycling attire:
  • MAAP, flog
  • Rapha, uberflog

Can't wait to learn what brands you consider non-flog. It would be uberhelpful.

What’s wrong with a pair of stubbies?

I went to the trouble of linking websites to answer your question, then you follow up with that. FMD.

Fortunately I own neither. Castelli and Santini are as flash as I get.

When I used to ride, Assos bibs were costly but comfy for very long rides. It was rumored that many tour riders in the 90s would wear an Assos chamois under their sponsored gear. Don't know if the Rapha or Maap brands are priced the way they are more as a marketing exercise, but Assos were better.

I went to the trouble of linking websites to answer your question, then you follow up with that. FMD.

When I used to ride, Assos bibs were costly but comfy for very long rides. It was rumored that many tour riders in the 90s would wear an Assos chamois under their sponsored gear. Don't know if the Rapha or Maap brands are priced the way they are more as a marketing exercise, but Assos were better.
If this guy's calves were smaller, I would have thought he was you.

fatguyinspandex_1197403432.jpg

If this guy's calves were smaller, I would have thought he was you.

fatguyinspandex_1197403432.jpg

Impressive specimen. Those sandals tho! :love:

That image has been doing the rounds for decades. If I lean out a little, I'd cut the same striking figure.

Impressive specimen. Those sandals tho! :love:

That image has been doing the rounds for decades. If I lean out a little, I'd cut the same striking figure.
I actually have it as a contact photo for a mate. That uniform made famous by the charming Lithuanian Raimondas Rumsas. Podiumed at the Tour in those threads. Same day his missus gets arrested with a car ful of EPO, HGH, 'roids, etc. She said they were for Raimondas' mum. Copped jail for a few months. No penalty for Rai. But he popped again the next year. Those were the days.

Anything outside of those 2, really. MAAP isn't too bad but rapha as you say further down are priced this way for marketing exercise. There's also this weird dichotomy going on with much of Rapha's clientele too where bike hipsters seem to think rapha is cool and edgy whilst ignoring the corporate marketing angle.

I actually have it as a contact photo for a mate. That uniform made famous by the charming Lithuanian Raimondas Rumsas. Podiumed at the Tour in those threads. Same day his missus gets arrested with a car ful of EPO, HGH, 'roids, etc. She said they were for Raimondas' mum. Copped jail for a few months. No penalty for Rai. But he popped again the next year. Those were the days.

The Dr Ferrari days. Interesting read on how Lance "never tested positive". Tour stage times are slower today then they were back then, but it doesn't mean the sport is clean.

The Dr Michelle Ferrari days. Interesting read on how he "never tested positive".

"EPO is no more dangerous than orange juice" - quality doc.

Meanwhile Italian cyclists were dying in their sleep with molasses for blood. At one stage, there were stories of riders being woken a few times a night during races to get on the rollers to keep their hearts pumping!

Would still like to try some HGH.

The Dr Ferrari days. Interesting read on how Lance "never tested positive". Tour stage times are slower today then they were back then, but it doesn't mean the sport is clean.

I gather you’ve seen the documentary “Icarus” on Netflix? If not, go watch it, it’s a helluva doco and quite gripping in the latter half. Deals with a high level amateur cyclist who wants to see what improvement he’d get on EPO, and how hard it is to beat the drug testers.

That movie took such an unexpected turn.

I've watched it. Twice. Rodchenkov set new benchmarks for dodginess. His presence made that film.

From 2005-2012 I was very into cycling and deep into bike culture. These days I'll get on the MTB and bash-the-bush with mates for a couple of hours if the weather is good and time allows.

For everything! HGH is the fountain of youth. But it’s a general fertiliser. Not so good if you have any nasties like cancer cells in you.

"Anti-ageing" clinics were offering peptide treatments (legal but not for tested sport). They were pretty much GH precursors.

Much potential for regenerative medicine.

Well I never thought I'd see the day where "ejaculate responsibly" was trending on twitter

I'm concerned for poor LFP getting caught in the crossfire when those stallions in the paddock get randy with the girls.

this is sounding eerily like a st kilda off season

tsk tsk rsk no socks

you need the talk clearly

That would have been a fun scene to write. Like coming up with Apollo Creed nicknames
The Dancing Destroyer
The King of Sting
The Thane of Pain
The Prince of Punch
The Master of Disaster
The One and Only
and my personal favourite
The Count of Monte Fisto

I would have added the Duke of Dook and the Viscount of the Ten Count

Decent thunder outside

Annoyingly it has led to the Manikato being postponed until tomorrow, and will contribute to a swamp at ParkRun tomorrow morning.

Fortunately the resident labrador is unperturbed by thunder, and is currently soaking up pats instead.